Stratford Hero

14Apr08

Last Post from PlayWright:

We may not be heroes like the folks on the original Underground Railroad, but Jezebel’s webpage is the next stop on our own version.”

I want to take a moment and express my gratitude to PlayWright and Hand (still scratching my head about Hand’s unfortunate mayoral choice).

Without Playwright we would not have been able to obtain 3,200+ voters signatures on the Charter Petition, many of the bloggers would have been denied a sense of community, and possibly hundreds or even thousands of Stratford voters would have no idea how bad it really is in Town Hall.

While we may occasionally take a moment to joke, Playwright’s idea of a blog follows in the footsteps of Thomas Paine and the Federalist Papers. It is what the Framers of the First Amendment had in mind.

I hope Playwright returns soon. If there ever was a hero in Stratford that deserves recognition, it is PlayWright. Maybe the next Mayor can propose PlayWright Day.

6 Responses to “Stratford Hero”

  1. 1 1george1

    I wish to Thank the Play Wright as well.

    If still a Town employee, rather than a retiree or other, I home he/she
    has long and continued service within the Town.

    The blog did a lot of good.
    I believe it even saved lives!

  2. 2 sudds

    Thank you Playwright!

    This forum has truly opened my eyes to a lot in Stratford… and has also spurned my interest in getting invovled in politics (at least as supposrting a candidate… I’m not crazy enough to run myself)!!!

    Thanks again!!!

  3. 3 jezebel282

    First they came for the Communists,
    and I didn’t speak up,
    because I wasn’t a Communist.
    Then they came for the Jews,
    and I didn’t speak up,
    because I wasn’t a Jew.
    Then they came for the Catholics,
    and I didn’t speak up,
    because I was a Protestant.
    Then they came for me,
    and by that time there was no one
    left to speak up for me.

    by Rev. Martin Niemoller, 1945

    PlayWright spoke up.

  4. 4 pcsperling

    We definitely owe Playwright a great deal of thanks. He/She definitely helped to shed lots of light on the local politics and the games that are played.

  5. 5 jezebel282

    I know there are some Stratford citizens that read this blog very carefully. Right, Sylvia?

    To those that are reading and not posting and will be very busy tomorrow night the 19th of April, I would like to wish them:

    A Ziesen Pesach!

    To those who will be at Yankee Stadium: Good luck explaining that last one to the Bishop of Rome.

  6. 6 1george1

    If he were alive, I suspect Rev. Martin Niemoller, would like more
    people to be involved in and understand politics.

    I suspect Martin Luther King Jr. would be saddened by the breakup
    of so many families, opiating the masses, and too small a percentage
    of people afforded opportunities?

    I wonder what Christ would say about the things done in his name?

    I wonder about the contradiction of the 10 Commandment’s “Thou
    shall not kill” and the culture of wars attributed to Judeo/Christian
    beliefs?

    I believe Azazel is one of the names for the Angel of Death of Passover.
    If God gives life……
    What right do men have to take lives….?

    There are many contradictions within all religions.
    Yet, if only there were basic concept where everyone played nice?


Leave a Reply

