Yet More Miron News

06May08

I am really liking this paper:

You read it in the Fairfield County Weekly (Never in The Star):

http://www.fairfieldweekly.com/article.cfm?aid=7725

County Fair: Miron Update


Thursday, May 08, 2008

As Attorney General Richard Blumenthal continues his investigation into Richard Miron, owner of the defunct Lakeview Monument, two questions are being asked by interested parties: Why is this guy still active in town government and why hasn’t he been arrested?

Miron, who is the Democratic Registrar of Voters in Stratford, where his son James is mayor, allegedly accepted cash from close to 80 customers looking to have headstones delivered to family plots but failed to follow through. Some clients have resorted to taking Miron to small-claims court and contacted the state Department of Consumer Protection. To date, they say he owes over $100,000.

Richard Miron told us earlier this week that he plans to seek reelection in November and hopes to garner support from his party. But one man, Richard Fredette, could be standing in his way.

Last week Fredette sent out a letter to members of Stratford’s Democratic Town Committee, looking for their endorsement as Stratford’s next registrar. In fact, Fredette says he fell victim to Miron 12 years ago when he needed a headstone for his mother’s grave. Miron never followed through, and “came up with every excuse under the sun,” says Fredette.

Fredette says the elder Miron needs to be removed from his government position because of the headstone investigation. “I’m going to give it a shot and try to get the [party’s] endorsement. I want to call upon their moral thoughts to make the right judgment here,” he says.

He adds that Miron “violated the public trust by these actions. You’re preying on the weak and vulnerable and it’s just wrong. I don’t think I can say it any stronger. It’s just wrong.”

It’s not just Fredette who wants Miron out of office—so do the people who say he scammed them. When Verna Kearney, a Bridgeport cop who purchased an as-yet-undelivered headstone from Miron, heard about his intention to seek reelection she said, “Oh Lord, let me get my picket signs.” Kearney filed a police report along with several other victims and wants to know why he hasn’t been arrested. “If he went to Home Depot and stole a plant, a $2.99 plant, he would have been arrested,” Kearney says. “But this man, he stole from 80 people, and he’s free. I don’t understand it.”

Let’s not forget that Lakeview Monument had enough money to donate to James R. Miron’s campaign fund.

55 Responses to “Yet More Miron News”

  1. 1 equaker

    Come on now- Anyone who knows Rich Fredette knows that he has scammed and ripped off just as many,if not more people than Dick. And if it is true about Miron getting over on Rich,why did he continue to work on his car so many times in the last 13 years. He even sold Dick a car and works on Ann,Brooke and Jim’s cars. Talk about the pot calling the kettle black!

  2. 2 mikereynolds

    But you can’t justify bad behavior by pointing to other bad behavior. Fredette’s no angel but Dick Miron is as evil as it gets.

  3. 3 equaker

    I wasn’t trying to make justification for Dick at all. Just commenting on the untouchable arrogance of Fredette.

  4. 4 gforrester

    FYI Rick Marcone has also announced his intention to seek the nomination for Demcratic Registrar of Voters

  5. 5 freedomofspeach

    The only reason Dick Miron has not been arrested is because Richard Blumenthal, the Attorney General of Connecticut, who has no criminal law enforcment authority has taken this as civil action and he has a lot of pull with the Bridgeport and Stratford Dems. Since this is clearly theft, larceny, conspiracy to commit fraud, fraud, crime against the elderly, and a bunch of 53a CGS criminal violations, as well as potentially tax evasion (over $100,000 brought in and no deductions as he never did any of the work or bought anything I wonder if he paid the taxes) I wonder why it has not been pursued by police or the Chief States Attorney?

    Maybe the States Attorney is too busy trying to find a leak on a civil privacy act violation (and no one can cite me the state criminal statute that covers release of town government records)

    Maybe because someone was in the State Department of Homeland Security, they have a little pull to prevent their bosses’ father from going to jail.

    Maybe they are investigating why someone was certified to attend the police academy that does not meet their standards and basically failed the background investigation.

    Maybe one or more of the Inspectors (that’s what the investigators used to be called at the States Attorneys office) came from Stratford or Bridgeport PD and is repaying a debt.

    Maybe they found out about the rumored traffic stops that never got on the record and are investigating that.

    Could it be that this was directed to the AG as a civil matter in order to prevent Dick from being arrested as the Mirons are big Dem supporters of Blumenthal?

    Inquiring minds want to know, and hopefully the news media, as well as the state police and maybe the AUSA for the District do too.

  6. 6 pcsperling

    I think, as far as the Democratic Registrar is concerned – new blood is needed. Sorry Rich, but it’s time for the good ole’ boys club to come to an end and for a new era in Stratford politics to begin. It has to be about honesty, integrity and working for the people who work hard to support their Town. The Miron family has been like a bad penny in our political arena for far too long and it’s time for that penny to be cashed in for something bigger and better.

    If Fredette is continuing to take their business – what’s he getting in return? It’s always been about one hand washing another in Stratford politics, right? He said there was a barter situation for the headstone that he never got, so, if you’re screwed once, why would you go back for more? What’s the barter now since we know that Daddy Dick hasn’t got a pot to pee in, or does he? I don’t dislike Rich Fredette, but I think there’s got to be new blood in Town Hall. It can’t continue to be the same ole’ same ole’ anymore.

    If we expect people to get out and vote, there needs to be honest and respectable candidates. I hear people over and over say that they don’t like or support any of the candidates, so don’t feel it necessary to vote. This isn’t just for municipal and state elections, but for presidential elections as well.

  7. 7 jezebel282

    Pat,

    Apparently the only ones that select who we vote for are listed below. What does that do for your confidence?

    * Chairman: Dave Mooney
    * Vice Chairman: Sue Collier
    * Treasurer: Dave Fuller
    * Deputy Treasurer: Kent M. Miller
    * Secretary: Beth Daponte
    * State Central Members: Richard Buturla and Eileen Wilson

    Bruce Alessie, Janice Andersen, Terry Backer, Robert Baird, Ann Baker, Ray Barker, Frank Bevecqua, Robert Bradley, Dennis Broedlin, Emma Brooks, Richard Brown, Edward Buckmir, Michael Buckmir, Sr., Richard Buturla, Robert Calzone, Frank Chipman, Virginia Chittem, Robert Cody, Jean Collier, Susan Collier,James Connolly, Ann Coonley , Fred Cotter, Beth Daponte, Deserie Darden, Robert David, Laura Dobosz,Matt Dominguez, Vincent Faggella, Larry Farrell, Maria Ferrera, Thomas Fiorella, Gavin Forrester, Richard Fredette, Dave Fuller, Robert Galello, Olivia Gombar, Laurie Goodsell, Robyn Greenspan, Heather Habelka, Judy Hampel, Danielle Hawthorne, Ashley Haydu, Ronald Hojdich, Lloyd Johnson, Jr., Howard Johnson, Ralph Jowers, Irene Kostzewski, Flo Langdon, John Sib Law, Rick Marcone ,Edward McDonald, Dan Milewski, Kent M. Miller, Christian Miron, Richard Miron, James Miron, Edward Monroe, Dave Mooney, David Morgan, Denise Nelson, Heidi Nelson, Mary Northcott, Gerald O’Leary, Alvin O’Neal, Dan Pato ,Stephanie Philips, Jennifer Planker, Joan Pruzinsky, Mary Ray, Bonnie Reynolds ,Edward Roberts, Betsy Ross, Anthony Ross, Juan Carlos Ruiz, Peggy Russ, Judy Scala, Anna Scala, Anthony Schirillo, III, J. Roger Shull, Patricia Slauson, John Sober, Pat Sorrentino-Galello, Helen Tashjian, Laura Vigliotti, Joseph Walker, Robin Walker, Amy Wanamaker, Greg Wanamaker, Robert Wannagot, Tara Wexler, Eileen Wilson.

  8. 8 pcsperling

    There’s got to be better choices. If Gavin doesn’t play the Miron game, there’s got to be others too.

  9. 9 sudds

    “but it’s time for the good ole’ boys club to come to an end and for a new era in Stratford politics to begin. It has to be about honesty, integrity and working for the people who work hard to support their Town.”

    Sounds like our only options are Pat and Rocki!!!

    Now I just have to transfer my phone bill into Rocki’s name so I can prove residency, and the ball will be rolling!!!

  10. 10 pcsperling

    Sudds,

    I’d throw my name in for Democratic Registrar – I could use an extra $27,000 a year….LOL But, gosh, if I switch back to a deviant democratic, I’d be called opportunistic again….. :>P LOL

    Let’s see ~ what is to say that if Rick Marcone runs and wins, he won’t name Daddy Dick as Deputy Registrar and then step down and we’re stuck with Daddy Dick again. I think it’s pretty safe to say that Rich Fredette wouldn’t do such a thing. Never know what deals are being struck in that ole’ back room of politics.

  11. 11 1george1

    I (gulp) actually agree with Mike Reynolds? 😦

    Fredette (I like richie) is no angel and I believe he knows devils,
    but Rich is far, far, far, far better than Dick Miron, from my ….

    Rick Marcone seems to be a decent guy.
    I barely know him.
    He may be the best choice?
    Hmmmmmm?
    A Democratic Party run by honorable people?

    It does NOT exist in the Town, area, State, National level.
    I do NOT respect the Bush / Cheney white house.
    I respect the democrats, far, far, far less.

    There are exceptions at local, area, state, & federal levels.
    There are actually many people who are good people and mean well.
    But, in actual control……. They S-ck!

  12. 12 freedomofspeach

    “I’d throw my name in for Democratic Registrar – I could use an extra $27,000 a year….LOL But, gosh, if I switch back to a deviant democratic, I’d be called opportunistic again….. :>P LOL”

    No you would be called someone “doing the right thing”

    I am not sure you could clean the office enough to want to go there.

  13. 13 rfredette

    i would like to set the record straight. firts off i have NEVER worked on ann,brooke,chris or jim miron’s cars.i have not had any dealings with dick miron since 1995 after being burnt myself, it was a barter deal that he never produced on his end. o.k. that being said YES i owe the town money and YES they will be paid in full (with interst, alot at that) the question i ask can dick miron say the same to over 80 family’s and over $100,000 ???. larceny, theft,bad business practice. what ever you call it or spin it, it is just wrong !!! very WRONG !!! he has violated any and all public trust. and a final question, why is nothing done by the A.G. ?? if it were any one else they would be doing time by now. note : to eqauker,(mike)i have never scammed or ripped anyone off,on the contrary i am more inclined to help people in these economic troubled times (for those who really know me can attest to) thank’s eveyone for taking the time to read my statement RFF

  14. 14 jezebel282

    Mr. Fredette,

    We appreciate your post and welcome you back anytime.

  15. 15 gforrester

    “If Gavin doesn’t play the Miron game”

    I try and do what I think is in the best interest of the people that I have been elected to serve. Understandable not everyone agrees on my position everytime I vote and yes if you are going to get elected in this political system that we call a democracy you basically have to be a member of a political party and no I didn’t agree with everything the Republican’s did when I was affiliated with that party and I sure as hell don’t agree with everything that the Democrat’s do and I am still affiliated with this party (althought since I have been called a backstabber and a political panderer I guess the feeling is sometimes mutual).

    I hope the people that read this blog don’t just think that only Democrats leave you scratching your head – I can say from first hand experience that is not the case at all – maybe someday a 3rd party will form – it did in Scotland and guess what – they won!

  16. 16 1george1

    Hey Gavin,

    I saw Paul Joy, last month.

    You should see the collection of (figureative) knives he pulled outta
    his back from the Republican party.

    ->

    Like a already blogged.
    I like Rich Fredette, as a person and I feel is a far, far, far, far better
    person than DEAD BEAT.

    Just like Gavin (and Paul Joy, for that matter), I agree politically on some
    issues and disagree on a ton of issues, with Rich and others in town.
    > Like Jeze.

    I even (gulp) agreed with mike reynolds on somptin! 🙂

  17. 17 equaker

    Well Rich, I REALLY know you. I’ve seen it all. Everything. Remember? Dick’s Buick, Brooke’s Toyota, Jim’s V.W.? Gee, we changed that old Buicks transmission in ’96.(boy did we ever)

  18. 18 jezebel282

    Uh oh……

  19. 19 mikereynolds

    Mr. Fredette, I don’t know you and I don’t know a lot of the political history in this town. How do you account for all the negative comments about you both here and in the CT Post forums? Everyone makes enemies in their life but you seem to have more than your fair share.

  20. 20 freedomofspeach

    “Well Rich, I REALLY know you. I’ve seen it all. Everything. Remember? Dick’s Buick, Brooke’s Toyota, Jim’s V.W.? Gee, we changed that old Buicks transmission in ‘96.(boy did we ever)”

    Ahh the class, or lack thereof, of Miron supporters, a threat. How quaint.
    I am no fan of Mr. Fredette by any means, but it’s clear that by remembering “EVERYTHING” it’s some sort of threat. Its ok we love the drama. Go for it. But since you know the players, most likely you’re a Miron supporter.

    Equaker says the work was done in 96, Fredette, who came to this forum voluntarily and clearly stated he did work on their cars in 95. My math is not the greatest but either way it was more than 10 years ago. Infra quinquennia equaker.
    Come up with something like last year that can be proven and you might have some creditability, until then your a hack for Miron. Fredette also admits to owing the town money, I assume for property taxes. Dick Miron has not posted here, but I see no published comments on how he owes what the state says is $100,000 in fraudulently obtained money from people who were emotionally distraught and what he is going to do to give the money back. He stole from the dead. In addition the Miron family is a disgrace to themselves and public service, one daughter a felon, one son with apparent issues and who was dishonest on a polygraph, and as the Father, a thief, a grave stone robber who prayed on those who put their faith and trust in him, If I was him I would crawl into a hole and die. Or run for reelection and give the TC and the Mayors office to the Republicans, and a lot of fodder for this forum.

    A great sign idea is a tombstone with Dick Miron for Stratford Dem Registrar. As long as I get artistic credit, go for it.

    I would, if I had to choose, choose a tax delinquent over a cheating thief. I would rather have PCS go for it, but I think the Dem committee only meets on a full moon, and she probably likes garlic.

  21. 21 sudds

    “I would rather have PCS go for it, but I think the Dem committee only meets on a full moon, and she probably likes garlic.”

    1) Please refrain from relating (in anyway) vampires to my favorite Mayoral Candidate!!!

    2) Good idea (concept by freedom):

  22. 22 sudds

    FYI… upon further thought I removed the photo above!

    While I have NO problem mocking a supposed thief who is running for office… I did however feel the need to not cause any further “harm” to those who have lost not only loved ones but their money as well!!!

  23. 23 jezebel282

    Editor’s Note:

    Mike, I just can’t figure out why all of your comments are getting caught in the spam filter. Maybe try a different user name? Mreynolds or something?

  24. 24 mikereynolds

    yeah maybe…maybe if I try selling ED medicine it will get through?

  25. 25 jezebel282

    Apparently not. I had to release that one too.

  26. 26 1george1

    Hey Jeze,

    Maybe some of Mike’s TIN FOIL collection is blocking his connection? 8)

    Or, maybe I have “friends” capable of affecting his blogs? 😉
    Although I don’t know MARTIANS, I have seen little (& big) GREEN MEN
    (& WOMEN). Yet mostly around March 17th!

    Maybe Mike can come up with a CONNspiRACEY? 🙂 8)

    All teasing aside, while I don’t think highly of Mike’s content (although I
    did agree with one and praised a couple) I hope it can be resolved.

    Suggestion > New id name and password, for Mike?
    It seems to help the (pest) sneak pass the spam filter

  27. 27 equaker

    Hey, F.O.S- How do you read into my comments on Rich as being a supporter of the Mirons? I am not. Look again,I am making a comparison of two people who are alot alike. Dishonest,two-faced,all about being on top. As far as knowing the players,well,who doesn’t? No threats here-just commenting. I’ll leave the fantasies of threats and being a hack for Miron for you. Tell Rich I said “Hey”.

  28. 28 ilovestfd

    Ya’ll should be ashamed of the lack of respect you have for the Mayor that was voted in. We all want the best for Stratford. Like my Mama always said – you have nothing nice to say keep your trap shut. The Mayor has open hours to discuss issues – don’t complain unless you have a solution. I grew up in Stratford – own a home and I’m still proud to be part of this town. Go Bunnell!! Stop the BS ya’ll chat over the net because your not strong enough to go to the council meetings and voice your opinion. Wimps hide behind the net. Be strong and try to work with him to make a difference. I have several children who attend schools in Stfd – may I add they are all honor roll students. There are many committees to join. Stop talking about his family. Find something on him. Ya’ll seem to pick up on his family. I personally do not know Mayor Miron but was very impressed with upcoming budget presentation. Alright Mr and Mrs e-mail professionals – compare what’s going on with other CT towns – Council stop the power trip – first and foremost – what is best for Stratford!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  29. 29 jezebel282

    ilove,

    As they say in Bunnell: “WhatEVER”.

  30. 30 mikereynolds

    Well Jeze don’t just dismiss ilovestfd with WhatEVER. Engage the person in conversation. Obviously ilovestfd has a view quite the opposite of yours. Just dismissing his/her opinion is doing exactly what you accuse King Miron of doing. You’re our number one King Miron hater. We expect more from you that “whatEVER”.

  31. 31 mikereynolds

    George, as usual, you are incorrect. It has nothing to do with username. Its an IP problem. Something way above your level of understanding. Stick with conspriacy theories, that’s your strength.

  32. 32 1george1

    Item 1) Open door policy
    The Mayor does have an open door policy for a person to get as much
    as 30 minutes a WEEK to discuss things where the Town Council allows
    3 to 5 minutes per MONTHLY Public Forum.

    I met with Mayor Miron 1 to 2 times most weeks, in his first several months.
    By then, his political decisions were being implements.

    While he deserves props for being more accessable…
    There is a major difference between accessability and effective or beneficial.

    Item 2) Complain vs. Solutions
    Many of the ideas I presented to the Town Council and Letters to the Editor
    have been perverted and implemented by the DICKS’/mIRON CURTAIN.
    As I pointedly teased in the ST JOSEPH’S debate (right Gavin) “Please pick up
    my Economic Development and Budget ideas, which are out on the Table in
    the HALL. This way, when the MAYOR claims them as his own, you will know
    where they came from!”
    Dom also has incorporated some of my positions into his platform as we have
    a mutual friend, who also taught me many things, and was a Dom adviser.

    3) Committees to join
    After having Resumes to the Town Council for 10 years, I was appointed to
    the NEW T. C. Financial Review Advisory Committee. shhhhh!
    > Most Committee appointments are Republics, Democrats, and friends/family
    of Democrats or Town Management/Workers. I was once told WHY appoint
    anyone who could be against you.
    On the T.C.F.R.A.C. – I am for the BENEFIT of the TOWN – Residents & Business
    – on details > shhhhhh. can’t / inappropriate

    4) Impressive MAYOR PROPOSED BUDGET:
    This year’s proposed Budget by the Mayor is about a 1 % increase. SUPER.
    Two years ago, he proposed an 8 % increase, which if ANYONE PAID Attention
    was over 12%
    NO ONE, NOT EVEN THE PRESS CAUGHT THAT. I DID.
    I RAISED THE ISSUE at the TOWN COUNCIL.
    Only Tris of the BARD published the FACT.

    As PCS has blogged, Mayor Miron seemed to inflate the first year numbers
    and custom the Budget and Economic Development towards re-election &
    referenced other Towns’ leaders who do the same thing.
    She was also concurring with my opinion, long term blogged that there is a
    Time Table, that there must be SLUSH in PRIOR BUDGETS, to be able to be
    so lean in this BUDGET.

    5) Wimps hide behind the net
    I definitely agree, with part of this.
    If there is legitimate fear of Reprisal, being anonymous is legit, like Playwrite.
    However, it is obvious that some politically connected and involved people
    chose to appear anonymous > so-so
    To those who insult, spam, non sequitor – I agree
    SUDDS gets a free pass.

    6) compare what’s going on with other CT towns
    I guess you did not see Jim Mihaley’s CT. POST Letter to the Editor Apr 29.
    Check the MIL RATE, Economic Development, and schools of Shelton, also
    a client of BMD. 😉
    Oh, before you chant “it’s only 2 1/2 years of Mayordumb”
    DEAD BEAT DICK & BILL – A – MINUTE BURTURLA, have been screwin up Stratford
    for 20 years, including using the PENSIONS to BRIBE INVESTIGATORS and OVER-
    SITE – “IN MY OPINION!”

    7) what is best for Stratford
    If all of the people on Town Committees, would move outta town…? 8)

  33. 33 officersean

    If you want real dirt you folks are looking in the wrong place.

    Miron is harmless. He is a likeable guy and you can like or not like what he does. Truth is nothing he has done has been “bad”. He is like DeCilio. Both are likable guys but if you do not like their politics, well that is a differnt story.

    The real issue in town is with our police officers.

    Look into the usual issues (overtime, callback, union work on town time,pensions) but look into the “other” issues.

    Things like covering for other cops and friends that are DUI, illegal drug use, racism, other criminal activity.

    It is there. Not everywhere. But like a persistent rash that threatens to spread, it is there.

    Jezebel, I don’t know you but they say you are someone whose spouse was let go by the Mayor. I am sorry to hear that. I guess that is reason enough to not like the guy but I would suggest that you get over it. That you use your energy for good. Find out what is going on at the P.D.

    Mr. Forrester, you know it is true. You are down at the PD enough with EMS. You here things. Speak up. Or are they holding that thing over your head still? Don’t let them. Is that why ou are on Public Safety Commission? To create a stale mate with the officers so they do not release any personal or personnel information about you?

    You are all looking in the wrong place and at the wrong people.

    Re-focus.

  34. 34 1george1

    Mike I was composing as you were blogging.

    I defer to your intellect.
    As usual, mike reynolds, you are correct.
    Please forgive me for offering a suggestion to help you.
    I am never correct, since you indicate “as usual.”
    I dare not rebut, nor enumerate supporting positions.

    You want Jeze to engage in conversation and NOT be DISMISSIVE?
    Hmmmm?
    Pot + Kettle = Black

    As Sudds might blog: 😉 🙂 8)
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHA!!!

  35. 35 jezebel282

    Sigh…OK, Mike. Just for you.

    “Ya’ll should be ashamed of the lack of respect you have for the Mayor that was voted in.”

    34% of the vote doesn’t count as “we all”. However, I DID vote for him and I will admit my mistake.

    “Like my Mama always said – you have nothing nice to say keep your trap shut.”

    Your Mama obviously wasn’t Susan B. Anthony, Corretta Scott King, Doris Lessing or Rachel Carson.

    “The Mayor has open hours to discuss issues – don’t complain unless you have a solution.”

    The very last thing anyone would do is meet with this mayor in private without at least one witness. If I meet with him, it will be in public and on the record. And we have PLENTY of solutions.

    “I grew up in Stratford – own a home and I’m still proud to be part of this town. Go Bunnell!! ”

    Good for you.

    “Stop the BS ya’ll chat over the net because your not strong enough to go to the council meetings and voice your opinion.”

    Council meetings? Been there, done that.

    “Wimps hide behind the net. Be strong and try to work with him to make a difference.”

    What for? I don’t believe in nepotism, intimidation, graft, or theft.

    “I have several children who attend schools in Stfd – may I add they are all honor roll students.”

    Congratulations.

    “There are many committees to join.”

    IF Mayor Moron appoints you to them.

    “Stop talking about his family.”

    Most of his family collects a Town of Stratford paycheck and benefits or steals from companies. They are public figures.

    “Find something on him.”

    You mean like appointing Heather Habelka as Acting Grants Writer or hiring Mark Haddad, or initiating punitive audits, or hiring his unqualified brother on the PD, or firing 35 people, or never showing up in his office, or having the Town Attorney write a contract for his brother the Chief of Police, or even blogging profanities under assumed names? You mean like that?

    “I personally do not know Mayor Miron but was very impressed with upcoming budget presentation.”

    Oh yeah? I missed the part about improving the train station, cleaning up Short Beach and Roosevelt Forest, reducing administrative costs, lowering the budget for the Town Attorney or increasing funding for education.

    “Alright Mr and Mrs e-mail professionals – compare what’s going on with other CT towns”

    Other Towns do not seem to attract the amount of sleaze that we do.

    “Council stop the power trip”

    What power? The Council was emasculated by the new Charter.

    “first and foremost – what is best for Stratford!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

    First and foremost, what is best for Stratford is not Jim Miron.

    Happy, Mike?

  36. 36 1george1

    Officer:
    Noted, for appropriate venue.

    Not every item in the produce section is ripe.
    Occasionally there is a rotten apple or spoiled fruit?

    Not every person lives up to their potential.
    Mistakes can be made.
    To try to do the right thing, can be difficult.
    With passing years, I have become more pragmatic, while maintaining certain idealism and altruism. Yet one learns there are different values.

  37. 37 jezebel282

    Sean,

    I am letting your post go through. I suggest, however, that you use a different computer when you come back as someone else again. Fair warning, I won’t tolerate spam or profanity as much as the Playwright did.

    “Jezebel, I don’t know you but they say you are someone whose spouse was let go by the Mayor.”

    Why is this important to you? I am a citizen and I pay exorbitant property tax.

    “That you use your energy for good.”

    You mean like free speech and the right to petition the government for a redress of grievances?

    “Miron is harmless. He is a likeable guy and you can like or not like what he does.”

    Miron is NOT harmless. He has set this town back decades. He will continue to do so until December 09.

  38. 38 1george1

    Jeze,
    I get the feeling Mike might not appreciate your post or mine about
    the new(?) Miron supporter’s blog? 8)

  39. 39 jezebel282

    George,

    I don’t think Mike would have a problem. Nothing I wrote was new.

    I have YET to read a single post from any Miron supporter (including Laura Dobosz) that even suggests a positive thing Miron has done in nearly 30 months.

  40. 40 mikereynolds

    See…doesn’t that feel better Jez? That’s the Jez we’ve all come to know and love! Go get’em girl!!!

  41. 41 jezebel282

    You’re right, Mike. I feel MUCH better now.

    Thanks!

    😀

  42. 42 gforrester

    Mr. Forrester, you know it is true. You are down at the PD enough with EMS. You here things. Speak up. Or are they holding that thing over your head still? Don’t let them. Is that why ou are on Public Safety Commission? To create a stale mate with the officers so they do not release any personal or personnel information about you?

    Officer Sean – let’s get some facts straight. The OT issue is not just related to PD but Fire and PW as well. One of the biggest factors has been that OT was calculated into PD pensions so for the last 3 years that an officer is on the job they rack up as much OT as possible to build up the pension. Callback is suposed to be assigned by a list based upon seniority so if you are questioning who is in charge of the OT callback that would be a question that the Chief has to answer. All of these issues are in a black and white contract that was agreed to years ago by councilmembers and town managers that have long since left the active scene. Now under the new pension agreement OT will not be included into the calculation for any officer hired, I believe after 1998, so we have some remaining officers that are “grandfathered” with the old plan so OT will be calculated in their pensions.

    Regarding your comments about a stalemate on the Public Safety Committee you are aware that of the 8 members of the Committee that one is a currently active Police Officer and one is a retired Police Detective from Stratford so unless you have been to the meetings or read the minutes I suggest to you that your inference about me creating a stalemate is not accurate. If you have a question(s) that you would like me to address to the Police Chief please feel free to either post them here or email me gforrester@snet.net.

    Your last comment about anyone holding anything over me is also not the case. In politics there are some people that love to create whisper campaigns and other nasty rumors about people and my family is well aware that was the case when I got into this “game” known as politics. My record for the past 8 years (4 zoning and 4 council) speaks for itself.

  43. 43 gforrester

    I have YET to read a single post from any Miron supporter (including Laura Dobosz) that even suggests a positive thing Miron has done in nearly 30 months.

    Jez – to be fair the 1st thing that comes to my mind is that the Mayor did initiate increasing the benefits for senior tax relief and I along with the other Democrats on the Council supported that plan which was origionally shot down by a 6-4 vote along party lines in 2007. The Mayor did continue to press the case and eventually we did past new senior tax relief that, in comparision to other communities, offers fairly significant benefits to a greater % of the population. If your interested I believe that the CT Conference of Municipalities (CCM) verified that our program is one of the best in the state.

    Just like FOX news – fair and balanced lol.

  44. 44 sudds

    Hi ALL!!

    Just a friendly reminder that the “Best for Stratford Exploratory Committee” is in full swing!!! I’d recommend that everyone jump on the Best “train” while seats are still available!!! (heck… maybe we’ll even get a canopy for the train station)

    Psst… Mr. Best… still awaiting word on where I can send my resume! One of the cushy no-show “mayoral aide” jobs sounds “interesting”!!! 😉 And since five sell-outs on the CRC just voted to give you free range of hiring/firing when you’re elected… 🙂

  45. 45 sudds

    ilovestfd…

    I don’t think that your cup was big enough…

    http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2173289370103437444QvmXAW

  46. 46 sudds

    Oh yeah… ilovestfd… one more thing…

    “Ya’ll seem to pick up on his family.”…

    Actually… his family is dragging our town down like an anchor in a storm! You stop stories like this…

    http://www.fairfieldweekly.com/article.cfm?aid=7725

    and we’ll stop “picking” on his family! Unless of course you (being a native that you are) like reading things in the press like:

    “Miron, who is the Democratic Registrar of Voters in Stratford, where his son James is mayor, allegedly accepted cash from close to 80 customers looking to have headstones delivered to family plots but failed to follow through. Some clients have resorted to taking Miron to small-claims court and contacted the state Department of Consumer Protection. To date, they say he owes over $100,000.”

  47. 47 jezebel282

    Mr. Forrester,

    “The Mayor did continue to press the case and eventually we did past new senior tax relief that,”

    A what cost? Restoration of his proposed BOE cuts? I also believe he had a list of people he wanted gone and…Voila!…they were gone.

  48. 48 1george1

    Hmmmm,

    Jeze, Mike, Freedom, even GAVIN pointed out the lack of Miron achievments,
    except for senior relief.
    However, the threshold was raised to over $ 40,000 from much lower, and
    there is less money allocated to ALL the senior, than a couple of the JANUARY
    PENSIONS.
    Much ado about nothing.

    It did not take GAVIN long to respond to officer sean, as in whisper campaign?

    What to dry someone crazy?
    Hey I heard something about you… but I can’t tell you what it is.
    At least it worked in High School. So certain people will probably… 😉

  49. 49 1george1

    Incomplete thought from above.

    Should there be more money to NEEDS BASIS, LONG TIME, VERY ELEDERLY,
    VERY LIMITED FIXED INCOME (like $ 10,000 – $ 15,000 a year?)

    or a nominal amount of money to $ 40,000 household?

    or lets give $ 100,000 / year to any Stratford Manager (not real union) Pension?

  50. 50 sudds

    Well folks it looks like we have survived another week in Mironville without the town going bankrupt!!!

    But before I bid you all farewell for the weekend…

    Pay attention George as I am going to be 100% serious here… 😛

    I just want to wish Jezebel (although I’m still only 99% certain that you are a mom and not a dad), Mayor Sperling, and the other mom’s lurking about a Wonderful Mother Day!!! 😀

  51. 51 pcsperling

    Sudds ~

    Thanks much ~ I plan on having a wonderful Mother’s Day and doing absolutely nothing (or trying to). Doesn’t always work, but that’s the life of a MOM!

    Now it’s my turn to respond to ILOVSTFD, who is most likely another of Miron’s buds:

    “Ya’ll should be ashamed of the lack of respect you have for the Mayor that was voted in.”

    Like Jeze said, it was by only 1/3 of the votes cast; the majority was against him, not for him. That being said, my parents always taught me to never let anyone walk all over me, and as far as I can tell, Jim Miron has been walking all over the citizens – of which I am one – since he was elected.

    “We all want the best for Stratford.”

    Yes, we all DO want the best for Stratford. That’s the precise reason for this forum. Hopefully, with all the ideas – good and bad – that get tossed around here, something good will happen. There’s tons of hits on this blog (as there was on the other). We may not all agree on everything, but we’re voicing our opinions – good, bad or indifferent, here.

    “Like my Mama always said – you have nothing nice to say keep your trap shut.””

    Sorry, I believe in standing up for what I believe in. You don’t like it? Too flippin’ bad, it’s my right. I don’t know Jim Miron personally, but as a mayor, he’s awful. He’s dishonest and deceitful. He’s got the political double-talk thing down pretty good. I’ll give you one thing – he’s a good public speaker and that makes for a good presentation – which is probably why you were impressed with it – but digest the presentation and the budget and you’ll uncover the flaws and see the hidden agenda.

    “The Mayor has open hours to discuss issues – don’t complain unless you have a solution.”

    His open hours don’t accommodate the full-time working citzens of the Town.

    “I grew up in Stratford – own a home and I’m still proud to be part of this town.”

    Me too! Hmm, but go Kolbe-Cathedral! Sorry….

    “Stop the BS ya’ll chat over the net because your not strong enough to go to the council meetings and voice your opinion. Wimps hide behind the net. Be strong and try to work with him to make a difference.”

    Are ya’ serious? In case you haven’t been reading this blog for very long. There’s a few who use pseudonyms for their own personal reasons, I choose to use my name. I’ve e-mailed Jim Miron, had many published live letters, and have no problem speaking my opinion – here and via e-mails to the council. I’m not a public speaker, I choose other forums to get my points across. I’m certainly not a whimp, far from it. Nor are the bloggers here. They are blogging here to help make a difference in the town WE LOVE. There’s also no working with Jim Miron. It’s his way or no way. He’s surrounded himself with people he can control, and if he can’t, they’re gone. There’s a long list of departures, I doubt that they were all dead weight.

    “I have several children who attend schools in Stfd – may I add they are all honor roll students.”

    Congratulations. You must be very proud!

    “There are many committees to join.”

    All committee applications must go through Miron. I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t willlingly pick me….LOL

    “Stop talking about his family. Find something on him. Ya’ll seem to pick up on his family. I personally do not know Mayor Miron but was very impressed with upcoming budget presentation.”

    His father is the Democratic Registrar of Voters, along with the other members of his family – they have been involved in Stratford politics for a long time. His father retired, was named deputy registrar and then back into the registrar’s seat – why? To withdraw his pension funds to buy his condo. His sister was his campaign treasurer, at about the same time as she was pocketing funds from her employer….come on….. I think you need a reality check – the whole family put themselves in public view. Like I said above – he is a good public speaker and if he was selling the Brooklyn Bridge, you’d probably make an offer.

  52. 52 jezebel282

    Thank you Sudds.

    Is there a DINK’s day?

    (Double Income No Kids)

    Oh wait, every day is DINKS day!

  53. 53 starlooker

    I have been in Stratford all my life. It was a quaint little Town where many knew each other. WE all had minor gripes at times with the Town Manager but it was not something that ruined the Town. We get a Mayor and WHAM…lives are ruined. People let go, why? who knows, their familes etc suffer. Only to have the Mayor produce new jobs with their salary in their place. He is just a mayor…. nothing more than that. I really do not feel the Mayor realizes how many he has hurt, he is to busy on his high horse. In History it will go down at JM being the first Mayor of Stratford but not in a positive way. I truly feel he thinks he will be placed there in glory. I think not….. with the money he raised for election, Lakeview, Brooke, and brother Chris what is that telling you. As for the CRC, yes Ben Proto is on it, yes Ben Proto was Jon Bests campaign chairperson and do I feel with if Jon Best is going to be elected as mayor yes he will be Town Attorney, he should never be on the CRC.

  54. 54 1george1

    Happy mothers day to all mothers.

    I concur with starlooker.
    Oh, are any or all C. R. C. Attorneys somehow being paid?

  55. 55 1george1

    Condolences to Mr. and Mrs. Tony Ross and perhaps C. O. A. Suzanne McCauley?
    I saw an Monroe obit for Sasan McCauley Unwin, whose relatives listed Mrs. Ross
    of Stratford, and people in Easton, where the C. A. O. came from. Not mention of
    the C. A. O. as the next of kin?

    Condolences to James O’Sullivan. A month or so ago Mrs. O’Sullivan passed away.
    (He was formerly of the Stratford Ethics Commission & ex-State Dept & I believe
    ex-C. I. A., based on his resume and assignments)
    I learned from the Obit that she had a son Esq. Hilgendorf.

    Coincidentally (or arranged?) Esq. Hilgendorf had joined the small Law firm of
    my life long friend and Real Estate Attorney.
    My Esq. friend’s newest associate had coincidentally (or was it arranged?)
    clerked for Judge Robert Testo, of Bridgeport, who was my dad’s best
    friend from child hood and grew up in Bridgeport’s hollow before and during
    the Depression.

    As time passes, more coincidences become evident, plainly and clearly.

    However as FDR wrote, in politics, there are no such things as coincidence!

    Robert McNamara wrote a book called “in Retrospection.” It referred to a
    fact that sometimes were are so busy living life, that past actions gain much
    clarity ONLY, when seen in Retrospection.


Leave a Reply

