Democratic Party Platform

07May08

44 Responses to “Democratic Party Platform”

  1. 1 jezebel282

    Is it possible to make it any easier for the Republicans?

    Has Joe Crudo or Lou DeCilio stopped laughing yet?

  2. 2 1george1

    If the Democratic Party has a platform, thanthe Keystone Kop Republican
    Party has a Gang Plank.

    Joe Crudo?
    Isn’t he the former Town Council Chairman

    1) whose Council transferred $ 9,100,000 repayment obligation from the
    1998 PENSION BOND to the PUBLIC?
    (MILS were $ 3.3 million per MIL, now $ 4.5 million per)

    2) whose Council created a golden parchute, whereas 61 people went out
    in a single year (more than double most years) at higher PENSIONS causing
    the FULLY FUNDED to drop from mid 90 % to about 70 %

    Lou DeCilio
    Isn’t he Dead beat Dick’s bowling partner?

    Isn’t he among the Brainiacs who backed Team Stratford & Burturla/Aldrich?

  3. 3 sudds

    NICE ARTWORK!!! :oP

    PS… I doubt Lou & Pappa-Miron are bowling together!!

    PPS… “Is it possible to make it any easier for the Republicans?” but Jez, you’re forgetting that Wanamaker has her MBA!!!

  4. 4 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    Who do I make the royalty check out to?

  5. 5 sudds

    😀

    Any independent running for Mayor or Council (preferably in the 3rd District).

    Great… now I just got George excited!!!

  6. 6 gforrester

    I really don’t think an “independant” or the actual term of a petition candidate will win in Nov 09. I know some will disagree with me but you need major $$ to get your message out and unless you have a major party split like in 05 when Dom and Jon who were both republicans ( just one running as a petition candidate) on the ballot. In that senario Jon did not seek or primary for the nomination, and under today’s party rules, you basically would not be able to primary AND be a petition candidate due to time limitations to get on the ballot. Under the old rules if you lost you could petition and still get on the ballot. Without that major split and someone running purely as a petition candidate you would not be able to raise the funds necessary to compete on the large scale that the two major parties do.

    No, if anyone if going to have a successful run and not be endorsed they would more than likely have to primary, unless they were to start some ground swell of support, not only in voters but in $$ too.

  7. 7 gforrester

    What were those qualifications for Mayor again lol

  8. 8 sudds

    There OBVIOUSLY aren’t any!!! 😥

  9. 9 sudds

    “I really don’t think an “independant” or the actual term of a petition candidate will win in Nov 09.”

    So, are you suggestiong that I stop production of the new signage…

    http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2817722550103437444hOrFxB

  10. 10 jezebel282

    Mr. Forrester,

    I truly hope you are wrong. (researching the cost of 500 lawn signs). No offense, but with Heather Habelka, Ashley Heydu, Kent Miller, Rich Buturla, Alvin ONeal, Amy Wanamaker, Dick, Jim and Christian Miron on the DTC…I am at a loss to see why anyone would vote for a democrat in this Town.

  11. 11 gforrester

    Sudds if I ever have the need to make up campaign signs again I will certainly contact you first lol.

  12. 12 gforrester

    Mr. Forrester,

    I truly hope you are wrong. (researching the cost of 500 lawn signs). No offense, but with Heather Habelka, Ashley Heydu, Kent Miller, Rich Buturla, Alvin ONeal, Amy Wanamaker, Dick, Jim and Christian Miron on the DTC…I am at a loss to see why anyone would vote for a democrat in this Town.

    JEZ I don’t believe that people vote or not vote for someone because of who is on the respective town committees, hopefully they vote for which candidate gives enought of a SH*T about the town or the district that they represent and will do a good job representing the concerns of the citizens FOR WHICH THEY SERVE. I have never voted for a candidate for municipal elected office i.e Council – Council At Large/Mayor – Zoning – State office or Federal office because anyone was on the Town Committee.

    So are you suggesting I change the (D) behind my name to (U) lol

  13. 13 jezebel282

    Mr. Forrester,

    “So are you suggesting I change the (D) behind my name to (U) lol”

    That depends on whether you are running for office, doesn’t it?

    Are you announcing something here?

  14. 14 jezebel282

    For any Independent Candidate out there:

    500 Lawn Signs (including steel U stands) are $790 including shipping!

  15. 15 1george1

    Darn George!

    At the October ST JOSEPH’S DEBATE, I made it a point that NO ONE REPS
    the UNAFFILATED and INDEPENDENTS, on Town Charter, Registrar, other
    Committees, and Alvin set me up GREAT.

    Now?

    NOW?

    Dom becomes an Unaffiliated?

    Now?

    NOW?

    Gavin questions if he should become a U?

    ->

    I dun wanna be no trend setter. 😉

    Do I gotta find anudder club? 😦

  16. 16 gforrester

    500 will cover 5 districts lol – you need 1000 by the time 25% get ruined as target practice for motocross lol.

    And no Jez – no anouncement here – I have an elected office already lol.

  17. 17 pcsperling

    Sudds ~ I can’t contain my laughter..

    Jeze, you forgot Dave Mooney, Bonnie Reynolds, and I’m sure there’s a few more, who worship the ground the Mirons walk on.

    Isn’t it the DTC and RTC who nominate the candidates? If so, how are we guaranteed that the person who is nominated from each party is someone who truly cares about the Town and not just about having his or her name on the entrance signs to the Town? There doesn’t seem to be snowball’s chance in a campfire that we’re going to have the SUPER candidates on the next round either. If the pool hadn’t been so watered down the last time, the winner would most certainly have been someone other than Jim Miron and we could STILL be here, on this blog.

  18. 18 sudds

    “For any Independent Candidate out there:
    500 Lawn Signs (including steel U stands) are $790 including shipping!”

    THAT’S IT? Heck I raised almost $3k for Booth… Pat you’re so set once we have your tournament!!!

  19. 19 1george1

    Hey PCS,

    I think Sudds is tryin to get lucky wit da wifey, by pandering to the fairer sex?
    I don’t disagree, with the sign. 😉

    Jeze,
    Was that steel U ?
    or
    U steal ?

    Gavin,
    I made you laugh a couple a times at town council meetings (plastic donkey,
    and that Hawaiian golf shirt that made me n Alvin look drab) , but do i detect
    a sense of humor?
    Miranda was the only T. C. who smiled.
    (Maybe cause he had 1 foot outta town?)
    Do we have a potential challenger?

    Gavin, while Sudds has great signs, I hear there are furballs and chunks of
    kitty litter embedded in the signs. 😉

  20. 20 gforrester

    Isn’t it the DTC and RTC who nominate the candidates?

    Yes but Pat that is why we have primaries. If someone doesn’t like who was nominated by the town committees you can primary. Remember Dom was not “endorsed” – Ed Goodrich was the nominee and he won via primary. I imagine there will be primary entrants galore for 2009.

  21. 21 gforrester

    George you are right – I don’t smile enought because some of the stuff that goes on just wants to make you cry sometimes – I’ll try and enjoy my last 18 months more.

  22. 22 pcsperling

    Gavin ~

    Thanks! I forgot about the primaries.

    George ~

    You mean it has nothing to do with my sparkling personality and sense of humor? LOL

  23. 23 gforrester

    THAT’S IT? Heck I raised almost $3k for Booth

    Maybe it was all spent on lawn signs cause god knows he had several up and down main street. I think he had more signs in the 3rd than the 6th lol.

  24. 24 sudds

    “Maybe it was all spent on lawn signs cause god knows he had several up and down main street. I think he had more signs in the 3rd than the 6th lol.”

    See what happens when I am not in charge of EVERYTHING! Let this be a lesson to you people!!! :oP

    “I’ll try and enjoy my last 18 months more.”

    You should play the Wanamaker drinking game… every time she says I, me or my you have to do a shot… good luck making it past the half way mark!!!

    “Sudds if I ever have the need to make up campaign signs again I will certainly contact you first lol.”

    Consider it my gift to your campaign:
    http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2297310510103437444tDEwkM

  25. 25 sudds

    “I think Sudds is tryin to get lucky wit da wifey, by pandering to the fairer sex?”

    Too late… she already thinks I’m a sexist pig! And quite frankly… I’m starting to get offended by the pig part!!!

    “You mean it has nothing to do with my sparkling personality and sense of humor?”

    I’m taking the fifth! :oP

  26. 26 sudds

    “Gavin, while Sudds has great signs, I hear there are furballs and chunks of
    kitty litter embedded in the signs.”

    Not cool George… I haven’t done your sign yet… so you really should be nicer to me!!! :oP

  27. 27 gforrester

    I love the sign Sudds – maybe i’ll place an order lol.

  28. 28 freedomofspeach

    “If the pool hadn’t been so watered down the last time, the winner would most certainly have been someone other than Jim Miron and we could STILL be here, on this blog.”

    So who would have won? Of all the people running I dont see two, if that, that would have made a difference.

  29. 29 jezebel282

    Freedom,

    I think he was referring to the gene pool. We have so many related people in both the RTC and DTC that they are all starting to look alike anyway.

  30. 30 1george1

    Yo PCS,
    I haven’t praised your sparkling personality and sense of humor, in a month?
    Oooops?

    The way you and sudds go back and forth, I am startin to wonder…. nah.

    Sudds,
    ya got me gigglin, and if the signs for me make me laugh, even at me,
    I may have to order from you too!

    I betcha can come up wit sumptin better than
    “offering more from the forest to the shore”

    Gotta keep it clean.

    Hey Gavin,
    writin bout signs, how about some signs on I – 95 & I -15 about state champs
    Stratford HS hoops
    Bunnell football – 2 years
    Bunnell girls v-ball 3 years
    Stratford midgets or peewee gridder got some TC award?
    Brakettes or anybody else do somethin good.

    Jimbo will take the credit, for the kids achievements, by braggin on signs
    that are long, long overdue. But then, positive publicity and Stratford…. 😦

    Yo Gavin, can ya puts it on the Agenda and be the sponsor?

  31. 31 sudds

    “ya got me gigglin, and if the signs for me make me laugh, even at me,
    I may have to order from you too!”

    Sadly George I can’t find a picture of your bright and smily face anywhere on the internet! If anyone has one that they can send to suddsct@yahoo.com it would be GREATLY appreciated!!!

  32. 32 jezebel282

    After Mr. Fredette’s vote to eliminate hiring abuses by a mayor, let’s all get behind Rick Marcone and hope the DTC nominates him as Registrar of Voters.

    Enough is enough.

  33. 33 equaker

    YES! Enough is enough- It’s time to clean shop!

  34. 34 1george1

    equaker:
    I have repeatedly challenged the C. R. C. Attorneys appropriateness vs.
    Bar Association code, despite some limited praise.

    ->

    Sudds,
    My mug can be found on the Videos of Town Council Meeings and Public
    Forums. Knicknamed “the Flash” for the way I waddle to & from the podium,
    you may need a wide angle lens for whatever you intend to do, which “I am
    sure I will regret” and mike reynolds & others will enjoy your posting product.

    ->

    My hero Ed Hargus would shuffle to / from the Podium. After a few months,
    or after a new Budget, Ed would mention that he “has seen MANY TOWN
    COUNCILS and this ONE was the WORST ONE he had EVER SEEN!”

    I would initially wince, some people would chuckle, including a couple of the
    Town Councilors, and a few people would shift uncomfortably in thier seats.

    ->

    Bottom line:
    Ed was right.

    Why?
    Same people in politics, year after year, with a few new proxies.

    As Al Gore – ithim defines insanity:
    If you do the “same thing for the same way, every time,”
    to expect a “different result,”
    is the definition of insanity.

    We get the same people stuck into committees and elected.
    Some are decent. Some are well intended.
    Some when challenged or questioned get all offended.
    Yet on this blog, none of the Miron achievements are defended?

    Some want to sell … 😉
    Some want to buy … 😦
    Many want a pie or bigger piece of da pie … 8)
    Some tell da truth, and some tell the lie … 🙂

  35. 35 jezebel282

    You read it in the Post (Never in the Star):

    Meanwhile, the battle to succeed Miron will begin as the Democratic Town Committee is scheduled to endorse a candidate for registrar on the November ballot during its nominating convention Tuesday. The session is set for 7 p.m. in the Baldwin Senior Center.

    The declared candidates are Fredette, the vice chairman of the Charter Revision Commission, who also is a two-time councilman and former chairman of the Zoning Commission, and Marcone, a former Republican who switched parties several years ago and made an unsuccessful bid for the District 9 council seat last November.

    Both say they will try to qualify for a September primary fight if they don’t gain the party’s endorsement.

    “I believe I am the more qualified candidate, having served the town in numerous government capacities for many years,” said Fredette, 52. “I know the town well and believe I should receive the official party endorsement.”

    Marcone, 55, said he is running because, “It’s time for a change. I believe I can instill new energy and enthusiasm into the office, but I am saddened by the way Mr. Miron is departing.”

    Democratic Town Committee Chairman Dave Mooney said Wednesday that considering the problems facing Miron, he made the right decision to bow out of the race.

    “I feel very badly for all the families suffering who did not receive headstones,” Mooney said of the allegations against Miron. “But while it is rare, we have two excellent candidates for registrar and I will support whichever one receives the official party endorsement.”

    After Rich Fredette’s vote on the CRC to deny Stratford Citizens basic ethical protection the choice is very, very clear: Rick Marcone.

  36. 36 jezebel282

    53-7? I think that may qualify as a message, Mr. Fredette.

    Maybe if you didn’t vote against Stratford citizens on the CRC you may have broken into double digits.

  37. 37 gforrester

    Jez the CRC vote had little to do with the 53-7 and everything to do with past history between Rich and many members of the SDTC and past battles. Remember EVERY democratic candidate for Council (except one) all said at the St. Joseph’s forum that they were against forming the CRC so what would lead you to believe that those feeling differs from the majority of the Town Committee.

  38. 38 jezebel282

    Mr. Forrester,

    Poetic Justice?

  39. 39 gforrester

    I guess you could say that.

  40. 40 sudds

    I call it a good ‘ole fashioned a$$-whoopin’!!!

    Jez… do you think that now maybe he’ll realize that the citizens of Stratford are not ignorant as he thinks? And if so, do you think that there’s any chance that it’s not too late for CRC2???

  41. 41 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    Beats me. Reason and logic don’t seem to have currency in this Town.

    Fredette votes to keep the unconscionable hiring/firing practices going and then expects to run successfully for office?

  42. 42 1george1

    Nothing poetic happened Tuesday night.
    I am not sure justice was served either?

    There were 2 choices.
    Factored into choices are history and recent situations.
    Both can reflect on the D T C, as individuals and a collective.

    Had a been a Democrat T C, I would have voted for Rich and
    I told Marcone that. I also told Marcone, I thought he was/is
    a decent guy and can do a good job.
    > I did not say anything about the fact that Dick Burturla was
    his second?
    > I do not agree with much of what people in either party favor,
    yet occasionally they do the right thing, often for the wrong
    reasons? 😉
    I understand Jeze’s priority on the hiring/firing.
    Conversely, Rich was the ONLY ONE to vote in favor of REFERENDUM,
    which is one of my priorities.
    > I often disagree with Gavin, but he seems to get more right (from my
    view) than many others. But in golf terms… that’s a gimme. 8)

    > In the old days, they needed a first and a second to carry one
    of the bodies, from the duel.

    I was surprized by the vote.
    Also by who was not there?
    (Some are friends of Rich and Dick)
    Also that Dick Miron seemed to have real support from about 20-30
    people who were present.

    I went to see who supported whom, as one can not always figure things
    out from the Votes.
    I was surprized when Gavin was the one nominating Rich.
    I was more surprized Alvin did the seconding for Rich.

    I was disappointed in Marcone, when Burturla seconded Marcone.
    Biggest surprize to the audience was Alvin then voted Marcone?
    And his vote came early, doubly negating the impact of the seconding?

    I wonder if Alvin butters both sides of his TOAST?

    I was surprized by PCS comment about Bonnie Reynolds reaction to
    criticism of Jim? I had not seen that side.
    Generally I like Dave and her, as people.

    I can like people, but disagree with political viewpoints
    (as long as they don’t hurt other people)

  43. 43 jezebel282

    George,

    Did you notice a giant pitcher of Democratic flavoered Kool-Aid there?

  44. 44 jezebel282

    You just can’t make this stuff up.

    Could it be that Dick Miron and Rich Fredette don’t get along?

    (Except for Terry Backer’s unfortunate & misguided relationship with and support of the Mirons, he has represented Stratford exceptionally well at the State level. Singh doesn’t stand a snowball’s chance in this one.)

    You read it in the Post

    (Note to Rich Weizel: If you are submitting any of these to the Pulitzer committee, make sure you label them “NON-Fiction.)

    Registrar rejects petitions in primary challenge
    By RICHARD WEIZEL
    Article Last Updated: 06/14/2008 11:46:06 PM EDT

    STRATFORD — Charter Revision Commission Vice Chairman Richard Fredette’s petitions to challenge the Democratic Town Committee’s endorsed candidate for registrar in a primary have been rejected by current Registrar Richard Miron.

    Miron said Friday that 128 of Fredette’s 525 voter signatures on the petitions — 48 short of 445 required — are invalid because they are not registered Democrats.

    Miron, the father of Mayor James R. Miron, was recently arrested on a larceny charge tied to the failure of his defunct business to deliver a headstone for a grave that had been paid for. He is being investigated for as many as 80 other similar complaints.

    He announced last month he would not seek re-election after 18 years in the registrar’s post.

    Fredette, a long-time Miron foe who wants to challenge Marcone in an Aug. 12 primary, has called for Miron’s resignation.

    He said Friday he will appeal the invalidation of the petition signatures to the state Elections Enforcement Commission and Secretary of the State’s office.

    Fredette contends many of the signatures eliminated by Miron are those of registered Democrats, and he was given incomplete and invalid petitions by the registrar’s office when Miron was absent last month, which he says cost him two days to gather signatures.

    Fredette also claims Miron’s support for Marcone to be his successor is a conflict of interest.

    Miron strongly denied Fredette’s allegations.

    “There’s no gray area here — you’re either a registered Democrat or you aren’t,” Miron said. “I stayed here extra hours [Friday] to finish this so there would be a conclusion.”

    (I hope he didn’t put in for overtime.)

    In another primary matter, former Councilman Michael Singh’s petition to challenge longtime state Rep. Terry Backer, D-Stratford, was validated Friday by Miron. The registrar said Singh submitted 256 voter signatures, with 232 validated, 22 more than the 210 required.


Leave a Reply

