It’s the Feds! No Wait. It’s the Council! No wait. It’s the…

02Jul08

Captain Renault

I’m shocked. Shocked that there is gambling going on here.

You read it in the Post:

Area mayors claim feds failing cities
JOHN BURGESON
Article Last Updated: 07/01/2008 11:33:41 PM EDT

STRATFORD — – The federal government is failing America’s cities when it comes to spending on infrastructure, fighting crime, the arts and programs for young people, according to Bridgeport Mayor Bill Finch, Stratford Mayor James Miron and Fairfield First Selectman Kenneth Flatto.

The three chief executives were in Miron’s office Tuesday for a joint press conference to review the initiatives agreed on at the National Conference of Mayors that took place in Miami last week…..

“Infrastructure is one of the areas that’s woefully forgotten about,” Miron said. “When I took over 2 years ago as mayor, I was shocked and appalled at the condition of our infrastructure. Our fleet vehicles were 20 or more years old — in horrible condition — and not because of our public works garage.”

“So what did I do? I spent $500,000 on my own office, tripled the Mayor’s office budget and authorized $2+ million in legal fees.”

“I’m shocked and appalled”? So are we, Jimmy, so are we.

33 Responses to “It’s the Feds! No Wait. It’s the Council! No wait. It’s the…”

  1. 1 1george1

    1 picture. 1,000 words. Any chance to add the scene with the police chief
    inspector in process of pocketing the chips?

    I mentioned this movie early in the P W blog, but referred to the gambling raid
    about which jeze refers. Great Minds think alike.

    This movie is ranked # 1 of best ever in some polls and certainly top 10 in most.

    Flatto, Finch, & Miron?
    To some it might sound like a Law Firm.
    To others it might sould like a comedy team from the 1930s.
    To others it might be co-defendants?
    I love it what Democrats and Republican talk about “convictions.”
    Maybe most should be convicted? Any nominations?
    (Softball LOB alert)

  2. 2 freedomofspeach

    “STRATFORD — – The federal government is failing America’s cities when it comes to spending on infrastructure, fighting crime, the arts and programs for young people, according to Bridgeport Mayor Bill Finch, Stratford Mayor James Miron and Fairfield First Selectman Kenneth Flatto.”

    Last I looked the Federal Government was not responsible for City infrastructure, crime fighting, the arts, or youth programs. That’s what the city and town property tax base is supposed to be for. The state tax base is responsible, with federal funding, interstate and state roads and bridges.

    “The three chief executives were in Miron’s office Tuesday for a joint press conference to review the initiatives agreed on at the National Conference of Mayors that took place in Miami last week…..”

    Glad they had a good time. Sure Miron was introduced to all the big wigs, as he’s a classy guy. Or did he just play pirate?

    “Infrastructure is one of the areas that’s woefully forgotten about,” Miron said. “When I took over 2 years ago as mayor, I was shocked and appalled at the condition of our infrastructure. Our fleet vehicles were 20 or more years old — in horrible condition — and not because of our public works garage.”

    Really??? Shocked and appalled???? And you discussed this with the TC then, 2 years ago, right? I am sure the D and R on the TC will say hey no money because you keep spending it where its not supposed to go.

    And the Federal Government is responsible for your infrastructure how? And Jimmy, fleet vehicles are not infrastructure. Roads, sewers, pipelines, power systems, buildings, bridges, tunnels, things like that are. Or are you used to taking money that was for infrastructure and spending it on cars and trucks and got confused? Or spent it on grant writers who never wrote grants, or for office bathrooms and secure bunkers?

    He is as dumb as Forrest Gump.

  3. 3 jezebel282

    Freedom,

    Forrest Gump had 3 advantages over Miron.

    1. He was smarter
    2. He was better looking
    3. He was lucky.

    Miron can’t do anything about the first 2 and it is unlikely he will change the last one in 18 months.

  4. 4 1george1

    “Infrastructure is one of the areas that’s woefully forgotten about,” Miron said. “When I took over 2 years ago as mayor, I was shocked and appalled at the condition of our infrastructure. Our fleet vehicles were 20 or more years old — in horrible condition — and not because of our public works garage.”

    Hmmmm?
    When did Dick Miron, Dick Burturla, Norm and friends first get involved in the
    Stratford political parties?

    It’s been a little over 20 years, hasn’t it?

    If the Town Committees had been selecting people for elected office, who select
    the Administrative Heads who make personnel decisions like promotion and hiring,
    and make requests for Facilities and Equipment, which had have unique BIDS /
    CHANGE ORDERS, maybe the Fleets would not be 20 + years old.

    If the leaders of the Town Committees were more interested in Public Interest
    than Financial and Political self interest …..

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    FYI

    The name for the character FORREST GUMP, was the same as the GUY who
    started the KKK.

    And when George Wallace ran for segregationist Presidency, his people
    coined the term “Pointed Headed Liberals.” But then the KKK cap was a
    Pointed shape too, and Intellectuals are known as Egg Heads.

    Not sure where the last paragraph is going, but on this ONE, I will admit it.
    🙂

  5. 5 1george1

    The PW had an open mind about blogs and fairness in posting.

    The PW called the REPUBLICANS TERRORISTS and DEMOCRATS MARXISTS.

    Jeze is losing patience with me trying to raise his/her horizons to the
    REAL ISSUE which is a MIND SET or a CORRUPT SYSTEM and the fact that
    Miron / Burturla are doing the bidding of others locally and beyond.

    At least Jeze and PW recognize the value of the 1st Amendment.

    What value am I to you if I lie to all of you and allow you to be harmed more
    than you already are, by just mindlessly agreeing with your limited views?

    ~~

    Since Keith is spelled with an “i”
    Since Heath is spealled with an “a” and and H”
    Since I posted “Keath”
    Since there is no spell check or red underlines in posting, like in Word.
    Maybe I had a typo? I have had my share.

  6. 6 freedomofspeach

    “Jeze is losing patience with me trying to raise his/her horizons to the
    REAL ISSUE which is a MIND SET or a CORRUPT SYSTEM and the fact that
    Miron / Burturla are doing the bidding of others locally and beyond.”

    1george1
    The problem is when you go off on your tirade with conspiracy theories, you lack all creditability and sound like you need to stop at the pharmacy for some reality pill refills.

    Do I believe that there is an issue with the town attorney, police chief, TC, and the mayor? Yes. Do I think they are dishonest and have no integrity, Yes. Do I think Miron is qualified to be the Mayor. No, he’s a moron, and has been since his pre Army days. But look at his family tree. What do you expect other than a carnival barker, a porta potty pumper, or a lawyer who could not make it working as one although his father was politically well connected?

    Do I believe the mother ship is coming with Bush and Cheney at the helm, with the CIA storm troopers to help them steal the secret treasure that the CIA, NSA, and Justice Department, who have been working at Sikorsky on the 2nd shift, have been hunting…no….not in my little world. It may be small, but everyone knows me there.

    If you wake up and get into reality you will find that the system can work if you get people who want to be in public service, to serve, not take, have management experience, are not scum like you have now, and you hold them to a higher standard. But when you elect a pirate tattoo branding, pistol packing psycho, whose only chance of keeping or getting a job is to sell his position (do you think if he was good at practicing law he would have had his pierced up office staff and no money for a car? He wasn’t even a good whiplash Willie ambulance chaser) because next year he will be getting a pink slip from the voters and will need a job. So he will be off to BM & D or someplace like that or, since he’s been keeping the AG office off his Fathers back, maybe a state job.

    Amazing there is nothing going on with that litigation.

    When you’re lucid you have great points, are very articulate and on point, but when you’re in your special place, I just don’t bother to read it.

  7. 7 jezebel282

    George,

    If I need my horizons raised, you’ll be the first I ask.

    In the meantime, could you PLEASE keep your posts at least somewhat relevant to the topic?

    Word of advice: You’d be a much, much more effective advocate for Stratford citizens if you were able to maintain the same thought for more than two sentences.

  8. 8 1george1

    FOS.
    Thank you for the compliments
    and for your opinion about my special place.

    I can not prove in a form acceptable to you, but I know for a fact
    that Miron / Burturla / and the cast of characters were hand picked
    to play their roles.

    The same thing is true with State people and Federal people.

    In early 1990s J K Galbraith was a speaker at George McGovern’s Stratford Inn.
    In his book “Economocs and public policy, he identified the planning system.”

    He also identified the planning systems has a long history of counter intuitive
    methodologies and resources. It was a step beyond Eisenhower’s Military
    Industrial Complex with unwarranted power and the Scientific Technologic
    Elite, which controls Public Opinion.

    ~~~~~

    In Intelligence Communities there are:
    > PLANNING
    > OPERATIONS (implementation)

    They use
    > CONTROL or HANDLING AGENTS
    Each is assigned limited targets and can access various people, using
    techniques, technology, and methodology which sets people up to
    do what those people would likely want to choose, while NEVER knowing
    the choices were prearranged, to fit into a scheme or plan.

    They are a completely vertical organization
    (see Eisenhower’s description of reaching into every Business & Home)

    ~~~~~~~~

    No one who blogs has seen, experienced, or understands this technology,
    methodology, and process – so you can not process that anyone would
    want to waste time on truly insignificant people.

    However, as a diversersion, to keep their people preoccupied and busy,
    they allow them to use people based on names (nomenclaure) and numbers
    (numerology) to fit into a scripted play, which innovates over time, and with
    new HANDLING AGENTS and CONTROL AGENTS, along with channging political
    or ideological objectives.

    ~~~~~~~~

    Invariably, they use former colonies and place still under control for their
    operations, which in the past were limited to print suggestions and personal
    “arrangements.”

    However, with Radio, TV, Internet and more there are SEMI – HYPNOTIC
    suggestion, which work under UHF / VHF / brief imaging which the mind’s
    eye catches, but the conscious level does not register.
    > The BUY POPCORN at the DRIVE IN MOVIE urban legend is understatement.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    With the NEW DIGITAL technology coming FEB 17 (2 – 17) and all AUDIO and
    VIDEO products being made offshore – do you really know the limits of the
    TV – RADIO – INTERNET into a MND CONTROL ability?

    I will be derided by FOS / MR / others for this post.

    Jeze may gripe abot being on topic, however I am specifically responding
    to FOS. = RELEVANT ISSUE posed by Jeze.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Jeze is correct about Horizon raised.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    What if I am correct and you are wrong about affects on Stratford Citizens?
    Just because NONE of YOU find me credible (perhaps my communications
    skills are at fault), does that me I am wrong?

    If I try to warn you about a real danger to you and your family, and that
    the real problems are beyond your sightlines, am I NO LONGER an Advocate
    for Stratford Citizens?
    Or
    Am I an Advocate for Stratford Citizens, despite them not wanting to see
    what I see, and learn from my experience?

  9. 9 1george1

    Oh,

    100 %

    I understand your legitimate perceptions on why some of my beliefs
    are NOT credible.

    I lived it.
    I expereienced it.
    For a few years, I was in denial.

    IF > I lived it, and I expereienced it, AND for a few years, I was in denial,
    why would I consider your would believe me?

    NOT LOGICAL!

    ~~~~~~~

    So if I post,knowing in advance you have every reason not to believe me,
    because I lack the articulation and clear/plain/preponderant proof, and
    you lack life experience to mirror image what I know to be true ……….

  10. 10 jezebel282

    George,

    “However, with Radio, TV, Internet and more there are SEMI – HYPNOTIC
    suggestion, which work under UHF / VHF / brief imaging which the mind’s
    eye catches, but the conscious level does not register.”

    George!

    That does it!

    Special today! Tin Foil hats! 5 for $3! Guaranteed to protect against harmful UHF/VHF and new Digital rays!

    But wait! There’s more!

    Order today and get a free Tin Foil pair of Men’s/Ladies shorts! Protect your future!

  11. 11 mikereynolds

    I would like it noted for the record that I was the first one to suggest a tin foil hat for George.

    I would also like it noted for the record that it was I a long time ago suggested that George was missing his medication.

  12. 12 jezebel282

    Mike,

    What can I say? I have an entrepreneurial spirit.

    How many hats would you like?

  13. 13 mikereynolds

    Can I get a few that say Sperling in 09!

  14. 14 jezebel282

    Umm…sure!

    (Where’s my magic marker?)

  15. 15 1george1

    Expected.
    Yada, yada, talk to the hand!

    What not take a minute to Google
    Subliminal Suggestions?

    I have a 60 page document about the 1970s project from a US
    government website. Oh they are conspiracy nuts.

  16. 16 jezebel282

    Geogre,

    I’m sure you do.

    Do NOT copy and paste it here.

  17. 17 1george1

    Jeze,

    If I copied and pasted 60 pages,
    than i would be as unwelcomed as the ge ogers 🙂

  18. 18 1george1

    I understand the Norm B Utternuts asked Harkins about becoming Mayor?

    I understand he said he would not do it, unless the salary was $ 125,000

    A) Harkins does NOT want the MAYOR job.

    B) He never dreamed they would propose a 40 % pay increase.

    C) He has far too much to lose from where his is at a state level.

    D) He really does not want to be the front for Norm & Burturla.

    E) While Buda feels he is her biggest challenge, if she won, it might
    kill Harkin’s political career. Buda and many people in town knows
    the powers will lie cheat and try to steal the Primary and she is likely
    not to get the deserved victory.

    F) With Democrats as President; 2 CT Senators; Congresswoman; State
    Senate / House controlled and a deep bench of corrupt Judges, why
    would Harkins want to become the next Ganim, Rowland, or Newton?

    Oh if everyone on this blog is supposedly so pro JON BEST, why aren’t
    you trying to OUT Norm and the B Utter Nuts, who block his chances
    to gain Town Committee pawer and a realistic chance to become Mayor?

    Could it be that many of the bloggers are also in Norm’s pocket, which
    means they are in Burturla’s pocket, which means they are in Dick and
    Jim’s pocket, since I believe they “ALL WORK TOGETHER …” 😦

    I was doin sooo good.
    All Stratford Issues. 8)
    Then I relapse into “possible conspiracy..” 😉

  19. 19 1george1

    I understand the Norm B Utternuts asked Harkins about becoming Mayor?

    I understand he said he would not do it, unless the salary was $ 125,000

    A) Harkins does NOT want the MAYOR job.

    B) He never dreamed they would propose a 40 % pay increase.

    C) He has far too much to lose from where his is at a state level.

    D) He really does not want to be the front for Norm & Burturla.

    E) While Buda feels he is her biggest challenge, if she won, it might
    kill Harkin’s political career. Buda and many people in town knows
    the powers will lie cheat and try to steal the Primary and she is likely
    not to get the deserved victory.

    F) With Democrats as President; 2 CT Senators; Congresswoman; State
    Senate / House controlled and a deep bench of corrupt Judges, why
    would Harkins want to become the next Ganim, Rowland, or Newton?

    Oh if everyone on this blog is supposedly so pro JON BEST, why aren’t
    you trying to OUT Norm and the B Utter Nuts, who block his chances
    to gain Town Committee power and a realistic chance to become Mayor?

    Could it be that many of the bloggers are also in Norm’s pocket, which
    means they are in Burturla’s pocket, which means they are in Dick and
    Jim’s pocket, since I believe they “ALL WORK TOGETHER …” 😦

    Even Jeze believes it, I think?

    I was doin sooo good.
    All Stratford Issues. 8)
    Then I relapse into “possible conspiracy..” 😉

  20. 20 starlooker

    George:

    NOBODY has me in their pockets. I am my OWN person. Do I like what is going on in this Town? NO. It upsets me all the time. When I voiced something to the Mayor I got yelled at and he demanded an apology. Did he get one? NO. Will I ever do that again? NO WAY…. It is pointless and as an educated adult I do not need to be yelled at. Right now we are not 100% sure who is going to be running so I will sit and wait until I know more and this time I will carefully make my decision on the needs of the Town, the good of the Town. I do not belong to D or R party.

  21. 21 jezebel282

    George,

    “Even Jeze believes it, I think?”

    Jeze is much to jaded at this point to believe anything. Straight answers from Mr. Best are few and far between. And he is carrying some very heavy baggage around called “Proto”.

    Gavin Forrester receives far too much pleasure teasing us about his candidacy.

    Dom? Please! Don’t get me started….

    Miron? I don’t think I’ll be supporting Miron.

    Buda? Maybe, but Diane (bless her heart) has a lot of rigid ideas I cannot support.

    George Mulligan? If George would stay on his meds there is a possibility.

    Sorry, George, I have not seen any candidate for mayor (potential or otherwise) that I can support at the moment. Except for Pat Sperling, that is.

  22. 22 sudds

    Umm Jez… you’re forgetting someone…

    Have you forgotten that Rocki (a) has never lied, (b) HATES lawyers, (c) is actually a declared candidate, (d) is in no one’s pocket, and (e) has a plan to have the Shakespeare Theatre open in under 12 months!?!?!?

  23. 23 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    A. I think you have to be at least 18.
    B. What is Rocki’s incentive to reopen the theater? It is already a giant personal litter box.
    C. Will they accept a paw print in lieu of a signature on the campaign forms?
    D. Rocki might not be in someone’s pocket but what about laps?
    E. Will Rocki hire any dogs?

    Although, I must say, Rocki should have a fairly good rapport with the pussies on the Council.

  24. 24 rocki4mayor

    A. I am

    B. Since none of you people’s lame a$$ ideas seem to be working… I thought I’d go with one that actually has potential (I know it’s a new word for most Stratfordites… look it up)… something like $22 BILLION (yes, that’s billion with a B) of potential!!!

    C. With Dick Miron as Registrar? Yep!!!

    D. Scr*w that… with my $1,000,000 secure bunker in town hall I won’t need your laps!

    E. Of course I will… someone’s gotta be stupid enough to run after the drug dealer with a gun!!!

    PS… http://rocki4mayor.wordpress.com/2008/07/22/ding-ding-ding-lets-get-it-on/

  25. 25 1george1

    Jeze,
    Thank you for the conditional support.
    Rocki is looking better and better.

  26. 26 1george1

    Looks like I got Starlooker’s attention and STRONG reaction.

  27. 27 rocki4mayor

    Thanks George!

    Luckily for you I have a great deal of respect for what you try to do for this town!

    If you could only learn to lay off the CIA/FBI/alienanal-probe paths during the course of writing your e-mails I could possbly back your campaign for Council whole-heartedly in 2009 (you wouldn’t be dumb enough to try and run against me for mayor, right?) 😆

  28. 28 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    I have a secret plan for that theater:

    Let’s just keep picking developers with no money. In other 5 or 6 years the damn thing will just collapse by itself. You can’t argue with entropy or gravity.

  29. 29 rocki4mayor

    While quite comical 😆 …I find your secret plan disheartening!!!

    Apperantly you would rather see a rotting decripit building that USED TO hold wonderful performances… instead a vibrant theatre providing a resource for our school children as well as attracting individuals from outside of Stratford to our wonderful town!!!

    So much for your love of the town… how long until you have a “Miron ’09” sign on your front lawn???

  30. 30 jezebel282

    Rocki,

    “I find your secret plan disheartening!!!”

    I learned it from your heartless campaign manager.

    “how long until you have a “Miron ‘09″ sign on your front lawn???”

    I’m checking my calendar. I can’t seem to find the date that Hell is scheduled to freeze over.

  31. 31 1george1

    Rocki,

    I placed a piggy back bug in room 217, attached to Miron’s bug of the room. 🙂

    They are feeding catnip to some rats and plan to let them loose in SUDDS home.
    They intend to get you all doped up and catch you in a compromising condition
    with some real DOGS…ugh! 8)

    Oh, Rocki,
    I guess Jeze does not understand the origin of Global warming….? 😉

  32. 32 freedomofspeach

    OMG this is not a sale to the Feds, its a option flip to a ‘Non Profit” as a middle man.

    WTF??? Why would Stratford even think about enering in to this sort of thrid party, not a govt agency agreement???? IF YOUR GOING TO SELL IT WHY WOULD YOU DEAL WITH THEM RATHER THAN THE GOVT AGENCY????

    Whos getting paid off on this one? Is BM&D doing work for these guys???

    TC GET OFF YOUR A@@es and kill this now. Its a land deal with a “non profit” developer to be the middleman and make money!!!

    HELLO IS ANYONE HOME !!!!!!!! God I think you need to have drug tests for the TC.

    Going to my happy place now…………in for 4 counts…..hold for 4 counts…

  33. 33 freedomofspeach

    Sorry posted on the wrong thread…..will repost


Leave a Reply

