Fair and Balanced Journalism In Stratford

07Jul08

Did you ever wonder why the Star never published anything negative about Mayor Moron?

Good morning,
I am pleased to announce that Linda Goodman has joined the Town of Stratford
as an Assistant to the Mayor.
Prior to joining my office, Linda served as the editor of the Stratford
Star. Prior to the Star, Linda was the managing editor of the Darien
News-Review.
Linda will assume Gina’s responsibilities and other assignments in my
office. Gina will be taking over the railroad clerk/administrator position.
Ashley will continue in her role as Assistant to the Mayor and will now be
handling my schedule. Please contact Ashley with all event and meeting
requests.
Heather will continue in her role as Assistant to the Mayor.
I hope you will all join me in welcoming Linda.
Please contact me should you have any questions.
Sincerely,
James R. Miron, Mayor
Town of Stratford
2725 Main Street
Stratford, CT 06615
Telephone: (203) 385-4001
Facsimile: (203) 385-4108
E-Mail: mayor@townofstratford.com
http://www.townofstratford.com

Now we have three assistants to our busy mayor! Gina, on the other hand, has been banished to the shack at the railroad station. Don’t forget to wave to Gina as you get on the train.
Makes you kinda sick, doesn’t it?
(Too bad, Mr. Weizel. If you would only shave your legs…..)
77 Responses to “Fair and Balanced Journalism In Stratford”

  1. 1 mikereynolds

    Wow, I actually felt dirty after reading that.

  2. 2 jezebel282

    Mike,

    I hear that spreading a newspaper on the floor helps. Might I suggest the Stratford Star?

  3. Kinda funny ~ there was never any posting on the Human Resources site for this position. Just created out of the blue? I thought all job openings were supposed to be posted????

  4. 4 jezebel282

    PCS,

    I’m sure there was an extensive candidate search, interview process and background check.

    But, hey, you know there is absolutely nothing wrong with an “at will” policy or the lack of council oversight for hiring/firing. After all we must have a strong mayor, you know. How can he be expected to get anything done with only two assistants? The wise people on the CRC and the Council think this is the best way to run the Town. So it must be true.

    I’ll bet Gina is all in favor of an at will policy now. According to Miron, she is “fine with that”. She’ll be smiling in that hot little concrete box by the RR tracks as she tries to explain to daily parking commuters why there are no spaces left. Can’t wait to see how happy she will be all by herself in that unheated box in February.

    (She must have really pissed Ashley off).

  5. Jez ~

    I’ve been checking the Town’s HR website for the last few months – at least once or twice a week. You know, to keep up on current events and such….LOL There has NEVER been a posting for an additional assistant position, never been a posting for the railroad position. There is also no posting for Maureen’s position – administrative assistant to the CAO (and Mayor, of course).

    According to the spreadsheet of employees (updated in 10/2007), Gina Connor was listed as “executive assistant to the mayor – temp.”

    I just also sent Miron an e-mail. It’s just come to light that there has been vandalism to cars at the station. Cars have been “keyed” on the trunks. Most of the cars it has happened to (including mine) park on the eastbound side near the shack. I bet if the guard had been where he/she was supposed to be – in, around or near the GUARD shack, the vandal may have been deterred. But hey, we need a welcome center, commuter customer service representative or something there, right? It’s the most asinine thing Miron’s thought of yet.

    There’s really no “commuters” between 8:30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Those are the non-peak hours. The only day which may see more traffic is Wednesday (Broadway matinee day), and maybe a little more in the summer for trips into NYC by vacationing families, but it’s nothing that would warrant a full-time service type employee at the RR station. It’s just more of our tax dollars being wasted by someone who needs his ego stroked.

    I was also appalled that he utilizes the vehicle provided to him for personal use. I just don’t think he should be driving around – on non-Town business – and we should be paying for the gas, etc., because I’m sure he gets reimbursed, right? His car was parked this weekend at his mother’s house. Doesn’t he have a vehicle of his own for personal trips? Town-provided vehicles should be limited to use for town business only. It reminds me – wasn’t Gavin supposed to provide a list of all of the cars and employees who have Town provided vehicles?

  6. Can you tell just how flippin’ disgusted I am with this whole system these days? I can’t wait until the day that the name Miron isn’t associated with Stratford politics.

  7. 7 jezebel282

    PCS,

    “Can you tell just how flippin’ disgusted I am with this whole system these days?”

    Just a tad.

    You do know that Judy Heigel (Miron fired her 2 years ago) made $7/hour part time as the RR clerk? Now it will only cost us $17/hour full time with full benefits.

    I believe Gina is a single mom, so instead of Vinnie at the station, we’ll have Gina to chase away the vandals and deal with irate commuters. I truly hope that Miron doesn’t make her accept cash from the daily parking. It would simply be to dangerous for her to keep cash in that little hut.

  8. Hey Sudds….where do I sign???? ;>D

  9. 9 1george1

    Sunday I posted about the Mayor’s new hire, as a rumor

    Monday I confirmed it with Rich WeiZel.
    Once I had confirmation. I posted the name of the new hire.
    I also posted a conversation with Rich about his “It’s a wonderful life”
    comparison of his Mr. Potter moment, when offered a job by M. Miron.

    I guess not everyone has a sense of self esteem. If Rich had been offered
    a full time gig with 100 % paid Health Benefits for himself and his family,
    plus Pension, etc. It may have made for a much tougher decision?

    Tuesday we have blog confirmation. As, I turned on my computer, I also
    turned on the Air Conditioning. When I collected signatures at the train
    station in my run for Mayor, I got a significant sun burn and suffered heat
    prostration. I wonder about the health of those in a guard shack?

    PCS posted about the possibility of Gina dealing with Cash and potential
    safety issue about a woman being robbbed.

    PCS also raises the financial aspects of the transactions.

    Then Jeze, raised the issue initially of the ETHICS and appearances of a
    Journalist working for the Town? But then the Mayor is an Attorney and
    Attorneys have the Ethics Codes of the Bar, U. S. Code, State Ethics,
    Town Ethics, and we know Attorneys are honorable people…

  10. 10 sudds

    “Hey Sudds….where do I sign???? ;>D”

    Woohoo… I’ll try to ge the form asap!!!

  11. 11 sudds

    Soooooooo….

    Gina is a single mom… and she has now job where (a) no one will actually be around during her working hours and (b) she has a built-in excuse (sorry… I had to run out to use the bathroom) for not being around???

    Am I the only one thinking that maybe it’s not what she did wrong… but what she did RIGHT???

  12. 12 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    Yes. You ARE the only one thinking of that. You might be the most unsympathetic person I’ve ever read.

    “(a) no one will actually be around during her working hours and”

    Except anyone who goes to the train station.

    “(b) she has a built-in excuse (sorry… I had to run out to use the bathroom) for not being around???”

    I guarantee Miron will put a phone in there. No heat or air conditioning, but I’ll bet there will be a phone.

    And let’s not forget Ms. Goodman. What with Heather being the “acting” grants writer (has she written her first grant yet?) and Ashley in school, I’m sure there will be plenty for Ms. Goodman to do.

  13. 13 sudds

    “You might be the most unsympathetic person I’ve ever read.”

    I prefer the term “realist”

    “Except anyone who goes to the train station”

    How many people go to the train station between 8:30 and 5:00???

    “I guarantee Miron will put a phone in there”

    How about “Sorry I missed your call Mr. Miron, but… I was out ticketing cars without a parking sticker” or “I had to run to the restroom” or “I took an early/late lunch” or…

    “No heat or air conditioning, but I’ll bet there will be a phone”

    Even more reason to “disappear”, no?

    Again Jez… the term I prefer is REALIST!!!

  14. 14 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    I did have another term, but the spam blocker won’t let me post it.

  15. 15 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    I’m not sure which is worse….making a secretary sit in a little hot brick shack all day or creating a no show job.

  16. 16 sudds

    “I did have another term, but the spam blocker won’t let me post it.”

    I luv ya too! 😛

    “I’m not sure which is worse….making a secretary sit in a little hot brick shack all day or creating a no show job.”

    Depends upon who you’re asking… to me the latter is worse!!!

  17. First, for clarification purposes, the security guard is supposed to walk around the lots and make sure all cars parked in permit spots have permits and, if not, ticket the vehicles. He or she should also be VISIBLE. The parking lots on the westbound side in the a.m. (before an 8:30 start time for any customer service employee) and the eastbound side in the p.m. are a mess (starting with the train arriving at 5 p.m. – after any customer service employee’s day ends). It’s chaos! I know that several complaints have been made and something needs to be done before there is a serious problem. I’ve been commuting for 12 years and never have I seen the problems that exist now – since the security company was changed. There weren’t nearly as many problems when the other security company handled security at the station as there are now.

  18. 18 jezebel282

    PCS,

    I know what this answer is going to be…but I’m going to ask it anyway.

    If YOU were mayor, do you think for the $37,000/year plus full benefits that we will pay Gina to sit in the shack you would hire Vinnie (the former security guard) instead?

  19. Jez ~

    Absolutely – but not at $37,000. Since, with Vinny, we’d be able to get rid of the flunkie security company we have right now (at a cost of about $65,000). Vinny was probably making about $45,000 when the company was changed and that was a couple years ago, so he’d have to make at least $50-55K, plus benefits. It would still be saving the town about $50,000, so it’s a win-win situation.

  20. 20 jezebel282

    PCS,

    I kinda figured that.

    Unfortunately I don’t think Vinny made that much. The company he worked for skimmed quite a bit and he had no benefits.

    But thinking the way Sudds would….Vinny would have a brand new guard shack! The wind would hardly blow through it like the old one. He would freeze much more slowly now. That’s gotta be worth $10K?

    Right, Sudds?

    (I totally agree with you, PCS)

  21. Jez ~

    I figured the company skimmed a bit too. It really stinks that we went from a company with an employee who did his job to a company with employees who are barely visible.

    I am just so disgusted with the antics in Town Hall I’ve been trying not to think about it too much. Now, Miron wants to shaft us more before he’s voted out by a revaluation of our properties. He’s just one big joke and he’s causing lots of “for sale” signs all around town. According to Realtor.com, there’s 674 properties for sale. That doesn’t include all the “for sale by owner” properties or foreclosures.

    Our next area of concentration should be getting someone other than Miron elected as the next mayor. I’d love to have a crystal ball and know what that ballot is going to look like so I can do my homework and make the best pick – and fight for that person to get in (democrat, republican or independent). The best man/woman for the job!

  22. 23 sudds

    “But thinking the way Sudds would….Vinny would have a brand new guard shack! The wind would hardly blow through it like the old one. He would freeze much more slowly now. That’s gotta be worth $10K?”

    Well he WOULD freeze much more slowly… wouldn’t he??? 😛

    But seriously… once again you have either (a) SOOOOOO missed my point or (b) are twisting things to make your case!!!

    I agree with PCS that the traffic situation is AWFUL!!! Personally I think it has gotten WORSE since they installed those two assinine traffic lights… now it takes someone wanting to turn-left/go-straight a good 3/4 minutes at times!!! Not to mention backing up traffic in the center of town!!!

    I say (1) bring back the light, (2) make the exits from the train station RIGHT TURN ONLY, and (3) have left turn lane (so people can turn around via town hall… the road is certainly wide enough) up the road a bit on Main Street! $5 says that alleviates the problem overnight!!!

    As for security… call me sexist (like that’s never been done before) but I’d much rather have Vinny strolling around in a security guard outfit than Gina strolling around in a “Hello: my name is:” sticker!!!

    PS… where in the release does it say that she’ll even be in the “shack”??? Could it be that we’ll have NO ONE there all day???

  23. 24 sudds

    Oops… (1) above should read “bring back the stop signs” (not light)

  24. 25 1george1

    ditto

  25. Sudds ~

    There were no stop signs on Main Street. It was only exiting the train station. I was one of the people who fought for the lights. Mark Barnhart had purchased those awful plastic crosswalk signs which were almost immediately destroyed. Pedestrians crossing Main Street were nearly killed on a daily basis. I can’t tell you how many times I’d seen a pedestrian nearly hit. Drivers were exceeding the speed limit by 20 MPH through that area. Once in a while we had police presence – usually around Christmas – ticketing drivers who didn’t stop for a pedestrian in the crosswalk. If, as you suggest, the lights are replaced with stop signs, it would have to be a four-way stop, not just out of the parking lot.

    Seriously – the congestion in the afternoon has gotten extremely bad and out of control – there’s no directly and people just stop and park anywhere to wait for and pick up people. There should be a passenger pick-up location – maybe on the coffee shop side.

    Antoher alternative would be to also have an exit out of the back of the lot – through the Stratford Square parking lot.

  26. 27 sudds

    HOLY SHNIKEES!!! Did I just get a ditto from George??? 😀

  27. 28 sudds

    PCS… so it’s YOU that I have to blame for those @#$%ing lights!?!?!?! So much for my support of your campaign!!! 😛

  28. 29 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    I’m not trying to twist your words. I’m thinking heartlessly like you’ve been doing lately (what did you do with the good Sudds, PCS?).

    When Maureen refused to sit in the shack he fired her. Now Gina is (I believe) a single mom in the middle of a bad recession. She probably needs the paycheck and benefits. Not that that matters to you, Sudds. She’ll sit anywhere. Until she finds another job indoors, that is.

    As for the congestion, it’s a commuter train station. There will ALWAYS be congestion during drive times until there is another way out. Maybe that will come with the canopy or parking garage. If you click your heels 3 times….

    Stratford is not crime ridden. I really don’t see a problem with 1 policeman directing traffic for a few minutes each time a train arrives packed with commuters. There aren’t THAT many trains.

  29. 30 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    “PS… where in the release does it say that she’ll even be in the “shack”??? Could it be that we’ll have NO ONE there all day???”

    Release? What release? That was a Miron email. He probably only wrote it so people would stop asking for Gina.

  30. Jez ~

    That was a suggestion and hopefully we’ll have a visit from Lt. Salik at one of the commuter advisory meetings soon. I’m sure the claim will be that they don’t have the manpower to have a cop at the station during the peak arrivals – it would probably be a 2 to 2.5 hour thing in the afternoon (from maybe 4:30 to 7:00 p.m.). The first heavy commuter train arrives at 5 p.m. and it pretty much goes to about 6:30 heavy. I think it becomes a little less congested anything after that, although there’s still quite a few.

    There’s at least 11 trains arriving between 5:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. with starts at GCT; most of which stop in Greenwich, Stamford and South Norwalk and Westport and pick up additional people who probably travel to Stratford. Not sure if this schedule included the SLE train which stops in Stratford. Not that it matters much, but there’ve been counters on the trains lately and they’ve been monitoring how many passengers enter and exit at each station.

    I agree – it’s a train station and there will always be traffic and congestion; however, people can’t pull in and stop or block the entrances, exits and cars trying to exit the way they have been every day. The situation is getting extremely dangerous and if we’re paying $60K+ for a security guard, he should be doing something other than sitting in a car.

  31. 32 jezebel282

    PCS,

    I’m sure the Stratford PD has a rookie they can make available. If they can’t think of one, I certainly can.

  32. 33 sudds

    “I’m sure the Stratford PD has a rookie they can make available. If they can’t think of one, I certainly can.”

    LOL… ok… now THAT was funny!!!!

  33. Maybe they can have a Stratford PD substation located in the little shack – then they can get rid of the security guard, the customer service rep and not worry about traffic control – it’ll all be on-site. They’re already on the payroll – it would eliminate that $100K.

  34. 35 sudds

    But then who would park their car in front of the strip mall next to Chase Bank and take a nap???

  35. 36 1george1

    Maybe they can hire a couple of those School Crossing Guards
    to work a little early am and early night duty?

    It is NOT like Stratford LACKS for Senior citizens or people who
    need revenue?

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Since Stratford Police are mandated to have 8 patrol cars on the
    road at all times, perhaps it could be arranged for 1 patrol car’s
    patrol area to be South of the RR Tracks and 1 patrol car’s area
    to be North of the RR Tracks

    And since there can be unique scheduling, maybe one shift can
    end about 10 am, and another to end about 7 pm, with other
    shifts to begin at 6 am and 4 pm?

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Maybe the Center will FLOOD again and the police Boat can be
    used for Traffic Control?

  36. 37 jezebel282

    Sigh…none of this is rocket science.

    The Town could ask the “security” company we already pay to direct traffic in and out of the station.

    We could have a real cop there for two hours to direct traffic in and out in 10 minute spurts.

    We could hire a part time traffic “agent” (George’s senior citizen idea) to do it.

    But the first thing we’d have to do is get Miron/Buturla to actually care about Stratford citizens. THAT is nearly impossible.

    We have hundreds of citizens each day that get up at an ungodly hour, make their way to the station in all kinds of weather, fight for a place to park, walk (sometimes 1/4 mile or more), stand in the elements on an uncovered platform, then commute anywhere from 45 to 90 minutes on a crowded expensive train till FINALLY they get to their actual job. Then after working all day, do the same thing in reverse. Every single day.

    Why? Because they live in Stratford and want to raise their families here. That is dedication.

    Does this Mayor care?

    You betcha! He’s going to put a Customer Service person in a little guard shack that none of the commuters will ever see. And how will she be paid? Out of the revenue generated by commuter parking fees of course.

    Now that is caring!

  37. Jez ~

    Well, I was wrong – the shack does have an HVAC system – I saw the unit behind the building last night; but does not have a potty. I guess, the employee will have a key to the museum and be able to let herself in and out (when necessary).

    So, when the next mayor finds how unnecessary this employee is, can it be returned to a guard shack?

  38. 39 jezebel282

    Pat,

    When you run for mayor (and get elected) I’m sure you’ll hire a real guard. Named Vinny?

    HVAC? Now I’m thinking Sudds may be right after all. It’s just another no-show job. Only it’s paid for by the commuters.

  39. 40 sudds

    “Now I’m thinking Sudds may be right after all.”

    Hello Satan… is it getting cold down there??? 😛

  40. 41 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    Even you can be right…sometimes.

  41. Jeze ~

    I wouldn’t say what we have isn’t a real security guard. I’m sure they’d be perfectly fine sitting behind a desk in an office building, but they’re just not cutting it at the train station. I’m not sure what he/she does every day or what their “responsibilities” at the train station are. I certainly don’t feel “secure” or “guarded” at the train station – quite the opposite.

    The Mayor, CAO, or any other employee in his administration, along with the Town Council really can’t make good and well thought out decisions for the train station having never been commuters or dealt with any of this first hand. As far as I’m concerned, they’re clueless and putting Gina – who, again, has probably never been a rail commuter in a shack to deal with the commuter issues is a joke.

  42. 43 jezebel282

    Pat,

    You’re right again. When Miron has to go to Manhattan, he takes a helicopter (and bills us).

  43. 44 jezebel282

    Pat,

    You’re right again. When Miron has to go to Manhattan, he takes a helicopter (and bills us).

    “they’re clueless and putting Gina – who, again, has probably never been a rail commuter in a shack to deal with the commuter issues is a joke.”

    Not really. By firing Maureen and moving Gina to the station, Miron cleared about $85,000+ plus benefits from his staff budget. That allows him to have three (count ’em, 3!) mayoral “assistants”. With change left over to hire a clerk to type that Ashley can abuse. Plus he’s moving more long time employees out of Town Hall (names you haven’t heard yet).

    You think he’s not going to run again? You ain’t heard spin yet.

    In the meantime the testosterone-free Council will vote on a new Charter leaving everything as is. They’ll probably vote to increase the Mayor’s salary next year too.

  44. I thought the mayor’s salary couldn’t be adjusted until the next run?

    We know he’s going to run again and we should be gearing up to make as much noise as possible one promising candidate. I hear “VOTE FOR JEZEBEL” bumper stickers are being printed now…. :>D

  45. 46 jezebel282

    Gulp!

  46. 47 jezebel282

    “I thought the mayor’s salary couldn’t be adjusted until the next run?”

    They will vote next year to bump the salary to about $125-130K effective Dec 2009.

  47. 48 jezebel282

    More Fair and Balanced Journalism!

    Read very, very carefully. Well, not that carefully. Not a single mention that former editor, Linda Goodman, now must approve all copy before being published in The Star. Only now she gets paid by Stratford Taxpayers. Maybe it should be called The Stratford Izvestia?

    Perhaps the Star’s management doesn’t know that she’s the mayor’s new assistant?

    I think we should follow good ole Fred Musante’s advice and save a tree and cancel our subscriptions. If I need to read Miron propaganda, I can go to the Town’s website. I don’t need it mailed to my house.

    You read it in the Star:

    Star names new editor
    Written by John Kovach
    Thursday, July 10, 2008

    John Kovach has been named editor of The Stratford Star.

    A journalist with nearly 15 years of experience with Hersam Acorn Newspapers, he served as editor of the New Canaan Advertiser from September 1997 until last week.

    “I look forward to growing a true community newspaper, that covers its residents from their births through the rest of their lives,” Kovach said. “I’ve immediately begun to reach out to groups and organizations to help promote and cover the events that weave into the tapestry that is Stratford.”

    “We are thrilled to have John as editor of the Star,” said Thomas Nash, publisher of Hersam Acorn Newspapers. “John’s experience, expertise and enthusiasm for the job will translate into a better newspaper than ever.”

    Kovach joined Hersam Publishing in October 1993 as the first assistant editor of The Darien Times when that publication was launched. Hersam Publications merged with Acorn Press to form Hersam Acorn Newspapers in September 1997, and the company purchased Hometown Publications, the Star’s former parent company, in August 2007.

    Martin V. Hersam, chief operating officer of Hersam Acorn Newspapers, praised Kovach’s longtime contributions to the company.

    “John is an excellent newspaper editor who has worked tirelessly for his readers, the paper and his staff,” Hersam said. “He has worked through some of New Canaan’s most interesting and challenging times — making sure that the breadth and balance of the Advertiser’s coverage was second to none.”

    Kovach, a Fairfield resident, is an emergency medical technician with the New Canaan Volunteer Ambulance Corps. He also is a member of New Canaan’s Community Emergency Response Team.

    From March 1988 to October 1993, Kovach was a sports writer at The Hour in Norwalk. From July 1987 to March 1988, he was sports editor of the Darien News-Review

    A 1987 graduate of the University of Bridgeport, he won that year’s Society of Professional Journalists/SDX Journalism Student of the Year Award.

    While at the University of Bridgeport, he served as editor of the Scribe, the student newspaper, as a sophomore. During his junior and senior years, he served as sports director of WPKN Radio and was a play-by-play announcer for UB men’s and women’s basketball. In 1988, he was honored as the Associated Press “College and Non-Commerical Sports Announcers of the Year.”

    A native of Budd Lake, N.J., he is a 1983 graduate of Mt. Olive High School.

    Kovach is being replaced as editor of the New Canaan Advertiser by Laura Kenyon, who had served as assistant editor and worked at the Advertiser since 2005.

  48. 49 sudds

    Umm…. huh???

    I don’t get the correlation at all. (other than the fact that you’re still p/o’d that Mrs. Blumstein got sh*t-canned, and so now EVERYTHING has to somehow relate to the Mayoral Asst positions) I think you may have just made LESS sense than some of George’s infamous ramblings!!!

    PS… anyone else find it weird that the guy wrote a press release about HIMSELF???

  49. 50 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    Maybe I should have said read very, very carefully. The POINT, for those of you unable to follow, is that for 2.5 years now Mayor Moron has had a “special” relationship with the Star. Now it is even more “special”.

    On it’s face, it represents inadequate journalism. Even worse, it provides a medium into the majority of Stratford’s households for free every Thursday. This is blatantly unfair to anyone that chooses to run against this mayor.

    “(other than the fact that you’re still p/o’d that Mrs. Blumstein got sh*t-canned, and so now EVERYTHING has to somehow relate to the Mayoral Asst positions)”

    How does this come up so often? You can’t still be buying into the Mironista’s crap, can you Sudds? Ms. Blumstein was only one of 38 employees. Which reminds me. I had to add a new category to my list.

    Fired:

    Ben Branyan
    Judy Heigel
    Pat Blumstein
    Al Dubois
    Elaine O’Keefe
    Mary Tiernan
    Eileen Murphey
    Diane Toolan
    Pat Naylor
    Sue Nicholson
    Brian Thomas
    John Carroll
    Steven Danzer
    Ken Kellogg
    Beth Stremple
    Patrice Sulik
    Len Buehler
    Kim Correia
    Diane Maurice
    Maureen Kendrick

    Retired (with pot o’ gold)

    Ron Natrass
    Mike Imbro
    Pat Ulatowski
    Mark DeLieto
    David Evans
    Tom Rodia
    Robert Skrutsky
    Richard Yeomans
    Chris Marino

    Quit:
    Mark Haddad
    Marilyn Flores
    Kent Miller (Fired, rehired, quit)
    Angelo Stavola
    Tina Burgett
    Sean Farmer

    Banished from Town Hall

    Gina Connor
    Duncan Yetman
    Linda Domenic

    Sudds, You can’t see anything amiss with the Star’s reporting? Their Editor just left and took a job with Mayor Moron. Not news?

    And do I have a problem with three (count ’em, 3!) mayoral assistants costing at least $165,000 plus benefits/year? Don’t you?

  50. 51 1george1

    anyone else find it weird that the guy wrote a press release about HIMSELF???

    SUDDS
    1) Might be the only time he knows the subject matter.
    2) I lost this post
    3) His multiple personalities of writing about himself in the 3rd person is better
    than Fred’s grumpy personality or lack of personality by Linda?
    4) 1987 graduate of the University of Bridgeport, he won that year’s Society of Professional Journalists/SDX Journalism Student of the Year Award
    > what year did Robert Berchem become a member of U. B. Board of Directors
    along with CT. POST’S Robert Laska?

  51. 52 1george1

    Not a single mention that former editor, Linda Goodman, now must
    approve all copy before being published in The Star.

    1) Isn’t that newsworthy, to at least mention the FACTS?
    2) Are there past potential conflicts of interest due to professional and
    personal relationships – AKA QUID pro QUO?
    3) Are there future potential conflicts of interest due to professional and
    personal relationships – AKA QUID pro QUO?

    “Only now she gets paid by Stratford Taxpayers.
    Maybe it should be called The Stratford Izvestia?”

    I know the USSR newspaer PRAVDA translates to “The TRUTH.”
    What does Izvestia translate to?
    FOX NEWS ?
    Home of OLLIE NORTH – I ran conn T RA.

    What is the MAIN Source of NEWS and TOPIC of the
    NEWS of the STRATFORD STAR?
    Would it be the TOWN of STRATFORD, including the
    Bored of Edukation?
    If the FOR TH E state is printing formula pro-pagan-da
    of the Government’s liaison, who was THE KEY former
    reporter / editor for 2 years, what is the
    appearance?
    ramifications?

  52. 53 1george1

    Oh,

    1) I reported Miron tried to hire Weizel – goes to pattern.

    2) I had to reblog 4 times. It kept kicking off my post.
    Could it be my mentioning OlLIE North, FOX NEWS, NSC?

  53. 54 jezebel282

    George,

    Thank you!

    Although, I have to admit, it makes me a little nervous that you are the only one who understands my point.

  54. 55 sudds

    Ummm… but wouldn’t Miron’s “special” relationship with the Star get worse (and not better) with his favorite editor no longer there???

    Her influence over the paper all but disappeared when she walked out the door, no???

    PS… I keep mentioning Blumstein because (a) it’s obviously an exposed nerve of yours and (b) everyone is pretty much convinced that your her husband… so it makes it that much more fun for me!!! 😈

  55. 56 sudds

    “Not a single mention that former editor, Linda Goodman, now must
    approve all copy before being published in The Star.”

    Isn’t it common practice (at least I hope it is) that someone is responsible for proofing releases before they go to the press???

    It’s not like she has any control any more over what the reporters dig-up/print (lol… assuming that they actually try) on their own!!!

  56. 57 sudds

    “I had to reblog 4 times. It kept kicking off my post.”

    D*mn that George Bush and his post-9/11 CIA!!! 😛

  57. Jezebel is the most knowledgeable person about our government’s current status and has the best plan for advancing our community. I’m glad the bumper stickers are being printed and I hope they will soon be offered for sale to the general public.

    Jezebel does the homework necessary to expose the problems and certainly presents sensible solutions. Jezebel knows all about business plans and budgets. Jezebel cares about town employees and their benefits. Jezebel would only hire the best qualified people to run the town. Jezebel will be accountable and actually show up for work every day and would be accessible to the public and to the employees. Jezebel has a heart. Jezebel is not vindictive. Jezebel is intelligent. Jezibel has a family. The family is honorable. Jezebel cares about the family. Jezebel is not greedy. Jezebel can write and speak intelligently. Jezebel loves Stratford. Jezebel is not greedy. Jezebel believes in hard work. Jezebel is not a politician. Jezebel has never sought elected office. Jezebel has a heart of gold.

    Yes, Pat, Jezebel should consider making a run for mayor. Stratford needs a Jezebel, now more than ever. No one will do a better job.

  58. 59 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    A. Now Miron has control over what the Star prints (since Ms. Goodman will probably be writing it, or editing it, for Mr. Kovach). I can’t wait to see how much fun Rich Weizel will have dealing with Ms. Goodman.

    B. Only the Mironistas believe that. It’s is easier for them to slap a label on somebody than deal with the truth. They attempted that with Pat Naylor. I am simple taxpayer and voter that has watched good and honorable people disappear for no reason at all. I’ve watched my taxes go up 21% in two years. I watched our infrastructure deteriorate. I’ve watched people become wealthy at our expense. I’ve watched our Council sit idly by while all of this was going on.

    Sudds,

    As far as I can tell, the only ones to speak out against this are Rich Weizel and avatars named Jezebel and Cyclops, Pat Sperling and George Mulligan. Even your buddy Booth has remained completely silent.

  59. 60 jezebel282

    Cyclops,

    Thanks….I’ll give you that $5 when I see you next time.

    😉

  60. Sudds ~

    I have to agree with Jeze. While Linda Goodman left Hersam-Acorn and is now working for Stratford, she’s in a good position to feed the paper only what they want seen and, since it’s a free, delivered, local weekly paper, there’s tons of residents who get it. Unfortunately, there are people clueless enough to believe what the secure bunker will, no doubt, be releasing. Everything will have a positive Miron spin. It’s dirty pool right out of the gate for the next election.

    Let the games begin!

  61. 62 sudds

    “Even your buddy Booth has remained completely silent.”

    Don’t blame Booth (what can he do?)… blame the idiots who voted for Miron… err, I mean Wanamaker!!!

  62. 63 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    “Even your buddy Booth has remained completely silent.”

    Remind me, Sudds, wasn’t he on the CRC? He was exceptionally quiet most of the time. I certainly didn’t seem him in a leadership role. More like a lost boy.

    Where are his letters to the editor about his district? Where are his posts about what Miron is doing? What is his position on anything? Why isn’t he blogging here like Mr. Forrester or Mr. Best?

    “Don’t blame Booth (what can he do?)”

    He could have tried to remove the at will status from the charter or become a champion for creating an independent Town Attorney. If he thinks he will become a community leader, he ought to start practicing how to lead instead of follow.

  63. Jezebel,
    Their is no charge for truth.

  64. 65 jezebel282

    Cyclops,

    Thank you. I should stop blushing in a week or two.

  65. 66 1george1

    Eric & Orlowe gave me some information I requested.
    Fredette & Fahan told me some information I requested.
    Florek tried blowing smoke…
    Karen & Eric asked the most pointed questions.

    Jon’s campaign manager Ben appeared to be lobbying for work for
    Florek / Burturla, as did August (but much less active and less noisy)

    Daponte was invisible and said nothing of substance.
    Actually she probably did the least harm to the town.
    The C. R. C. # 1 & # 2 appear to be autocrats looking to help steal
    the rights of the people.

    Cyclops appears to know Jeze and writes highly of her/him.
    Short sentences. Quisp. The list noted shows priorities of the writer.

    ~~~~~~

    “George,

    Thank you!

    Although, I have to admit, it makes me a little nervous that you
    are the only one who understands my point.”

    Jeze – I simply beat PCS & Cyclops to the point.
    There are only a couple of bloggers writing and SUDDS missed the
    point this time. Maybe SUDDS was hung over. Writing of which …
    from SUDDS:

    “I had to reblog 4 times. It kept kicking off my post.”

    D*mn that George Bush and his post-9/11 CIA!!!

    While SUDDS is mocking my point, why not GOOGLE: IRAQ Oil
    Results:
    IRAQ has the second most OIL reserves in the world with 115 Billion Barrels
    of proven reserves, which is 5 times the proven reserves of the USA.
    TEXAS has over 1,000,000 (1 million) Oil Wells. IRAQ has 2,000 (2 Thousand)

    IRAQ peak OIL export of 3.5 million barrels a day in 1980.
    When OIL was $ 17 a Barrel in 1997, IRAQ exported ONLY 300,000 Barrels
    of OIL a day.

    During the UN OIL for FOOD program in the late 1990s, OIL production
    increased, but completely ended with the invasion of IRAQ.
    The exports have grown with the increase of OIL prices, affected by lower
    than maximum OIL exports from IRAQ.

    June 30 2008 > IRAQ had granted the 6 largest USA Oil companies a NO BID
    Contract to increase production from the 6 major Oil fields. Further there
    shall be development of other fields, with proven and unproven OIL reserves.

    Large Construction Companies like Halliburton (Cheney) and Bechtel (Shultz)
    will be instrumental in building necessary support infrastructure, which can
    include OIL REFINERIES

    ~~~

    Russian Sakhalin oil fields above Japan / Korea are due to come on line
    soon. The Stans have huge proven reserves of oil and are being modernized
    as are fields in the Black Sea and Caspian Sea.

    Exploration continues off the coast of Vietnam, above indonesia oil fields.

    They are even drilling on the old Jed Clampett estate!
    nd probable

  66. 67 1george1

    John McCain wants to offer $ 1 per American $ 300,000,000 for the development
    of an electric battery and electric car.

    I guess he & staff have never seen the 2006 movie >
    “Who killed the Electric Car?”

    One charge and a sports car could perform better than many gas cars
    or nearly as well with similar range.

    Since the technology existed in 1996, by now most of the CORPORATE
    FLEETS and Trucking Companies would be electric as well as upscale
    individual. In fact, most of the population would have a new or used
    electric car, since it is almost 13 years since this was found viable.

    Maybe except stratford’s Fire Dept, which would be buying used from
    a certain former Town Councilman?

    And since it is supposed to be a big worry about the massive populations
    of China, India, and Brazil owning automobiles, then maybe their fleets
    would be elecric, the same way the 3rd world is mostly wireless and often
    more modern than the G-8?

    Yet, with higher OIL / GAS production on the world market and lower
    demand for Gasoline due to mostly ELECTRIC VEHICLES and with heating
    of Foreigh and some domestic Buildings from Government subsidized
    SOLAR ENERGY…..

    Maybe there would be less power and money for control by autocrats
    who prefer dictation and dependency?

  67. 68 jezebel282

    George!

    You have your own page for this stuff.

  68. 69 sudds

    Mission accomplished!!! :LOL:

    Just kidding Georgie… you know I luv ya!!

  69. 70 sudds

    Oops… :LOL: should be 😆

  70. 71 1george1

    Jeze,

    I help defend your point to SUDDS.
    I take SUDD’S teasing and run with it.

    You scold me for not confinng myself to quarters.
    SUDDS comes back praising/teasing me with a
    questionably suggestive animated sundot.

    I am soooo confused! 😉

    At least i can count on Mike to be consistent. 🙂

  71. 72 jezebel282

    George,

    Here are some helpful hints:

    1. If you type presidential candidates names
    2. If you mention more than one country
    3. If you cite organizations with 3 letter abbreviations
    4. If you use the word “death”
    5. If you type the word “trilateral” in any other context than describing a triangle.

    Then you probably should be posting it somewhere else.

  72. 73 justanotherreader

    Jez,

    What office did Linda Domenic and Duncan Yetman work in and where were they banished to?

  73. 74 jezebel282

    Just,

    Duncan and Linda worked in Economic Development.

    They are now banished to the Birdseye complex and renamed Community Development. Bruce Allessie is sitting all by himself (for now) in Economic Development. But not to worry…I think he can type with two fingers, maybe three.

    It could be worse, they could have been banished to the guard shack at the RR station. If nobody breathes I’m sure three people could fit.

  74. 75 1george1

    George,

    Here are some helpful hints:

    1. If you type presidential candidates names
    2. If you mention more than one country
    3. If you cite organizations with 3 letter abbreviations
    4. If you use the word “death”
    5. If you type the word “trilateral” in any other context than describing a triangle.

    Then you probably should be posting it somewhere else.

    ——————————————————————————————
    Which of these are appropriate / inappropriate for the GEORGE blog?

    Why were / are people posting under blog names?
    > Is it fear fo reprisal?

    What is there is a direct connection to Stratford Issues like
    > FEDS to AVCO
    > STATE to Shakespeare
    > FEDS / STATE
    – Dumpsites
    – Interstates / State Roads – Rail Roads – Airports
    – ECS and Town Education – Funding / Grants
    – Communicty / Economic Development and Stagnation
    – Town Charter
    – Pensions
    – OVERSIGHT: Town Attorney COSTS, POWERS, and ABUSES

  75. 76 1george1

    Didn’t AVCO and RAYMARK jobs go to another country, like
    IRELAND and INDIANA?

    Does the INTERNATIONAL price of OIL affect Stratford Tax Payers
    and Town / Education COSTS, as well as business of DRESSER /
    ASHCROFT?

    Have there been other JOBS / BUSINESSES outsourced and sent overseas?
    Have these occured in a vacuum or done through mysticism?

    Is the real reason you are uneasy is that you and others are starting
    to understand that hegemonistic and parochial limited views and
    belief system lack the necessary scope to appreciate the seriousness
    of CAUSATION and TRUE NATURE of those you think act in your best
    interests, when in fact you (collectively) act against your own best interests?

  76. 77 jezebel282

    George,

    “Is the real reason you are uneasy is that you and others are starting
    to understand that hegemonistic and parochial limited views and
    belief system lack the necessary scope to appreciate the seriousness
    of CAUSATION and TRUE NATURE of those you think act in your best
    interests, when in fact you (collectively) act against your own best interests?”

    No.

    This blog is divided into articles (subjects) with ample room to comment on each one. I’m only trying to give it some semblance of order.

    I have given you a whole article (subject) in which you can post anything you want.

    People who do not regularly blog here, and there are hundreds of readers, go to an article to read comments about that particular subject. The price of oil or the CIA have nothing to do with the hiring of Linda Goodman, the firing of Maureen Kendrick or the banishment of Gina Connor.

    I’m just asking that you respect the format.

    Please.


Leave a Reply

