Breaking News! Politicians Do Something Good!

08Jul08

With the almost continuous blunders, gaffes, poor decisions and just outrageuos squandering of taxpayer money by Mayor Moron, I thought it might be a refreshing bit of news to congratulate John Harkins and Dan Debicella on a job well done.

Both of these legislators deserve our congratulations and appreciation for doing what they can to protect us from living next to toxic dump.

(You can expect a press release any minute from Mayor Moron claiming it was his idea.)

You read it in the Post (Never in the Star):

Law stops toxic dumps in neighborhoods
RICHARD WEIZEL
Article Last Updated: 07/08/2008 01:07:23 AM EDT
STRATFORD — Gov. M. Jodi Rell came to one of the nation’s largest Superfund sites Monday to sign into law a bill that could derail the federal Environmental Protection Agency’s plans to dig up hazardous waste around town and create dumpsites in residential neighborhoods.The bill, co-sponsored by state Sen. Dan Debicella, R-Shelton, and Rep. John Harkins, R-Stratford, was prompted by a groundswell of protest last year from hundreds of local residents in a grassroots group that became known as “SaveStratford.”

57 Responses to “Breaking News! Politicians Do Something Good!”

  1. Both of these gentlemen go to great lengths for the residents in Stratford. The should definitely be commended for their efforts and follow through!

  2. 2 jezebel282

    PCS,

    I agree. Unfortunately I can’t vote for both, but one of them will have my vote the next time he runs for office.

  3. 3 1george1

    If it were not for Tom Smith and the guerilla actions of save Stratford,
    the political pressure would never have existed.

    If it were not for actions of the RAC, including Paul Rohaly, Charlie
    Peres, Ron Mazzey, and others, Tom and friends would not have had
    the information and situation from which to work.

    If it were not for people like my former neighbors, the Patrikos and
    their friends, the Raymark site may have never become a superfund?

    I raised issues about Ground Water and Toxic Fog (EPA calls it V. O. C.
    Volitile Organic Compounds.) The EPA & RAC placed 108 basement vent
    /alarms as protection against potential down stream danger.

    Jim Mihaley was able to project V.O.C.s into the AVCO Buildings and
    sure enough, it was a real danger, needing those buildings to be torn
    down. Thus it prevented a potential deadly scenario.

    When the EPA held a meeting at Birdseye: RAC, Save Stratford, Lordship
    Residents and others were able to give voice to their issue and to help
    attract political pressure. I knew of a particular handout which had
    every dumpsite and many facts in the 20 – 30 page booklet. It included
    a legend which showed a 250 acre plume of ground water starting at
    the Raybestos softball field (Not the Raybestos Plant site) and affecting
    hundreds of home (including Gavin’s) and businesses.

    Charlie Peres told me the EPA was trying to underplay the ground water
    issue, however my linkage of that to V. O. C.’s helped establish danger
    to the down stream residency, which helped the NIMBY of RAC and Save
    Stratford, about the ambient dangers of the EPA / DEP plans.

    My point. Harkins and Danny D, deserve praise.

    However without community awareness and community activism, Toxins
    can be allowed under ground….or in politics

  4. George ~

    I certainly don’t disagree that there were definitely much community effort. It’s proof of why it’s so important to get involved and not be scared away by the bullies (like Jim Miron).

  5. 5 jezebel282

    It is rare in Stratford that we elect politicians that are responsible and responsive to the citizens.

    While it is true that many many citizens were behind this effort, it is also true that these gentlemen, Debicella and Harkins, managed to convince a majority of the legislature and governor that this was the correct action.

    This is what I mean by leadership. We are so unaccustomed to seeing it, I just felt the need to point it out.

  6. 6 1george1

    Jeze & PCS,

    Danny D has the resume to bigger and better things.
    Harkins, so far, has no interest in the Mayor job.

    I prefer both to Miller.
    Backer does OK, comparatively.

    It is nice to be able to give praise, instead of always gripin.

    However many people seem to put being a D or an R over being for the USA
    at a national level. At local level, even the Town Council gets things right,
    yet not always for the right reasons.

    My blog was less about, lowering praise for Harkins and DD, than about
    putting them in the perspective that a LOT of people, work behind the
    scenes, with NO recognition. I blogged about my time/efforts. On this one
    issue there are people who put in 100 or more times the time/effort than I.

    They are unsung heroes!

    Tip o da hat to PW / HAND / JEZE for opportunity to let off steam and try to
    raise some awareness.

  7. 7 1george1

    Sudds,

    The ditto was was general agreement to everything that was blogged
    since my prior blog.

    While the Traffic lights are a bit of a pain, PCS is correct, in that NO ONE
    would pay much attention to the Stop Signs, depending on location.
    Too many people crossing the street.
    Curves are too sharp.
    Under the RR Bridge is a BIG DIP (NO Jim does not live there) and both the
    Side Road and Parking Lot are an ICE STORM from a fatality.
    Sight lines are actually pretty bad, comparatively.
    Too many idiot drivers in a hurry

    Actually it may be more of a NON disagreement with the themes.

  8. 8 jezebel282

    George,

    No criticism meant.

    It restores hope that citizens and elected officials can work together to make something happen. I think I remember that that is the way it is supposed to work. Debicella and Harkins deserve the credit for taking the citizens’ case to the rest of the legislature and Governor and making it happen.

    It is a singular event in Stratford’s recent history. Usually these deals benefit someone else. It is refreshing to see that not everything in this town is controlled by the Miron’s, Buturla’s or Aldrich’s. or Proto’s.

  9. All ~

    Both Harkins and Debicella are working hard and have their hand in making sure C-DOT and the Town don’t let down the commuters. John Harkins has been at almost every meeting of the advisory committee and has really been an asset to the commuters.

    Jeze must’ve been reading my mind – I would love to see a politician of Harkins’ caliber on the mayoral ballot. It certainly would make a HUGE difference in Stratford! He’s got the kind of heart and soul our Town needs and deserves!

  10. 10 1george1

    As previosly blogged, I believe everything is on a timetable.

    While the Toxin issue is commendable, it is long, long overdue.
    The locals, state and feds caused problems or allowed them
    to happen.
    Other things seem to be “happening” in the near future too!

  11. 11 jezebel282

    George,

    While conspiracies may abound on your timetable, Debicella is a first term legislator. He can hardly have been involved in previous deals. He’s not a member of the RTC and doesn’t even live in Stratford. He just did the right thing. I can’t imagine Doc Gunther doing the same thing without something “in it” for himself. (Nobody would know Louie Burke’s name if it weren’t for Doc Gunther).

    Harkins has always been responsive to his constituents and effective as a leader.

    You just can’t criticize these two men for representing us effectively.

  12. 12 sudds

    Umm… I hate to be the one to break-up the love fest here… but did anyone happen to read the part of the article that says:

    “the federal agency indicated Monday it still has the final say in how remaining Raymark waste is cleaned up, because federal laws supersede state and local legislation.”

    Sorry folks… but this entire dog-and-pony show was nothing more than politics as usual!!!

    At least now I know how Miron got elected… offer up green Kool-Aid (instead of the usual red stuff) and Stratfordites will drink it up by the gallon!!!

  13. 13 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    Politics is politics. If the feds want to violate State law they can take it up with Rosa DeLauro, Chris Dodd and and even Jumping Joe Lieberman.

    The whole town of Stratford, the CT State Legislature and the Governor have just said we don’t want the EPA dumping toxic waste in residential areas.

    I doubt even the EPA would want THAT appearing on the network news. Given that Debicella, Harkins and Rell are Republicans and McCain would like to get one or two votes in Connecticut this November……

  14. 14 freedomofspeach

    I don’t know a lot about this specific issue, just what I have read recently.

    If the Feds want to do it, and there is no formal agreement to manage the Superfund site with the state jointly, then they can. I believe this is a USEPA Superfund action, and if the site that they want to dump waste on is contaminated and under the Federal Action, then they legally can consolidate material on a non-residential site. Plenty of regulatory and case law to support that.

    However, politically it’s always a nightmare. Oh and CT seems to forget they let the Hamden dump sites be consolidated and capped under state law, so I think CT is being a little hypocritical and I am sure EPA will bring that up, in court if they have to.

  15. 15 jezebel282

    Freedom,

    You are probably right (as usual). But like I said. Politics is politics. We already know how politicians can twist and turn the EPA. Just ask Dick Cheney or Christine Whitman.

    Kinda makes you wish we had somebody who could influence the EPA to do the right thing. Like maybe Elaine O’Keefe.

    Oh wait, Miron fired her didn’t he?

  16. Breaking News!

    I am so fortunatate. I have witnessed a miracle. I actually know someone who has received a 9.11% pay increase. She works for Mr. Buturla. She is his legal assistant at Town Hall. Her annual salary is now $58,808. To earn this handsome salary, she merely has to show up for work. Not on a schedule of anykind, mind you. Just show her face in the office. No particular starting time. In addition, she is the secretary (takes the minutes) of most of the committee’s in the town. For this task, she is compensated an additional $100 per committee per meeting. She then transcribes, prepares and does all of the committee associated work during the normal business day. When she completes that task, she then has time to play solidare on the computer waiting for the day to come to an end. Whenever she is bored; she visits her dear friend, the council clerk and they get caught up on “girl dirt.” She tells everyone she has the best deal of all and their is no other legal job like it anywhere else on earth. Oh, did I forget to mention, she has the complete municipal benefits package and is excused from work whenever the roads are icy or snowy.

    A true miracle in deed.

  17. 17 jezebel282

    Cyclops?

    $100 for every committee meeting?

    You know how many committee meetings there are every week? That’s like another $25,000/year! Minimum!

    As Phil Rizzuto would say, “Holy cow!”

  18. Something much stronger than “Holy cow” comes to my mind, but it would definitely can crashed by spam.

  19. 19 jezebel282

    Cyclops,

    Shhh! Whatever you do, don’t tell Sperling. She’ll explode!

  20. Explode! Why am I not surprised that there are employees on Miron’s payroll getting way above cost of living?????

    Just more proof of how f’d up our system is. As I asked Sudds before ….. Where’s the flippin’ paper to sign?

    Town Hall needs a coupon cutter! It’s obvious that this man has no idea how to save or stretch a dollar!

  21. Now, here’s a question to those Miron fans (e.g., Laura): how can any of you out there think that this is right???? Oh, I forgot – most of you are still living at home, with your parents, probably rent-free!

    Get the heck out into the real world, get a mortgage, pay property taxes (not on a depreciating asset like a motor vehicle) and then tell me how much you still love him!

  22. 22 jezebel282

    See?

  23. You know Jeze, I commute by train and have for 11 years, so I’m not really saving too much on gas by any switch there; I keep my heat down (63 degrees, when we’re home; 59-60 degrees when we not or sleeping), I try not overuse my electricity and am making my poor husband sweat his kibbles n’ bits off by not turning on the air conditioning. I’m taxed to death by this f’ing Town and moron of a mayor, my oil will probably be locked in at over $5.00 a gallon; the cost of food is going to increase to cover the gas…..

    I’m cutting out frivoloties for myself (the few that I did enjoy) to make sure I don’t take anything away from my daughter. As far as I’m concerned, it’s all about her.

    I haven’t said much cuz’ I’m really beginning to lose it!

    Then, I have to listen to these yahoos getting crazy raises – THAT I’M PAYING FOR! WTF!

  24. 24 jezebel282

    Pat,

    Except for the train part (I have no idea how you do that every day), that pretty much describes everyone in Stratford.

    With this mayor it has nothing even remotely related to the benefit of taxpayers. It’s just a big pile of money he can use to intimidate, bribe, and leverage more gratification of his huge ego.

  25. Jeze ~

    I know, I’m not alone and I’m preaching to the choir.

    We have a mayor who is divorced (by his choice, according to the court’s records), has no children (that we are publicly aware of). His level of personal responsibilities appear from small. His family morals and values are so out in left field somewhere it scares me.

    I really don’t want to see the next mayoral pool flooded with options because I don’t think I can survive another four years in Mironville!

  26. Pat,

    I am sorry that my breaking news upset you so. But, if it is not exposed, the taxpayers will never know. And, us taxpayers are paying these bills. I have another breaking new story, but I’ll wait, so that your weekend is enjoyable, as it should be.

    I “ditto” all of your comments. But, we have to be careful, the mayor knows what he is doing to preserve his kingdom and the reelection campaign is all he works on. He is plotting out his victory, day-by-day. Never underestimate him.

  27. 27 jezebel282

    Cyclops,

    From my count he has four women in his office (when he shows up) that tell him how wonderful and smart he is. I’ll bet Carol Cabral and Gail Nobili have joined the choir. Now Laura Dobosz is strange…she does it for free. He probably does believe he’s got most of the Town snowed.

    “I have another breaking new story, but I’ll wait, so that your weekend is enjoyable, as it should be.”

    (Shudder)

    Just spill it and get it over with.

  28. 28 1george1

    I agree with cyclops about the plotting and coming election.

    Cyclops, I heard a rumor about you, but I can not tell you what it is…

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    I agree with PCS about everything she blogged.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~`

    I generally disagree with Mike R. He has improved his blogging

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    SUDDS and JEZE are generally argumentative, contrary, and provacative
    JEZE is far more responsive and earnest.
    SUDDS reminds me of a POT HEAD who appears to take very little seriously.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Generally I like Danny D and Harkins.
    DD has the resume for political fast track.
    The powers that are have held things dowm so long that anything he does
    can be magnified, without him knowing he is a vehicle for other peoples’
    plotting and scheming.

    The bosses love having very credibile FRONT people!
    1) The best LIARS always tell the TRUTH.
    2) If they believe what they are saying.
    3) They have NO IDEA the TRUTH they are telling are REALLY LIES!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Q 4 2007 I sought justification of Burturla’s Billing.

    Could that be part of reason for a certain pay raise?

    C. A. O. McCauley has not returned my calls or e-mails for months
    about this issue.

    I would make her the star of this week’s public forumm but I have
    communications to / from Bysewicz & Blumental about the legality
    of the Town Charter, ergo the legality of Burturla’s standing, to
    which the Sec of State and Atty General defer to the interpretation
    about individual Town Charters

    (FOX = HEN HOUSE)

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Freedom

    You can confirm via the Save Stratford Website, how ever,
    the EPA has stated that FEDERAL LAW prohibits them from
    moving ANY of the RAYMARK waste to ANY PLACE which
    does NOT have ANY of the RAYMARK waste.

    My suggestion, based on that position….
    Raymark > Ferry Creek > Housatonic River > L I Sound > Atlantic Ocean

    Put the TOXINS on a TANKER, sufficiently water proofed to keep any
    leakages of 100 years.
    Find a shallow point in the ocean 100 miles offshore & sink the Tanker.

  29. 29 freedomofspeach

    “You can confirm via the Save Stratford Website, how ever,
    the EPA has stated that FEDERAL LAW prohibits them from
    moving ANY of the RAYMARK waste to ANY PLACE which
    does NOT have ANY of the RAYMARK waste.”

    Correct if it is not part of the Federal Superfund Action, meaning it is not contaminated with the waste from the site, it cannot be placed there. However any site that meets the above can be used and the Federal Law is the controlling authority, not any state law. They can also “take” land and place the waste there.

    “Put the TOXINS on a TANKER, sufficiently water proofed to keep any
    leakages of 100 years.
    Find a shallow point in the ocean 100 miles offshore & sink the Tanker”

    Ocean dumping has been banned for many years. Can’t do it. I have ideas on how to deal with this, but EPA does not pay my salary. It can be economically treated via a reduction technology, and then placed at a landfill site, but that would mean spending money and getting approvals from the stakeholders and they just want it to go away.

  30. 30 1george1

    Freedom
    Another legit post.

    Even if it came from the upper class and a lawyer. 🙂

  31. 31 freedomofspeach

    You know not what you speak.

  32. 32 lauradobosz

    “# pcsperling on July 11, 2008 said:
    Explode! Why am I not surprised that there are employees on Miron’s payroll getting way above cost of living?????
    Just more proof of how f’d up our system is. As I asked Sudds before ….. Where’s the flippin’ paper to sign?
    Town Hall needs a coupon cutter! It’s obvious that this man has no idea how to save or stretch a dollar!”

    $50,000-$70,000 (est salaries) is “way above the cost of living in Stratford?” Are you serious, Pat? $50,000 is WAY above the cost of living in this town? For whom?
    What district realistically affords $50,000 as an average? I know mine does not, nor does yours, frankly.

    “# 21 pcsperling on July 11, 2008 said:

    Now, here’s a question to those Miron fans (e.g., Laura): how can any of you out there think that this is right???? Oh, I forgot – most of you are still living at home, with your parents, probably rent-free!

    Get the heck out into the real world, get a mortgage, pay property taxes (not on a depreciating asset like a motor vehicle) and then tell me how much you still love him!”

    Dear Pat;

    I have made every attempt to post here with at least an average amount of class and respect for everyone who posts here. That said, I would like to ask you to kindly refrain from uninformed speculation regarding my financial circumstances. I am a hard working co-business owner and pay my share of town taxes, the mortgage, etc. (not just my car tax, as you “kindly” insinuated..)

    Regarding your notion that one must “get the heck out into the real world and get a mortgage”?

    Several posters here have called for you to run for Mayor in 2009. Regardless of party lines or affiliations, I can assure you that I would most certainly not vote for any politician who thinks that by merely owning a mortgage, one is a member of the “real world”. I do not discredit responsibility but with all due respect, anyone can get a mortgage. It might be difficult, but it is obtainable. True “real world” knowledge? That is something that requires the individual to be open minded and to have at least a slightly creative mind regarding cultural behaviors and lifestyles other than their own. I have not seen a lot of that particular skill in the postings here.

    Families make choices. I made choices to support my family in a time when they needed me. I currently assist with the care-taking for both of my Grandmothers. Both have Alzheimer’s. I have come to understand that the care for an Alz. patient or even one with advanced dementia is just as difficult as caring for a toddler, so I am confident you can relate to my situation. Besides, aren’t family values and hard work things that you, yourself have defined as being a sign of a “good citizen”?

    In any event, I am not a couch potato, living for free off of my family while I build a shrine to Jim Miron in my spare time. Do I respect Jim and the job that he has been doing? You bet! His dedication to Stratford just got my district $200,000 for Booth Park renovations. District 8 will be thanking the Mayor for his efforts, I can assure you of that. I would also mention the currently ongoing Shakespeare Festival that Mayor Miron had worked so hard to present to the town. The New Haven Symphony was at Booth Park this past weekend and now we have two more weekends filled with Shakespearean performances. I am delighted to see the park where I grew up so filled with activity. It is about time.

    So Jeze/Pat/et al, do not continue to call me a “Mironista” because I support our Mayor. I support him because I am smart enough to read between the lines of the Star, the Post and the Bard. I make my own choices and they are not based on what local papers try to spin, nor are my choices based on what one individual or another decides to tell me at any given moment. I attend town meetings and I pay close attention to what is developing in our town. I would ask you to at least respect me enough to acknowledge that while you might disagree with me, I am my own person and I am just as passionate about our town as you are, albeit perhaps, from a different camp.

  33. 33 1george1

    Freedom
    Another legit post.

    Even if it came from the upper class and a lawyer.

    From Freedom:
    You know not what you speak.

    George:
    If your post was a retort:
    1) I typed it. I didn’t speak it.
    2) Did you or did you not blog:
    > A) You are a Lawyer
    > B) You are paid well into 6 figures
    > C) You associated with Wealthy Families at Good Schools,
    and worked with Fraternity brothers to help each other
    advance and prosper (kinda like insider trading?)

    Unless you were knocking my compliment to your good post.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Laura,
    You and PCS have political , personality, and philosophic issues.

    I will agree with you to the extent that
    1) There are people in BOTH PARTIES as BAD or WORSE than JIM MIRON.
    2) They are local and elsewhere.
    3) You have attended some Town Meetings, as have some of the others.
    4) The coverage of the newspapers do not come close to telling the
    whole story, and I am 100 % you know less about much of what goes on
    then I and many others, and I conceed you have legit information too!
    5) Things that are happening are OVERDUE. However, I blame the Mirons,
    Burturlas, Norms and allies for intentionally causing delays!
    6) You have done excellent things for your family and should be given the
    proper respect for the good things you do for them and the Town.
    PCS has also done her FAIR SHARE. Can we start at mutual recognition?

    Laura,
    The Town puts out demographic information in which average, medium, and
    mean income per individual and household are documented.
    However it is NOT documented by District, per your point of your blog.
    It is available, by District with competent responsiveness by Town Community
    and Economic Development, which has been sundered, by Mayor Miron, whose
    C. A.O. McCauley lacks the courtesy, professionalism, and legal obligation to
    return phone calls and e-mails, to provide FOI requested information, which
    shall come to a head in the future, by FOI State PERSONELL.

    I BELIEVE you would find Town Employees PAID well above the MEAN, MEDIUM,
    and AVERAGE INCOMES of INDIVIDUALS in Stratford, with much higher averages
    in parts of NORTH STRATFORD and LORDSHIP.

    The PAY of most employeed people tends to INCLUDE a BENEFIT PACKAGE,
    (IF, IF, IF, they have Benefits) which tend to be about 30 – 40 % of BASE PAY.

    If you take a look at the BUDGETS and AVERAGE the COST, per Employee and
    Retiree, of
    1) Health Benefits
    2) Other Personnel Benefits
    3) Quality of Life costs

    I suspect you will find the Stratford Employee and Retirees gets a BENEFIT
    PACKAGE, which is UNTAXED, which EXCEEDS BASE PAY.

    I know more than I can type, at this time.

    Yet, finding happy Mediums are a necessity.

  34. 34 jezebel282

    Ms. Dobosz,

    Nice twist. You are getting better at this.

    “The New Haven Symphony was at Booth Park this past weekend and now we have two more weekends filled with Shakespearean performances.”

    New Haven Symphony kicks off festival
    RICHARD WEIZEL
    Article Last Updated: 07/10/2008 11:55:04 PM EDT
    Law said when Arts Commission members went before the Town Council in March seeking funds for a third annual Summer Shakespeare Festival at Boothe Park and on the grounds of the Shakespeare Theatre, council members insisted the New Haven Symphony perform as part of the overall $57,000 schedule of activities.

    All Miron all the time in your house? I suppose Sibley Law had nothing to do with the huge effort that went into this? Maybe the Council too?

    “His dedication to Stratford just got my district $200,000 for Booth Park renovations.”

    HIS dedication? Umm…wasn’t there a grant involved here? Who found the grant? Who wrote the grant? Wasn’t Boothe Park ignored for the last 2.5 years?

    “I attend town meetings and I pay close attention to what is developing in our town.”

    Really? I don’t recall anyone seeing you at a CRC meeting. I also don’t recall you speaking at any public forums. In fact the only time we hear from you is when you are criticizing bloggers (never a vulgar Mironista blogger. That always seems to escape your attention.).

    “I can assure you that I would most certainly not vote for any politician who thinks that by merely owning a mortgage, one is a member of the “real world”.”

    I do believe Ms. Sperling was referring to Ms. Wanamaker and Mr. O’Neal.

    “Are you serious, Pat? $50,000 is WAY above the cost of living in this town?”

    I also believe Ms. Sperling was referring to the 9.11% salary increase, not the base amount. How many Town employees received a 9.11% salary increase, Ms. Dobosz? Did we reduce our legal fees by 9.11% Has Ms. Nobili suddenly increased her productivity by 9.11%?

    “I am my own person and I am just as passionate about our town as you are, albeit perhaps, from a different camp.”

    Perhaps…

    On the other hand, Ms. Dobosz, I have given you space (Something Positive About Miron) to write about the positive things accomplished by this mayor. I must say, no one, not even you, has taken advantage of it.

    So, yet, again…I challenge you to defend your belief that this mayor has accomplished something beneficial for this town. It is simply not enough to criticize those who do not believe as you do.

  35. Laura ~

    My posting was relating to the salary adjustments – as Jezebel kindly stated – of 9.1%. If these types of increases are true, it’s absurd. I don’t know of any job that’s giving those types of raises. Can you really offer any justification – again, if this is true.

    We are in seriously difficult economic times, we are all suffering or struggling in one way or another. Each of us has some sort of heavy cross we’re carrying around every day. That’s the part that keeps us the same. The problem is, right now, we’re getting sucked dry – it’s affecting all of us. The camel’s back is about to break.

    I’m sorry that you are dealing with very touch family situations – I’m sure it’s probably one of the most difficult things you will deal with in your life. I’ve been the “rock” of my family and have had to with my fair share as well ~ all while trying to make sure I stayed grounded. It’s not easy.

    The problem with all of this is that we have a very top heavy administration. We now have a mayor, his immediate administrative assistant, two or three mayoral aides, a CAO and the CAO’s direct administrative assistant, a legal secretary to the Town Attorney (who works out of his firm, and has his legal secretary there). If the mayor is doing such a great job, that should be evident; why does he need a public relations person to make him look good? We, the taxpayers, are spending a whole lot of money on a whole lot of hot air.

    Laura ~ being a co-owner of a business, you should be well aware that you’ve got to make sacrifices, sometimes for the sake of your employees. So, maybe for one year, there may be no salary adjustments/raises. I’m sure employees would understand that when faced with either no raises or layoffs. People would rather have their jobs. In large corporations temporary salary reductions have been taken by executive officers. I’ve seen it. Other cuts are made so that layoffs can be curtailed. We’ve had too much wasteful spending and not enough coupon-clipping with our money!

    I, like many others, make sacrifices so that the quality of our childrens’ lives are better. I’m not about to get into a pissing contest with you about what we do for our respective families. I’ve been dealing with my fair share since I was a teenager.

    Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem like Jim Miron understands the concept of cutting back. There is a great deal of wasteful spending at a time when he should be cutting back – starting with his top heavy office.

    I’m happy the grant money came through for improvements at Booth. Did you know that the grant funds were available for improvements to the railroad station back in 2001? It wasn’t until some of the commuters (myself included) started making serious noise that the ball started rolling again. Hopefully, while I’m still a commuter (before I retire), I’ll see the platforms extended, canopies and adequate parking. I’m still trying to find out what happened to the grant money that came through seven years ago. He found a clever way to keep another bunker employee – Gina Connor. He created a position that’s funded under the railroad portion of the budget – and moved Gina to that. Apparently we need a “welcome center” or “customer service” employee at the railroad station for the droves or tourists coming into Town and to deal with the daily commuter issues. We’re supposed to have a security guard to deal with security at the station – which is a major issue. (Hear about the catalytic converter thefts last week?) We pay a security company over $60K a year and not one commuter I have spoken to ever saw the guard. We had a great guard for years – and paid less, $45K a year and we felt safe. Come to think of it, there’s lots of questionable items in the railroad portion of the budget and I understand from many that this has been a Town slush fund for ye ars.

    Relocating Gina opened the door for him to hire Linda Goodman, the former editor of the Stratford Star as his new public relations assistant.

    Again, great news for you and your district on Booth! We in my neighborhood are still waiting for the “House of Horrors” on Holmes Street to finally be dealt with. Apparently, Habitat for Humanity and Skip Kurmay’s group is supposed to be doing something with it (finally); but, I hear there’s a hold-up on the Town or Town Attorney end. Maybe it was Joe Kubic – I don’t know, but someone needs to stop sitting on their hands. We’ve only been dealing with that for six years or better. I’m sure we can wait another two or ten. I’m waiting for the police department to deal with the speeding down Sherwood Lane and short side streets off of Sherwood before one of the young children get’s hurt or killed by a speeding car this summer. But great, Booth Park is being improved……

  36. True “real world” knowledge? That is something that requires the individual to be open minded and to have at least a slightly creative mind regarding cultural behaviors and lifestyles other than their own.

    Laura ~

    I am very open-minded, despite the fact that my blog postings may not appear that way. I, along with others, have asked several times here and on the previous blog, as has Jeze, for examples from you and other supporters about the great and positive things Jim Miron has done in the 3 years since he was elected. I just don’t see it. Change my mind. I’m certainly willing to hear you out.

    As for the joking postings about throwing my hat into any mayoral ring – that’s all it is – lots of joking around. All in good humor. I certainly wouldn’t want to start with the fire – I’d like to sit in the frying pan first. Besides that, I’d like to keep my honest heart, and my soul.

  37. 37 sudds

    “SUDDS reminds me of a POT HEAD who appears to take very little seriously.”

    Just for the record George… I have NEVER smoked pot in my life!!!

  38. 38 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    You mean you never inhaled?

  39. 39 jezebel282

    Pat,

    “the joking postings about throwing my hat into any mayoral ring – that’s all it is – lots of joking around.”

    You’re NOT running? But, but….

  40. Jeze ~

    ROFLMAO ~ come on…. I like the heart I have. I wouldn’t want to trade it in for a cold one.

  41. 41 jezebel282

    Pat

    (Throwing away my Sperling for Mayor posters and magic markers)

    Fine!

  42. Besides, I’d have to admit that I inhaled….

  43. 43 1george1

    SUDDS,
    My apologies.

    You present yourself as an imbiber, yet you take offense about pot.
    You did not take offense about taking “little seriously.”

    I do neither pot nor alcohol. My vice is the wrong foods and beverages.
    SUGAR! SUGAR!
    However, many friends and I suspect some family have done one or both,
    of Alcohol or a drug or 2.

    PCS admits she inhaled.
    I suspect she is not the only reader/blog who has experimented.
    As I got older, and since I have seen many people with substance use or
    abuse problems, they actually seem more real and decent than some of
    those “pillars of the community, for in Town Hall or Government offices.”
    (Yet there are both there too?)
    Not all Government appointed Dept head are bad. Some are very good.
    But too many are not as good as they are supposed to be.

    Just as Laura & PCS hit nerves, so did I.
    It was not my intent to hurt.
    I am proud to see PCS show some of her compassion in going to defcon 1,
    from a higher number with Laura, who I HAVE SEEN at MORE THAN 1 TOWN
    (but not a lot of) COUNCIL MEETING. (Sorry Jeze)

  44. 44 jezebel282

    George,

    I didn’t say Ms. Dobsz has never been in town hall. I’m very sure she was there a lot when she was running for a Council seat.

    However, now she is reduced to criticizing anyone who speaks out against Mayor Moron.

    I doubt very much that Sudds has a substance abuse problem. An absence of conscience maybe….

  45. 45 sudds

    “You did not take offense about taking “little seriously.””

    That’s because there is very little that I try to take seriously! Ever read “don’t sweat the small stuff”???

    “You mean you never inhaled?”

    I’ve never even held the stuff!!!

    “I doubt very much that Sudds has a substance abuse problem”

    LOL… are Twinkies considered a “substance”??? But seriously… me with a substance abuse policy is actually a funny thought! I’m a self-proclaimed nerd (heck, my wife even owns/wears a “I heart my nerd” t-shirt)… drugs are really just NOT my thing!!!

    “An absence of conscience maybe…”

    Wow… thanks for being so nice! Lord knows I’ve been called MUCH worse!!! 😯

  46. 46 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    “Wow… thanks for being so nice!”

    No problem, Sudds, ole buddy. You earned it.

  47. WOW, I’ve never known a true nerd before….. They really have t-shirts for that kind of stuff? Do you come with a pocket protector?

  48. 48 sudds

    OUCH!!!

    Go easy… I’m a nerd… NOT a geek! Big difference!!!

    “Do you come with a pocket protector?” Geesh… when did I go on sale??? Besides, my pocket protector got broke during a rugby match! 😥

    And yes, they sell t-shirts and stuff (LOL):
    http://t-shirts.cafepress.com/item/i-love-my-nerd-jr-ringer-tshirt/40911881

    Note to feminists… feel free to thank me for NOT linking to the thong underwear with “I heart my nerd” on it!!!

  49. Just toying with you, but I’m sure you already knew that…..LOL I expected the response, got to keep you on your toes.

  50. 50 sudds

    I know you were!

    I would have responded with “I Luv Ya Too”… but that would have just made things WAY too easy for George!!! 😛

  51. 51 lauradobosz

    As Jeze sees it:

    “Ms. Dobosz,
    Nice twist. You are getting better at this.”

    Thank you, Jeze.

    “The New Haven Symphony was at Booth Park this past weekend and now we have two more weekends filled with Shakespearean performances.”

    “New Haven Symphony kicks off festival
    RICHARD WEIZEL
    Article Last Updated: 07/10/2008 11:55:04 PM EDT
    Law said when Arts Commission members went before the Town Council in March seeking funds for a third annual Summer Shakespeare Festival at Boothe Park and on the grounds of the Shakespeare Theatre, council members insisted the New Haven Symphony perform as part of the overall $57,000 schedule of activities.

    All Miron all the time in your house? I suppose Sibley Law had nothing to do with the huge effort that went into this? Maybe the Council too?”
    “His dedication to Stratford just got my district $200,000 for Booth Park renovations.”

    HIS dedication? Umm…wasn’t there a grant involved here? Who found the grant? Who wrote the grant? Wasn’t Boothe Park ignored for the last 2.5 years?

    Um Jeze? Who pursued the Grant? Who finally got the money? I have seen you insult Heather for her alleged lack of experience, but I wonder – what grant writing experience do you have, Jeze? I have several years of experience in non-profits. I can assure you that while the grant writer is important, the person who fights for the grant and remains steadfast, is of the greatest importance to the process. That is what Jim has done.

    Most of you continue to tell me that I am avoiding something by not listing all of the things that I believe Jim Miron has accomplished. I think you are just not reading my posts. I have listed on several occasions the positive things that Jim has provided our town. I stated my opinions in my most recent posts here, minutes before Jeze and Pat told me that they were still “waiting” for my statement. I honestly don’t know what more you would ask of me. You asked me to defend our Mayor – or at least state what I think he has done for this town. I have done that. I have been very clear. It is not my problem that you choose to disregard my opinions, or that you choose to ignore the facts that I bring to the table.

    “I attend town meetings and I pay close attention to what is developing in our town.”

    Really? I don’t recall anyone seeing you at a CRC meeting. I also don’t recall you speaking at any public forums. In fact the only time we hear from you is when you are criticizing bloggers (never a vulgar Mironista blogger. That always seems to escape your attention.).

    “I can assure you that I would most certainly not vote for any politician who thinks that by merely owning a mortgage, one is a member of the “real world”.”

    I do believe Ms. Sperling was referring to Ms. Wanamaker and Mr. O’Neal.

    “Are you serious, Pat? $50,000 is WAY above the cost of living in this town?”

    I also believe Ms. Sperling was referring to the 9.11% salary increase, not the base amount. How many Town employees received a 9.11% salary increase, Ms. Dobosz? Did we reduce our legal fees by 9.11% Has Ms. Nobili suddenly increased her productivity by 9.11%?

    “I am my own person and I am just as passionate about our town as you are, albeit perhaps, from a different camp.”

    Perhaps…

    On the other hand, Ms. Dobosz, I have given you space (Something Positive About Miron) to write about the positive things accomplished by this mayor. I must say, no one, not even you, has taken advantage of it.

    So, yet, again…I challenge you to defend your belief that this mayor has accomplished something beneficial for this town. It is simply not enough to criticize those who do not believe as you do.

  52. 52 lauradobosz

    The “I attend town meetings… etc.” is where my post should have cut off. I am not sure why it did not, but I am sure you all could tell where my post ended.

    🙂

  53. 53 lauradobosz

    “Really? I don’t recall anyone seeing you at a CRC meeting. I also don’t recall you speaking at any public forums. In fact the only time we hear from you is when you are criticizing bloggers (never a vulgar Mironista blogger. That always seems to escape your attention.).”

    I did not attend the CRC meetings Dave, that is correct. I have attended public forums and Council meetings but have not felt the need just yet, to speak out. I guess my ego is not so large nor as dependent upon public approval as others here.

  54. 54 jezebel282

    Ms. Dobsz,

    “Um Jeze? Who pursued the Grant?”

    Gee, beats me. Don’t you know? I do. That grant was written over a year ago by…wait for it…Diane Toolan (Miron fired her, remember?). Kelley McDermott only resubmitted it.

    “what grant writing experience do you have, Jeze?”

    I am not paid by the taxpayers to write grants. Common sense tells you that if you hired as the only grant writer you should at least have at least some experience writing a grant. And before you go there, Ms. Habelka’s resume (which is posted on the net) did not include grant writing experience until after Miron made her “acting” grant writer and bumped her salary.

    “I can assure you that while the grant writer is important, the person who fights for the grant and remains steadfast, is of the greatest importance to the process. That is what Jim has done.”

    Can you? How can you do that? Don’t you have a day job? Or is that what mayor moron told you? You want us to believe that Jimmy just didn’t take the credit? His record of truth telling is not…umm…good. Like when he stated in the Post he attends thousands of meetings and even paved the roads in his free time.

    “I have listed on several occasions the positive things that Jim has provided our town.”
    Interesting. I reviewed your posts and couldn’t find any. A lot of criticism of bloggers, but not much on Miron’s accomplishments. Remind us.

    “or that you choose to ignore the facts that I bring to the table.”

    Facts? What facts?

    “I did not attend the CRC meetings Dave, that is correct.”

    What is with you Mironistas? Why do you keep claiming you “know” who I am? This guy must really scare you. I wonder why. Maybe for the same reason as that “backstabber” Gavin Forrester?

    “I have attended public forums and Council meetings but have not felt the need just yet, to speak out.”

    No? You have not felt the need since you lost the election? Everything is hunky dory now?

    “I guess my ego is not so large nor as dependent upon public approval as others here.”

    Here we call them “opinions”. Since almost everyone is anonymous, I don’t think it has much to do with “ego”. I would call it participation in a public debate. Something citizens, even the ones in Stratford, have a right to do.

    I dunno Ms. Dobsz, I gave you what you asked for. Almost your exclusive space to post positive things about Miron and you simply refuse, or are unable, to utilize it.

  55. 55 1george1

    Cute exchange between Sudds and PCS. Interesting distinctions on the
    personal priorities.

    Exchange between Laura and both PCS and Jeze are much more civil,
    despite not being any less contrary.

    I got to Town Council one minute late and asked Tom Moore to have
    Carol put me on the speaker sheet. He did not hear me.
    I signalled to Carol & Henrick who refused to put me on the sheet.

    I gave my hand outs to Council and some audience (cause of me late)
    The reverse included a letter to me from the Secreatry of State.
    I also spoke to Attorney General’s office and got an e-mail from Harkins
    office from Attorney General’s office which addressed the issues they
    prefer to address, but NOT a question of LEGALITY of Town Charter.

    Little things like:
    Burturla is not Town (party/self) Advocate / Judge / Jury on legality
    of any Town issue. Don’t like his opinion? Go to court!!
    (In front of Tom Moore I told Burturla I BELIEVE he is a LIAR and THIEF!)
    (Burturla did not appreciate my belief! Told me I need Mental Help.)
    (Maybe I do. Maybe I should e-mail this blog address. I ain’t alone.)

    Burturla opinion
    Recall is illegal
    Right to Initiative could be inviolate if challenged in Court.
    Right to Petition could be inviolate if challenged in Court.

    The 1987 collapse of the IRON CURTAIN was replaced by TOP TOWN and
    BOE people stealing the FARM and certain people raping the TOWN for
    self Benefit. We NOW have the mIRON CURTAIN of useless USEFUL IDIOTS
    who consistently out maneuver the People and their rights.

    I believe LAURA is right about certain REPUBLICANS
    I believe Jeze, PCS, Cyclops and other are RIGHT about Miron and do NOT
    really understand or will not apportion blame on
    Burturla
    Berchem
    State Party of both Parties
    National Party of both Parties
    Their designee.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Last night, not 1 single Public Forum speaker touched, even briefly the
    bad star ized Town Charter
    scummy work of both Commissions

    The Town Charter is only the Town Constitution.
    The process for Redress of Grievance may be inviolate in the world
    according to Burturla, Miron, Henrich, Feehan, Norm, Cabrol, DeCilio
    and friends.

    Effectually, they have “abridged” the 1st Amendment.
    I wonder for what reason?

    Hey bloggers can anyone post a reason for wanting to make it costly to have
    REFERENDUMS?

  56. 56 jezebel282

    Ms. Dobosz,

    Somehow I forget this piece in my last post:

    “The New Haven Symphony was at Booth Park this past weekend”

    Didn’t we (you know, the Taxpayers) pay the Symphony $25,000?

  57. 57 jezebel282

    Update:

    (See my post #5)

    Differing approaches on Raymark waste
    Updated: 10/15/2009 04:54:56 PM EDT

    It’s been more than two years since SaveStratford got involved in the Raymark toxic waste issue. While we are not a political group and cannot formally endorse one candidate or party for office, we would like to take this opportunity to inform the voters of Stratford of some key differences we have experienced between the two leading contenders for mayor.

    Rep. John Harkins reached out to SaveStratford and worked with us to send a very loud and clear message to the EPA and DEP that dumping Raymark waste in residential neighborhoods is unacceptable. By reaching across party lines and working with key members of the Democratic majority in the General Assembly, Rep. Harkins was successful in not only getting the Raymark endorsement attached to the environmental justice bill, but getting that bill passed. The bill is now a state law that has served to protect Stratford from an underfunded, substandard cleanup that did not clean up the waste or fix the problem. It should be noted that Rep. Harkins worked with SaveStratford when others wouldn’t and he continues to work with us to come up with a comprehensive plan that addresses both the Raymark waste issue and brownfield redevelopment. Rep. Harkins went to the mat for our community and Stratford is a better place for it.

    In stark contrast, Mayor Miron’s recent comments at the Protect Your Environment debate, where his outright dismissal of residents’ concerns regarding the long-term health impact of exposure to Raymark toxic waste, were disconcerting to say the least. Does Mayor Miron have a comprehensive, detailed health study that conclusively states that exposure to asbestos, lead and PCBs does not have a negative impact on human health to back up his claims? Further, has the Stratford Health Department conducted such a study within the past three years that would provide us with definitive proof that we have “nothing to worry about”?

    This dismissive, nonchalant attitude also explains the mayor’s actions, or lack thereof, during the week of May 18, 2009 when it was discovered that Raymark waste was being illegally excavated on East Main Street. Instead of promptly notifying the community and nearby Wilcoxson school, the Mayor’s Health Department waited five days. On May 19, a first-grade class from that school took a field trip that walked within yards of the active excavation site, unaware of what they were exposed to.

    Finally, last December SaveStratford presented five different clean-up proposals to the EPA. We also personally provided a copy of these to Mayor Miron along with re-use plans. Sadly, the mayor has not shared those proposals nor had a bipartisan discussion with the members of the Town Council.

    While there are many more examples we can highlight, we want to point out that Stratford needs a leader who is responsible and accountable to us — the people who live and work in town. We need a leader who will join with SaveStratford and its nearly 4,000 members to ensure the health and well-being of every man, woman and child by pushing the EPA to provide Stratford with a fully funded, comprehensive clean-up plan that removes a significant amount of the Raymark waste from town.

    Tom Smith

    and the members

    of SaveStratford

    Stratford


Leave a Reply

