The Enterprise Moneyship

25Aug08

Many residents and taxpayers are unaware that in the Town of Stratford there are things called “Enterprise Funds”. Those are operations that actually make money (believe it or not).

Among them are:

Water Pollution Control, Short Beach Golf Course and Stratford Railroad Station. These operations are also called ATM’s for the mayor and council.

Water Pollution Control

For example, for FY 2009 (now) Water Pollution (the sewer use fees we pay) will bring in $24,666,370. Expenditures on the other hand will be $21,235,734. Is anyone expecting their sewer use fees to go down this year?

Sperling’s favorite subject:

The Railroad Station parking fees are expected to total $393,553. How’s that going Pat? Have you seen nearly $400,000 in improvements yet?

Mike Reynolds new favorite subject:

Short Beach Golf Course:

Greens fees will total $342,156 this year. (That’s approximately 33,000 rounds of golf) Except for moving the 8th tee box last year, have we seen any significant improvements at the Par 3?

So….where does this money really go?

72 Responses to “The Enterprise Moneyship”

  1. 1 1george1

    Within the TOWN REPORT, are all of the accountings of the FUNDS,
    or so I am told.

    I have asked about different PILES of MONEY.
    Near as I can figure or told by a reliable source:
    1) General Fund
    2) Pension Fund
    3) Bond Fund for Capital improvements
    4) Water Sewer Capital Fund (Water Pollution Authority)

    Water Pollution Control:

    For example, for FY 2009 (now) Water Pollution
    (the sewer use fees we pay) will bring in $24,666,370.
    Expenditures on the other hand will be $21,235,734.
    Is anyone expecting their sewer use fees to go down
    this year?
    GM: What about FEES collected prior + future years?

    Railroad Station:

    The Railroad Station parking fees are expected to total $393,553.
    Have you seen nearly $400,000 in improvements yet?

    Short Beach Golf Course:

    Greens fees will total $342,156 this year.
    (That’s approximately 33,000 rounds of golf)
    Except for moving the 8th tee box last year, have we seen any
    significant improvements at the Par 3?

    GM: A prominent constituent raised the USE ISSUE that the
    golfers were being subsidized by other Tax Payers. Same issue
    is with the electricity for LIGHTING Softball & other sports, as
    well as groundskeeping. Grass does not plant, not cut itself!

    So….where does this money really go?

    I am still interested in Attorney Billing and fees:
    1) Bonding = Was Billable by hours = 5 figures per year.
    2) Housing Authority
    3) Bored of Edukation
    4) Town Council
    5) Advise Commissions, such as Charter Revision Commission
    6) Court preparation and appearance
    7) Support Staff, Materials, and overhead.
    8) Suggestions?

    I wonder how much each of these cost over the years?
    1) AVCO
    2) Shakespeare
    3) Avalon Bay
    4) Raymark – EPA / DEP / etc
    5) LBW
    6) Suggestions?

    I am also curious why they can not find the 2003 Burturla 1099?

  2. 2 mikereynolds

    Regarding my golf course….

    I would expect the greens fees fund salaries for all the folks who work there. The 3 folks who work behind the counter….the 5 or 6 starters (that I’ve seen)….the 2 groundskeepers. I doubt they work for free.

    While I’m sure the Recreation Dept has those people in their annual budget I would expect the greens fees would certainly offset that.

    Or maybe I’m wrong. I am not a municipal budget expert.

  3. 3 jezebel282

    George,

    “GM: A prominent constituent raised the USE ISSUE that the
    golfers were being subsidized by other Tax Payers. Same issue
    is with the electricity for LIGHTING Softball & other sports, as
    well as groundskeeping. Grass does not plant, not cut itself!”

    If they are spending $342,000 to plant grass seed and cut it, I want the job riding the mower!

    As for the lighting at the ballfields, the cost is listed at $22,000 for the year with $14,000 taken in from something called “ballfield receipts”. So a maximum of $8,000 for the year is what this constituent is complaining about?

  4. 4 jezebel282

    Mike,

    Almost everyone you actually see at the course is a part-time employee at somewhere between $7 and $11/hour. That means no health benefits, no pension, no vacations, no sick days…….

  5. 5 jezebel282

    George,

    Wouldn’t it be nice if there were some kind of record describing how many cases the Town Attorney won? Or how much was received by favorable outcomes? Or how much was saved by the Town Attorney’s efforts?

  6. 6 freedomofspeach

    Town attorneys and BM&D don’t win cases, they litigate until the billing becomes way to obvious, then they settle. Most cases that have been done for Stratford seem (just to me at least) to end up settled (without a line item number in the budget) after many hours of unproductive billing. There are no case managers that balance risk/cost to benefit. Its bill until it hurts, then settle for whatever works.

  7. 7 jezebel282

    FOS,

    That is why many citizens were strongly in favor of a salaried Town Attorney.

    Otherwise this mayor (and every future mayor) is simply issuing a License to Bill.

  8. 8 sudds

    I haven’t seen any improvements at the train station in the way of parking yet… but this morning I did see that yet ANOTHER car had been broken into on Linden(?) Ave!!!

  9. 9 sudds

    Woohoo… I just called to check on my parking space and right now (after 21 months on the list) I’m ONLY number…

    1,367!!!

    No… that is NOT a typo… 1,367!!! The woman on the phone estimated that I only have about a SIX YEAR wait!!!

  10. 10 sudds

    PS… Pat Sperling’s head to explode in 3… 2…

  11. 11 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    Help is on the way!

    “$30,325 This account provides 37.5 hours per week of clerical help to maintain and update permit and daily parking records as well as process parking violation tickets. In addition, this staff person will be located at the Stratford Railroad Station, in a newly built customer service center, to handle the numerous and complex customer service concerns.”

    And if that wasn’t enough:

    “$22,403 This account provides approximately 19.5 hours to oversee the operation by maintaining electronic, multi-space parking meters, arrange contractual services, review leases and lease payments, order repairs and maintenance, and supervise enforcement of parking rules and regulations.”

    http://stratfordct.qscend.com/filestorage/1302/1944/11188/J_FY_2009_-_29_RR_Budget_and_Comment.pdf

    Problem solved!

  12. Me, explode, nah, I’m just completely humored by all of this now.

    I parked, this morning, right next to a pile of broken glass – obviously from a broken car window last week. So, I guess there’s been cars within the station too that were broken in to last week.

    I will share something that I hadn’t shared yet – I personally know the arresting officer who arrested the catalytic converter thief. While the officer was parked on the eastbound side of the station, the security guard was noticed; the officer then drove over to the westbound side to do a drive-through, which took all of 5 minutes. By the time the officer got back to the other side, the security guard was missing and there was a vehicle parked in front of another which was jacked up. In the car (with the pregnant woman) were already two converters. He was, at the time he was caught by the Stratford police officer, working on the third. In no more than 5 minutes, the security guard vanished….. What do you think? The officer’s impression: the security guard was somehow involved and it doesn’t take a rocket scientest or someone with an MBA to figure that one out.

    I haven’t seen the new shack used for any type of employee – security or otherwise. A friend and fellow commuter advised that every time she arrives home, the security guard is in the coffee shop “watching TV.”

    The flyer, which was delivered with the permit renewals (which I read this morning), states a 6-year wait list with over 1,200 names. That means, for me, at #452 to get a permit of my own and not have to carpool, I’ve still got over 2 years to go. The cars block the exit of the eastbound side every afternoon so that the exit becomes very tight for cars trying to get in or out – no security guard visible….. not sure what we’re paying for.

    Was that an explosion?

  13. 13 jezebel282

    I don’t know what you guys are complaining about. After all, the Council approved $52,728 to count parking tickets.

    What more could you want?

  14. 14 sudds

    I heard a rumor that everyone without a permit is going to start parking at Town Hall and walking down… this way their lot will be filled by 6:30am too. Maybe something will get done when town employees have no where to park either!!!

    If anyone hears anything further on this (i.e. a date to begin) please let me know… I’ll GLADLY help out!!!

  15. 15 sudds

    “Was that an explosion?”

    I’m actually sort of disappointed… how anticlimactic!!! 😛

  16. It’s just my WTF attitude!

  17. 17 sudds

    Ok folks… we have a SERIOUS situation here!!!

    Either:

    a) someone hacked into Sperling’s account ❓

    or

    b) Sperling is drinking at work 😯

    I’m leaning towards “b”… but neither is good!!! 😛

  18. 18 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    It’s not “A”.

  19. Sudds ~ sorry I disappointed you. My brain is still on the Cape somewhere – must’ve been the guys walking around P-Town in their “daisy dukes.” ;>D What a waste (if you ask me)! Oh, and the head full of sand I got at Cahoon Hollow didn’t help either! Just a bit exhausted.

    I’m waiting on the next commuter advisory meeting. There’s going to be one, hopefully in September, open to all commuters to be held at the library. I’ll keep y’all posted.

    Besides all of that – nothing in this Town surprises me any more.

  20. 20 1george1

    Sudds,
    Was that an offer to GLADLY HELP OUT
    or GADFLY HELP OUT?

    Bet you can’t wait for the 600 Car parking Garage, which
    might lower your waiting number from 1,367 to 1,117?
    There have to be 250 political donors waiting to skip the line? 😉

    PCS ‘s gead to explode?
    From what I read about her trip to the Cape, she has a stiff neck
    and her daydreams went limp?

    Hey PCS, when we underpay people, who can not get decent jobs
    with benefits … are you surprized they would show initiative at the
    Train Station?
    > They Steal catalytic converters.
    > Bush / Cheney / National parties transfer our Factories to India
    and China, while moving our Cash to their partners in Russia, Iraq,
    Iran, O.P.E.C. and Big Oil.
    > Unless there are major changes to help improve Revenues and benefits
    there are gonna be a lot of old people dyin this Winter. Farmers’ Almanac
    claims it will be a COLDER WINTERS than normal. My $ 1000 – $ 1200 heating
    bill in 1998 was with 50 to 60 CENT a GALLON Heating OIL. I got new furnace.
    After TAX – This winter will be $ 5,000 to $ 10,000 per home AFTER TAX.
    > I do not condone theft. I understand Theft when it is to put necessities
    of Food on the Table, unlike some of our fiends.

    Oh good, another Meeting I will probably forget about and miss although
    wanting to attend. How did Ed Hargus do it?

    Jeze,
    Can I have my blogs, instead of deletes.

    FOS,
    Excellent POST about Attorneys and the Billing game.

  21. 21 jezebel282

    George,

    “Jeze,
    Can I have my blogs, instead of deletes.”

    No.

    Besides, I’m still trying to figure out “Daisy Dukes”….

  22. 22 sudds

    “Was that an offer to GLADLY HELP OUT or GADFLY HELP OUT?”

    I says what I meant and I meant what I says… I currently have to park several blocks away! (not that my scale couldn’t use the walk)

    “There have to be 250 political donors waiting to skip the line?”

    Why do you think I helped Booth with his campaign??? Duh!!!

    … I stopped reading at Bush/Cheney… did I miss anything worht reading? 😛

  23. 23 sudds

    Psst… Jez…

    “Daisy Dukes” = the little booty shorts that used to be worm by (you guessed it) Daisy Duke!!

  24. 24 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    Psst…Booth LOST. And he’s a Republican. You go to the end of the list.

    Oh! Daisy Dukes! Like in “Hazzard”! Sorry, the guy thing threw me. Oh wait! P-Town! NOW I get it! Thanks, Sudds. Umm…how did YOU know?

  25. 25 sudds

    “Psst…Booth LOST. And he’s a Republican. You go to the end of the list.”

    Did you not see where I am number 1,300+ on the list???

    “Sudds. Umm…how did YOU know?”

    I would like to invoke my 5th Amendment rights at this time!!! 😳

  26. 26 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    I hope Amy Wanamaker is not involved with the list. The Station might not be there by the time you are number 1.

    And not to worry about the Daisy Dukes thing. I would never “out” anybody.

  27. So, an update on the train station…. it appears that the building that houses the helicopter museum (yeah, Stratford has one of those) is being painted! OK, there’s some of the money being spent on improvements to the station, but what about the needs of the actual commuters, you know, the people that utilize the station?

  28. 28 jezebel282

    Pat,

    Who cares? As long as it looks good!

    You’ll still get wet in the rain, but the museum will look nicer to the people in their cars on 95.

  29. 29 sudds

    LOL… I’m actually starting to find a bizarre resepect in Miron’s abilities to scr*w people over!!!

    Take this situation for example. He gets pressure to spend money at the train station and instead of giving people what they want he whips up this total… “I’ll give ya some money spent on the train station… take this ya…” project!!!

  30. 30 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    I guess in that way he has a talent. Everything is for show, nothing with substance. From his office to the signs all over town to this LBW “Sale”. It looks good, but fades fast.

  31. As I pulled out of my parking spot yesterday afternoon, I was almost struck by a car pulling out of the back lot – a regular commuter who drives a dark blue Dodge Shadow – staring straight ahead, not caring about any cars on either side of him. I’ve got his license plate, he’s a Lordship guy (not that that means anything). I know because I was behind him one day going to pick my daughter up at my mother’s house.

    I also noticed the guy I think was the security guard, leaning on the walk, talking to a friend. It was hard to determine whether he was the security guard or not, but he had a blue button down shirt (untucked) and blue pants – I couldn’t see any SSC emblem anywhere because of his stance. Also, “very attractive” white doo-rag covered his head. He was engaged in conversation, cars were blocking the exit, horns were beeping, but he didn’t move, not one inch, not one turn to see what was going on. Conversation must’ve been very good, I guess. Well, at least he wasn’t sitting on his duff in the watching TV in the coffee shop!

    This is what we pay for!

  32. 32 jezebel282

    Tick,tock,tick,tock…..fire in the hole!

  33. I guess I’m just looking for a little more professionalism from the security guards at the train station – not some disheveled looking person, lazily slopped against the wall talking to a friend who stopped by because his job is so meaningless. We’re paying $70,000K a year for that?

    OK, so we can’t have Vinny back – although you can tell he was a security guard AND he did what he was paid to do, because, according to Miron there were several “complaints” about Vinny. Gee, did the people complaining know he was “challenged” or a “special-needs” type of a person or did they just complain because they thought he was odd? Get a company in there that hires competent people – not blow-hards who just want to get paid for hanging around! Wouldn’t we all love a job like that!

  34. 34 sudds

    Geesh… you just want it ALL don’t cha???

    Next thing you know we’re going to see you asking for the snow to be properly removed during the winter!!!

    WOMEN!!!

    😛

  35. There goes my attitude.

  36. Sudds ~

    There’s snow removal at the station? I must’ve missed it? I do see a DPW employee (who I know) there a few mornings a week for trash removal. He’s about the only guy I’ve seen doing anything there actually working!

  37. 37 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    Don’t egg her on. She’ll start asking for ample parking, canopies, a platform that fits the trains and who knows what else…

  38. 38 sudds

    Sorry!

    It’s just that with all of her demands one would think that she actually PAYS to take the train and park!!!

  39. 39 jezebel282

    Uh oh….

  40. Sudds ~ I keep asking…. where do I sign?

  41. WOW ~ I must’ve silenced Sudds…..

  42. 42 jezebel282

    Called his bluff, did you?

  43. 43 sudds

    Sorry folks…

    I was on the golf course all day yesterday and didn’t get a chance to check in.

    Anyway… Mrs. Sperling… you officially lost a great deal of my support on Tuesday night when it took me from 6:14 until 6:38 (literally… I was watching it) to get (traveling straight up Main Street) from in front of Sterling House to the Post Office!

    Those lights you petitioned for by the train station are EVIL!!!

    PS… and why can’t those lights just be blinking lights during “non-peak” times???

  44. 44 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    “Those lights you petitioned for by the train station are EVIL!!!”

    Maybe because that is a blind curve shared by pedestrians (who are not looking) and maniacs speeding at 30 MPH (who are not looking)?

    All day on a golf course on a Thursday? Obviously you are not a doctor or a lawyer. They go on Wednesdays.

  45. 45 sudds

    That intersection existed for over 100 years without a light… and how many people died there???

    Instead of disrupting the 24 hour flow of traffic through the area… why weren’t the commuters (and I’m even one of them) inconvenienced? If they had just fenced off the curb and made the lazy-a$$ commuters cross further up/down the street there wouldn’t have been a problem!!!

    Where do I get my “Anyone But Sperling” sticker? 😛

  46. 46 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    I am going to guess that you have never been accused of having too much patience.

  47. Sudds ~

    Sorry, I can’t take all the credit. I would’ve been happy with stop signs, but the DOT did an independent investigation and installed street lights.

    This started 12 years ago because people race through the blind curve going south on Main Street. The law states that if there is no electronic walk sign, motorists are legally obligated to stop for pedestrians in the crosswalk. How many people do you know that follow that rule or even know it???

    The lack of respect by motorists to the motor vehicle laws – speeding, following posted signs – has been steadily increasing. I watch cars race up and down Stratford Road, in and out of Lordship, because the only light after the one at Main Street and Access Road is the one at Prospect Drive, and then not a stop sign until Lordship Center.

    I’ve watched as a commuter trying to cross Main Street the lack of respect that cars have for pedestrians and they get angry because you’re rightfully crossing the street. Just because someone hasn’t been hurt or worse doesn’t mean it can’t or won’t happen. I watched a few fellow commuters nearly get struck – maybe it was before you started commuting or earlier than your normal arrival time. Before that light – Main Street, from Barnum Avenue to West Broad Street was a Nascar raceway.

    I will certainly never apologize for fighting to protect myself, my family or anyone else for that matter.

  48. 48 sudds

    But what about a little common sense from the commuters?

    While “parked” in front of Stephen’s the other night I saw AT LEAST five people darting between cars no where near a cross walk!!!

    And what about at 11pm? How many people are crossing the street then???

    PS… anyone know how I can hack into the light control panel??? 😆

    PPS… I’m just joking about the “Anyone But Sperling” thing. If nothing else let’s face it… lord knows you’re cuter than Miron or Best!!! 😛

    (calm down George… no consperasy theories please)

  49. 49 sudds

    “I am going to guess that you have never been accused of having too much patience.”

    What is that P-word at the end of your sentence???

  50. 50 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    The P-word is the term to describe how you do not hit up until the group of women playing in front of you walk off the green.

  51. Sudds ~

    I completely agree. Commuters should cross where they are supposed to – in the crosswalk. I’m also aware of the traffic on Main Street at peak hours, having tried to get to Aculpuco’s for dinner a few times and been stuck myself. What I noticed is that motorists block the intersections – e.g., to turn off of or on to East Broadway, which adds to congestion. Everyone is in a hurry these days – nothing is slow and stead any more. 100 years ago, gee, how many cars do you think were travelling down Main Street in 1908 and how fast did they go?

    I also agree that the lights should probably be blinking once a majority of “rush” hour is over. For the most part, a majority of commuters arrive between 5:00 p.m. and 6:30 p.m. The parking lots are probably very empty by 6:30 p.m.

  52. 52 sudds

    “The P-word is the term to describe how you do not hit up until the group of women playing in front of you walk off the green”

    But I thought TARGETS starts with a T!?!?!?

  53. 53 sudds

    “I also agree that the lights should probably be blinking once a majority of “rush” hour is over.”

    Is this just pandering… or are you flirting with me??? :oP

  54. 54 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    That’s why your wood is not effective.

  55. Sudds ~

    No, I agree – blinking would be great for other than the maybe 2 hours in the afternoon that the commuters are arriving home. I don’t think the morning is even too much of an issue with the congestion, so blinking then too would work.

    It’s not up to me or the Town though, it’s an issue that needs to be taken up with the DOT. As a matter of fact – and I’m not flirting or looking for your approval – I’ll bring it up at the next commuter advisory meeting.

    If I were flirting, you’d know it!

  56. Jeze ~

    Freudian slip????

  57. 57 sudds

    “If I were flirting, you’d know it!”

    😯

    What are these shooting pains in my left arm all about???

  58. 58 jezebel282

    Pat,

    Maybe. But I’m guessing Sudds is not very firm with his iron either.

  59. That’s hitting a guy where it hurts most….. his golf game!

  60. 60 jezebel282

    Pat,

    There are many reasons a guy can’t get his balls near the hole. Manners is one of them.

  61. Jeze ~

    Unfortunately, along with respect for motor vehicle laws, manners is another social issue that’s gone by the wayside.

  62. 62 sudds

    Wait a minute… how are my manners being called into question here???

    PS… take all the shots you want at my golf game… I’ll be the first to fully acknowledge that my game sucks!!!

  63. 63 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    Memory deficient too?

    “The P-word is the term to describe how you do not hit up until the group of women playing in front of you walk off the green”

    But I thought TARGETS starts with a T!?!?!?”

  64. 64 1george1

    “What are these shooting pains in my left arm all about???”

    Maybe the wife has a voo doo doll and is upset with the flirting,
    or maybe PCS has one and was upset with the flip-flop?

    …edited for relevance…

    Jeze will edit, but I am curious about Stratford people’s
    political perceptions about the
    Pres Candidates
    V. P. Candidates
    Parties.

    One of the Playwrite’s first post called
    Republicans Terrorist
    Democrats Socialists

  65. 65 mikereynolds

    Speaking of golf I played the revamped Black course at Fairchild Wheeler. Very nice!

    I highly recommend it for all my fellow golfers.

    When George posts his nonsense are you ever reminded of the sound the teacher makes in the Charlie Brown cartoon…..?

    “Waa Waa Waa Waa Waa”

    Just asking.

  66. 66 1george1

    Mike,

    If, after the Presidential elections, the price of Heating Oil goes to
    $ 10 a Gallon and Gas Heat goes to a similar level, are you independently
    wealthy?

    …edited for relevance….

    Then you remark may me entirely appropriate….Waa, Waa, Waa, Waa…

    You have an affinity for cartoons and childrens nursery rhymes.
    I apologize for not being able to draw simple pictures for you in crayon.

  67. 67 jezebel282

    George,

    One more time: There are plenty of blogs out there for your diatribes on big oil, the CIA, FBI, NSA, Civil Rights et al.

    Here are a couple of links for you:

    http://www.lp.org/
    http://www.moveon.org/
    http://www.aclu.org/

  68. 68 jezebel282

    Mike,

    Orange Hills is nice too. You can walk the front 9 and get a cart for the back 9.

  69. 69 officersean

    Gonna post here since this is the popular thread this weekend even though the “subject is off the trheread point…but again, so is the golf talk…

    SECRET GOVERNMENT ALERT!!!

    Edited by Jezebel...Once is enough, thank you, Officer Sean….

    Here is a link to your post:

    https://stratfordcharter.wordpress.com/2008/07/24/georges-letters/#comment-3056

  70. 70 jezebel282

    Officer Sean,

    “even though the “subject is off the trheread point…but again, so is the golf talk…”

    If you happen to know where the extra $3 million from the sewer use fees went or the money from the parking lot or Short Beach Golf Course, we’d be more than happy to hear it.

    Other than that, once it stops raining, maybe I’ll get 9 in at Short Beach.

  71. 71 1george1

    Jeze,

    Will you and your fellow travelers be affected if there is a DEPRESSION?

  72. 72 1george1

    Head of LOEW’S and CHANNEL # 13 James Tisch is presently
    being interviewed, and stated PENSIONS are NOT sustainable
    with everyone retiring on DISABILITY.

    The next 3 days can be horrific for Stock holders.

    * Taking short selling out of the equation means NO ONE is making money
    from Stocks Going down. It is a check and balance.

    * Congress is supposed to recess on Friday. They and the White House
    have done nothing for months and years, except muck up things. None
    are in a hurry to solve problems, which both sides looking to exaserbate.

    * First Presidential Debate is Friday. Worse the Market does, the worse for
    McCain and better for Obama. The Executive runs things, but Congress
    supplies the money.
    Each side tries to steer money towards their own allies and away from those
    they either do not like or want to target for buying at lower price.


Leave a Reply

