No Debate About It

19Aug09

You read it in the Star:

Three primaries on tap

Written by John Kovach
Wednesday, 19 August 2009 15:39

Primaries have been confirmed in three races this fall, with Republicans and Democrats both heading to the polls Sept. 15.

Jonathan Best will challenge state Rep. John Harkins (R-120th), the Republican Town Committee-endorsed mayoral candidate, after submitting 341 signatures, of which 284 must be confirmed by the registrars of voters.

“This allows Republican voters a choice of candidates and sets the stage for discussion of issues affecting the Town of Stratford,” Best stated in a press release.

“It wasn’t our preferred option,” Republican Town Committee Chairman Joseph Crudo said.

Crudo said he hoped that given the overwhelming endorsement of Harkins — a 59-11 vote at the caucus — Best would accept the result.

“The party is facing a primary, then the campaign starts against the mayor,” Crudo said. “It sets us back a couple of weeks. It costs each candidate money, it costs the town money. But I don’t have a problem with a candidate exercising his legal right.”

In a letter to the editor that appears on page 4A of today’s Star, Best challenges Harkins to debates.

“I look forward to the opportunity to speak with the community and present my ideas for moving us past issues that have languished for the last 15 years,” Best said in a press release. “The Shakespeare Theatre, education, economic development and most importantly restoring pride in being a Stratford resident, these are issues that require resolution and not continuing discussion. Forging forward with the intent of providing good, transparent, accountable government are among my goals. The same political players need to step aside to allow the elimination of politics as usual in Stratford. Change takes courage and we need the Republicans to be courageous and vote for the greater good for Stratford.”

Crudo said the Republican Town Committee did not have plans to conduct another debate between the two, who met in one prior to the caucus, and didn’t know how another debate would help either candidate.

“Jon Best has been out there for several years campaigning,” Crudo said. “John Harkins has done a lot in the past few months and has a lot of name recognition.” Such as what, Joe? He has been the most silent candidate ever.

Mayor James R. Miron escaped a potential challenge when Michael Singh, who announced he would seek petitions to force a Democratic primary, did not pursue that route. Miron would probably have lost to Singh.

We would like to know why the two Republican candidates will not debate directly? Is it that voters don’t deserve to know what they are voting for? It is inexplicable that a political committee would not help their own party members understand what the candidates positions are.

Let us hope that the League of Women Voters or PYE invites these gentlemen to an open and honest debate.

12 Responses to “No Debate About It”

  1. 1 jezebel282

    Obviously, we invite Mr. Best and Mr. Harkins to post their positions here.

    If you are a supporter of either, you are invited to post here as well.

    Maybe we will be able to make an informed decision for once.

  2. 2 1george1

    I challenge to debate:
    HARKINS
    JON
    MIRON
    DOM
    FAHAN
    CATALANO
    SUDDS
    KANE
    JEZE
    CYCLOPS
    BURTURLA, R
    BURTURLA, J
    IMBRO
    KELLY
    FLOREK
    CT. POST
    JUSTICE / FBI
    STATE POLICE – PROSECUTORS
    ANY ELECTED

    I told Jimmy & Terry Backer that in a Debate, Jimmy belongs to me.
    I WILL DOMINATE.

    Most of JIMMY’S ECONOMIC IDEAS and many of DOM’S IDEAS came from me!

    I conceed to Dom that he would make a great paper boy, because
    of the route he walked getting signatures.
    Dom is in better shape than me. Bit then so is a bowling pin! 😦
    Further, I like to know what kind of fertilizer he uses to grow signs? 😉
    It is bad enough that Town Hall has become NOTTINGHAM CASTLE,
    do we really need it to become GOLDEN HILL STREET WEST?

    Where DOM and HARKINS have NO PUBLIC POSITIONS on ANYTHING,
    MIRON takes credit for:
    1- things that have to get done as a Town,
    2- creating (underfunding posture potamkin) issues, (while steering slush)
    3- other peoples work and ideas
    4- and gains public support for issues, by posturing against them?

    I hear HARKINS would need to change his underwear a few times if
    he were to debate BEST.
    I think BEST could “tear up” HARKINS, but BEST is a gentle soul at heart
    and really does not like rolling in the mud. But I think he dislikes those
    who have been rolling in the mud and public trough, less.

    I believe HARKINS is a PRETTY BOY with nuthin between his legs,
    like most of the Country Club crowd.

    Conversely, there are people in both parties with access to
    knuckleheads and knuckdraggers.

    There are many things HARKINS says and writes, with which I could
    agree. However, I do NOT believe he is good for STRATFORD. Like
    many in the Country Club crowd I believe he is bought and paid for.

    The real debates I would love to see / hear are BEST v GAVIN
    ME vs Esq. RICH BURTURLA & NORM, who I blieve hides behind
    CRUDO and has LOUIE doin his errands…..
    But then NORM and LOUIE are both BEAN COUNTERS, who love OP(iu)M.

    OPM = OTHER PEOPLES MONEY
    iu = I – YOU

    I just coined the acronymph

  3. 3 1george1

    Yo PCS –

    You tore me up about my position on the RR Station
    (still my favorite blogger – I lub ya)

    You LOVE HARKINS as a CANDIDATE. I don’t !!
    (I like him as a person or OK – not great – in Hartford)

    DARE

    Arrange for a DEBATE at the LIBRARY or BALDWIN CENTER
    with ME – HARKINS – JON – MIRON – DOM

    Have the COMMUTERS PAY $ 10 a piece to pay for it,
    and can ask a 50 word question / follow up for $ 25.

    I DARE YA!

    DOUBLE DARE YA!!

    TRIPLE DOG DARE YA!!!

    (There I go… gettin in trubble wit PETA agin! drat!) 😦 😉

  4. 4 1george1

    MAD DOG MULLIGAN is a GUARD DOG – NOT a LAP DOG

  5. 5 jonbest

    I am prepared to debate as stated in the Stratford Star.

  6. 6 jezebel282

    Good for you, Jon!

  7. 7 jezebel282

    Update:

    Almost forgot these:

    From the Stratford Star

    Petitioning candidates

    Three other candidates have petitioned their way onto the fall ballot.

    Domenic Costello, Republican nominee for mayor in 2005, is on the ballot as an unaffiliated candidate.

    George Mulligan is running as an unaffiliated candidate for both mayor and Town Council in the 3rd District.

    Linda Palermo petitioned her way onto the ballot for Town Council in the 5th District.

    Linda Palermo? Oy vey! Watch out, Mr. Dempsey!

  8. 8 1george1

    I have yet to get the STAR

    letter to the editor that appears on page 4A of today’s Star,
    Best challenges Harkins to debates.

    (JON-I am prepared to debate as stated in the Stratford Star.)

    Since JON only challenged HARKINS … 😉

    “I look forward to the opportunity to speak with the community
    and present my ideas for moving us past issues that have languished
    for the last 15 years,” Best said in a press release.

    WE AGREE

    “The Shakespeare Theatre,

    I BELIEVE INTENTIONALLY BAD DEAL – WITH THE “REAL DEAL” BEHIND
    THE TORMENTER, TO ENHANCE THE IMAGE OF THE DEALER

    education,

    STANDARD TOPIC of 1/2 the BUDGET – NOTHING SUBSTANTIVE TO
    AGREE – DISAGREE

    economic development

    NOT ECONOMIC EXODUS – BUT NOTHING SUBSTANTIVE TO
    AGREE – DISAGREE

    and most importantly restoring pride in being a Stratford resident,
    these are issues that require resolution

    AGREED

    and not continuing discussion.

    AGREED

    Forging forward with the intent of providing good, transparent,
    accountable government are among my goals.

    AGREED

    The same political players need to step aside to allow the elimination
    of politics as usual in Stratford.

    AGREED

    Change takes courage and we need the Republicans to be courageous
    and vote for the greater good for Stratford.”

    GOOD TAG LINE or THEME.

    Unfortunately … these are platitudes without specifics.
    I KNOW JON knows SPECIFICS.

    If HARKINS never agrees to DEBATE, where does JON get to MAKE
    the PUBLIC AWARE of the SPECIFICS, behind the PLATITUDES?

    JON does NOT have to answer me ….
    But JON will have to FIND the WAYS, because the first MAYOR DEBATE
    is SEPT 23 – so far – that I know about. The Primaries are over by then.

    It would be interesting to see a Dempsey – Palermo debate.
    Names sounds like a 1930s Heavyweight boxing match …
    John rarely speaks Publicly
    Linda speaks ….. fill in the blanks

    John is a quiet guy and personable.
    But he chooses not to publicly speak much.

    Linda is a unique personality
    some can view that as a compliment.
    some can view that as an insult.
    some can interpret that other ways…

    It would be interesting to see a Dempsey – Palermo debate.

  9. 9 jonbest

    George
    You and I have discussed this. I will debate you after the Primary. My sole priority is to win a primary and to involve others in debate at this time would not allow for a full view of the Republican hopefuls or platform. The republicans in town need to decide who would best serve them. I asked at the RTC to allow a primary to allow the voters to decide. That is democracy. I have sent John Harkins an email and challenged him in the star. The CT Post would not print it. They have made their decision and we know how much they have Stratford’s interest at heart. Time will tell but 27 days from now there will be a single republican candidate. And to be perfectly clear I plan on winning. If I lose I will not run as an independent. The only person who has said a republican will not be mayor is DOM. He has publically stated this that if it is not him Miron will win again. Who is the spoiler? This race is about Stratford. Not individuals not Harkins, not Costello and not me. It is how can we best serve the taxpayers and the town.

    Jonathan Best

  10. 10 jezebel282

    George,

    I have to agree with Jon. Primaries are for parties not for independents. Your name will be on the ballot anyway.

    Let’s hope some Republicans stand up and demand a debate. Republican voters deserve a choice. After all, they got stuck with McCain/Palin. Now all they’ve got are Tea bag parties and nut jobs at Town Hall meetings.

    So far, Jon Best is way ahead of Harkins on points alone. We are still waiting for someone (like Harkins?) to explain why anyone should vote for him.

  11. 11 phineast

    Jon Best- excellent response. That is the type of representation the people of Stratford are looking for.
    I would like to hear something, anything form the Harkins camp. I realize he is dealing with things in Hartford, but if he wants the votes he has to respond to people’s letters, phone calls etc. If we don’t hear anything then I would question the type of representation we would get. No can be smug enough to believe anything is a sure thing….
    Both of you are good men that care about the town, I personally hope you find a way to work together as that would be great for the town.

    George-short, sweet and to the point would serve you soooooooo much better.

  12. 12 1george1

    Hi Jon, Jeze, Phin,
    My challenge to everyone to Debate was in my best interest, the voters
    best interest, and believe it or not Jon’s best interest.

    It increases pressure on Harkins to cease hiding.

    Jon and I are willing to Debate anyone and Jon had made it clear he wants
    to concentrate on Harkins, but will not Debate me unless he beats Harkins.
    So far, Jon ain’t winnin.
    If Jon dont win – we ain’t debatin!

    If Harkins continues to duck Jon, Jon has an option to have a forum… ME!

    We could Debate at the Library or a church/synagoe hall or Baldwin center
    and let the host charge:
    > $ 2 donation OR FREE entrance
    > $ 10 for 1 question
    > Same for a follow up question
    > 20 questions x $ 10 = $ 200 cost cover x 2 minutes per each = 80 minutes
    add 10 minute intro
    add 30 minute Jon & I go head to head – questions /issues in Advance
    made part of at the door program hand out
    – AVCO / Airport
    – Shakespeare
    – Raymark Dump
    – Transparency
    – Pensions
    – Whatever
    add 10 mintute close

    When people come in Jon can have write literature and so can I.
    Information can direct attendees to Website.
    Jon’s people, public, Press, other can Video. = Utube.

    Guess what Jon does NOT need Harkins to debate, to kick his butt.

    There is time to set up 2 or 3 Debates against me, and I will agree
    in Advance to Bow out of 1 of 2 agreed Debates, if Harkins stops
    being a chicken to let Jon at him….

    Everyone gets all over me about lack of focus when I write.
    However, get me one on one in an interactive Q & A, NO ONE EVER
    Challenges my FACTS.

    > I found I occasionally made errors. I correct them. I also have been
    fed misinformation or information others want to use, like fire pensions
    as an emerging issue, to (I believe) cover up the police attorneys Grand
    Theft!

    Jon … use me.
    Even if we never debate … use me.
    For the good of Stratford … use me.
    Get at Harkins … use me.
    Get at Miron – if you don’t you will look like his tool!
    Get at Dom … use me.
    Come after me … use me.

    Jon … I like you as a person.
    I appreciate your service in EMS as well as Donna, Gavin, Calzone.

    This is political.
    It is not personal.

    I like Harkins as a person.
    Dom is OK as a person.
    Jimmy can be ok as a person, but his official and political act hurt his
    personal side, in my experience.
    I don’t hate any of them or the Dicks or Norm.
    I should hate some. But I don’t
    We are all puppets.
    This puppet wants to cut strings of other puppet and self.

    Phin – too long for your taste?
    Guess what it is F O C U S E D.
    In a debate I come to BURY the Caesars … NOT to PRAISE THEM!!!!!


Leave a Reply

