What’s a Democrat To Do?

02Nov09
donkey

Abandoned in Stratford

For months now, James R. Miron has been blaming the “Republican opposition” on the Council for every failure of his administration. This is hardly likely. The Charter that took effect on Dec 12th 2005 gave the mayor almost unlimited power. The Council is nearly powerless to stop any antic of the mayor. Witness the hiring of Justin Loschiavo and Christian Miron or the firing of 50+ qualified leaders or the squandering of $500,000 on his own office or the slashing of BOE budgets.

I have been a Democrat for 38 years and have never seen a politician act in such an unDemocratic way. OK…maybe Joe Lieberman. But Lieberman doesn’t go out of his way to “exterminate” opponents. (By the way, Miron supported Lieberman).

In all of Stratford history there has never been a more anti-union or anti-education executive. It is not only the Police and Firefighters union. Ask anyone that used to be a member of the Supervisor’s Union. Oh wait, you can’t. Miron fired them. Ask a teacher. Oh wait. You can’t. They are too afraid.

With the help of Richard Buturla, Kent Miller, Richard Miron (yes, he’s STILL a member) and Dave Mooney, Miron has turned the Democrat Town Committee into a Cult of Miron. Disagree with any Miron whim and you are pilloried.

So…what to do?

In this election, even holding your nose won’t be enough. The stench permeates everything. The only thing you can do as a Democrat is what Democrats always do. Vote for the right thing. That means voting for actual candidates that want to do positive things for the Town. The DTC and their candidates have all sworn an oath of allegiance to Miron. As their first decision, this is clearly unacceptable. For us Democrats, the best hope is to issue a resounding defeat to this cult and take our party back.

The other win we will get is “republican” John Harkins. After many discussions with Mr. Harkins and his staff, I can honestly say that they are more like Democrats than the “Democrats”. Mr. Harkins listens…then thinks…then looks for common ground. My discussions with members of the Democratic Town Committee have been, well, strange. If you don’t agree with Miron, the discussion comes to an abrupt halt and the threats begin.

So the answer for Democrats is to ignore the “D’s” and “R’s” and vote for the right people. Do what I will do: have a few drinks so your hand won’t shake so much and circle the “R” candidates.

Mayor: John A. Harkins

Councilman:
District 1: Chris Barnaby
District 2: Stephanie Philips
District 3: Matt Catalano
District 4: David LoConte, Jr.
District 5: John Dempsey
District 6: Ed Ward
District 7: William “JR” Stroomer
District 8: Jim Connor
District 9: Tom Malloy
District 10: Paul Hoydick

Board of Education:

Joe Crudo
Gavin Forrester
Chuck Lindberg

Constables

Bill DiFederico
Paul Mathewson
Ed Scinto

Planning Commission
Districts 3 & 4: Ron Moreau (a blog favorite)
Districts 5 & 6: John Zbell
Districts 7 & 8: Linda Pepin
Districts 9 & 10: Christopher Walker

Zoning Commission
Districts 5 & 6: Casimir Mizera
Districts 7 & 8: Christopher Silhavey
Districts 9 & 10: Mike Henrick

Zoning Board of Appeals
Districts 1 & 2: Patrick Massey
Districts 3 & 4: Joseph Dimenno
Districts 5 & 6: Brian Dempsey

60 Responses to “What’s a Democrat To Do?”

  1. 1 1george1

    I still favor the CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT supported by the
    LIBERTARIANS: “NONE of the ABOVE.”

    Sorry Ron and a few others.
    However, I did not exclude myself.

    There are good people in both parties.

    However Stratford and the USA needs a political ENEMA, due to
    some of the people Jeze is against and some of the people behind
    the people Jeze supports..

    Let the political parties pay for the Registrars!

    Why should tax payers fund patronage and people with questionable
    ethics – specifically the bowling buddies Dickie + Louie
    Sorry Rick + others

  2. 2 jezebel282

    George,

    “some of the people Jeze is against and some of the people behind
    the people Jeze supports”

    As you are well aware, I & the Playwrite before me have given you almost an unlimited platform for your candidacy and your views. Despite dozens and dozens of complaints about the length and relevancy of your posts.

    That being said, everyone knows and works with people they would most likely rather not. You cannot look at every affiliation or association back to the beginning of time and make assumptions about their future actions.

    As we have discussed, there was a time when I was a normal person and didn’t pay attention to these local political games. But I have paid attention now. I have tried to speak to all the candidates. I am very, very comfortable with my choices. And I look forward to being normal again.

    Does that mean none of them will do something incredibly stupid or self serving in the next 2-4 years? Nope. There is just less of a chance.

  3. 3 jezebel282

    Sometimes, this job* as Editor has some truly meaningful rewards.

    Another anonymous email from an old blog friend (a Democrat even longer than me):

    Although I was disappointed with the CT Post Endorsement for Stratford’s mayor, it was a joy to see that he was one of the only incumbents not endorsed! Here is how I see it tomorrow for Stratford:

    Vote Tallies for Mayor will show the following ranking:

    1st. John Harkins

    2nd. Dominick Costello

    3rd. James Miron

    4th. George Mulligan

    Good luck tomorrow. You have done a great service to the town, its citizens and its employees. But, know that … I will keep Stratford in my heart.

    * I really have to talk to my boss about the lousy pay.

  4. 4 sudds

    Only our current f*ck-tard of a mayor would schedule an election day food drive for the time when most people are working!!!

    “You may make a donation on Election Day between 8am and 6pm by dropping off canned goods or non-perishable foods in the yellow collection barrels at all of the polling locations.”

  5. 5 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    Don’t the polls close at 8PM?

  6. 6 1george1

    Jeze,

    What ever happened to the play write?
    I hope he / she is well.

    You and play write did give me a chance to air my gripes, vent,
    and position.

    YOU REAPED an unexpected benefit?

    Of the 4 candidates, who gave specifics?
    Of the 3 alternatives, who nailed Miron’s lies the most frequently?

    I have had knock down / drag out arguments with FOS and other
    pretentious jerks, which prepared me for these debates.
    > Mike R and I have been very adversarial. Mike improved a lot.
    I respect him as a father & family man. Mike gave me WICC props.
    I do not expect Mike’s vote. However, we went from name calling
    to arguing issues. That is one thing I tried to do

    Normally, I need time “to digest” input and figure out the real agenda.
    By arguing EVERY POINT and conceeding NOTHING that I did NOT
    feel was a legitimate point – THIS BLOG help me prepare for DEBATES,
    including insights from blogsters.

    It is incredibly important to be able to DEFINE, REFINE, REALIGHN, and
    DESIGN your ARTICULATIONS.

    Jeze, give yourself another pat on the back for helping me to “REP”
    Stratford issues, better than I could have done 2 years ago!!

    I had gotten feedback from several people who know who different
    bloggers were.
    They told me “some” are completely arrogant, self centered blatherskites
    who believed they could insult and bully me into submission, in no small
    part to their “professional” abilities and insider knowledge.

    I took on everyone and anyone.

    Occasionally, they would score a knockdown.
    However, I wore down ALMOST ALL of THEM.

    I wore down Jeze.
    However Jeze NEVER gave in to an argument.

    Jeze did realize EDITTING for RELEVANCE is inconsistant with beliefs
    in the Constitution and moved my posts to my column.

    Jeze did realize I look at things differently than most people and we
    agree to disagree on what is relevant.

    If many of the RTC, did not exist….
    If the RTC had not caused (with certain DTC) most Stratford problems….
    If Harkins did not have certain relationships ….

    I would have been able to support JOHN, CERTAINLY over JIM + DOM.

    It is what it is.

    If John does get elected …..

    Who do you think will be Town Attorney?
    More importantly, who will the Assistants be?
    Do you honestly believe Berchem will lose a piece of the action?

    Ron – sorry about too many “I.”

    PCS – You are my favorite blogger, due to research and facts.
    I completely understand why you prefer John, same as SaveStratford
    endorsed John. I pray I am wrong about John

    Star – Good people. Well intended.

    Gavin – I would LOVE to debate you 1 on 1 in public and speak to you
    and others in private. You were the one who exposed the MOU.
    Now you are part of the gang who can’t think straight?
    – And many consider that is a step UP? 😉 🙂

    Jon – The Town Council approved O. T. for both parties primaries and
    I know they need justification for positions. You did the town a service
    by pointing out certain things.
    Like GAVIN, there is some much more you could expose.

    Matt – I drove by your house sunday and wondered who gerrymandered
    your (parent’s) home into District # 3 and why?
    – Oronoque Village is now the 8 th & 9th, but was the 8th.
    – Minorities controlled the 2nd. Now they are spread to 2 + 4.
    – Doc & Ron / Karla were gerrymandered out of the 3rd.
    – Perhaps, certain people knew certain things would happen about the
    time Harkins declared and NEVER DREAMED you would step up?
    – I strongly suspect that if Hugh Catalano had not died, there would be
    a significant threat to the plans of the people behind Harkins + Miron +
    Dom. Mr. Catalano was in ARMY INTELLIGENCE and knew people as well
    as knowing things. With BILLLIONS of $$ in Airport + AVCO + Shakespeare
    + Raymark – Ferry Creek + I – 95 + Remington point / woods …

    Then there is all of Bridgeport’s border line development from Pleasure
    Beach, along the Harbor, to GE Boston avenue, including Remington
    Factory and Remington Woods.
    Is it Steelpointe or STEALpointe?

    I wonder about Ed Fennel and Alex Kozak?
    Like Joe Rietano’s death in the USPS, the Registrar office needed openings,
    hence I wonder about Ed Fennel’s death.
    Alex had too much computer knowledge. He could have kept LOUIE from
    slipping into the DARK SIDE, as he was literally an EAGLE SCOUT.
    I once respected LOU. Now i believe he is just one of the gang. (No racist)
    ANY MOTIVES for PEOPLE to KILL?

    Timing of Ed Biebel’s death, just before the election.
    I wonder what Ed Biebel knew and what he did NOT know he knew?
    MOTIVE TO KILL?

    On 5 – 12 – 1980 – there were 5 police hired who “happen to be among
    the TOP PENSIONERS.
    Delieto – hired 5 – 12 – 1980
    Vedock – hired 5 -12 – 1980
    LoSchiavo – hired 5 – 12 – 1980
    Gonzalez – hired 5 -12 – 1980
    Yeomans – hired 5 – 12 – 1980

    Ron Reagan was sworn in Jan 1980.
    It takes a couple months to get appointments confirmed.
    It takes a little time for the appointed to get their Department heads
    in place.
    The same people EISENHOWER warned about
    The same people NIXON tapes proved existed
    The same people FRANK CHURCH Committee exposed, were SUB ROSA

    > I 100 % know the assault on me in the USPS was D. C. originated.
    It was a Military – Intelligence Ops, using multiple Federal, State,
    Local Agencies and Departments, besides private sector and
    political people, easily accessed by D. C. Personnel – The only
    General killed in the PENTAGON on 9 /11 was in charge of H. R.

    > I 100 % believe the people behind most of Stratford’s problems
    have ability to manipulate people using “EXTREME PREJUDICE” as
    one means to manipulate people, without their knowledge.

    Joe Burturla retired in 1985.
    After John Burturla was hired, I told him that although I have issues
    with his brother and others in both parties, they are all “puppets”
    and manipulated with things like GREED.

    Timing of Amy Knott McDonald’s death, where her husband did some
    contractor work for me, and I spoke to her by phone ONLY ONCE in
    my LIFE, 3 days before she died?

  7. 7 1george1

    Correction:

    Reagan was confirmed Jan 1981.

    These were Jimmy Carter appointees.

    But why all 5 police hired on 5 – 12?
    In 1980?

  8. 8 sudds

    “Sudds,

    Don’t the polls close at 8PM?”

    EXACTLY MY POINT!!! My did this (deleted as to not get the blog in trouble with the FCC) schedule a food drive that ENDS when 9-5’ers are just starting to arrive???

  9. 9 sudds

    Oops… should read “WHY did this…”

  10. 10 1george1

    Sudds,
    What food drive?
    Where is the food drive?
    Who sponsors the food drive?

    Miron?
    Sterling House
    South End Community Center?

    I now have ESPN.
    But I do not have ESP.

  11. 11 sudds

    Sorry Georgie-Boy…

    THIS is an imprtant town update that I received from the mayor this morning:

    Dear Resident:
    Tomorrow, Tuesday, November 3, the Town of Stratford will be conducting its 4th Annual Election Day Food Drive with support from Cub Scout Pack 177 and the Stratford Board of Education.

    In these tough economic times, it is crucial that we work everyday to collect food as we help to provide the necessities of life to our neighbors and families who might otherwise go hungry.

    You may make a donation on Election Day between 8am and 6pm by dropping off canned goods or non-perishable foods in the yellow collection barrels at all of the polling locations.

    Monetary donations will also be accepted. All collections will be distributed to Stratford based food pantries.

    I encourage everyone in our Community to not only exercise one of our most precious constitutional rights on Election Day, the right to vote, but to also take a moment to remember their neighbors, who may be in need.

    Sincerely,

    Mayor Jim Miron

  12. 12 ronmoreau

    Sudds,

    I find it ODD that the Mayor doesn’t know when the polls open and close.

  13. 13 sudds

    Really???

    I would find it odd if A mayor didn’t know… but NOTHING from this jackalope surprises me anymore!!!

  14. 14 ronmoreau

    Sudds,

    Nice SHOT from your sniper position.

  15. 15 jezebel282

    George,

    “What ever happened to the play write?”

    To this day, I do not know who the Playwrite was or what happened.

    “The same people EISENHOWER warned about
    The same people NIXON tapes proved existed
    The same people FRANK CHURCH Committee exposed, were SUB ROSA”

    And this is exactly why you will only get the same 30 votes as last time.

  16. 16 sudds

    “Sudds,

    Nice SHOT from your sniper position.”

    UMM… thanks?

  17. 17 ronmoreau

    Sudds,

    You’re welcome.

  18. 18 nomoreyears

    People of Stratford! Tomorrow is your day!

    I wish you the best of luck!

    PS – It was great seeing Stratford’s finest on the corner of Main and Barnum supporting Stratford’s next mayor.

  19. 19 jezebel282

    Nomore,

    It won’t be luck. It will be on purpose.

    As I, and many others, said a year ago:

    YES WE CAN!

  20. 20 matpcat

    Hey George, There may have been some gerrymandering done in the third district, however my house has been in the third for my whole life. We were not gerrymandered in. “Doc” Gunther on the other hand was gerrymandered out. Hmmm. Good luck to all today.

  21. 21 anyonebutharkins

    Hello again. Let me get something straight. Jeze, you claim that everyone on the DTC is a “kool aid” drinking puppet with no ability to speak for themselves. You say that Stratford needs more bipartisan leaders and yet your “picks” are all from one party (minus one). You have also mentioned that you have spoken with all of the candidates.

    Well first of all, you have not spoken with All the candidates. Perhaps you have spoken to your “picks”, but not their opponents. Which makes your allegations about them to be merely your own uneducated opinions, not facts about any one candidate or another. I find it sad that while you seemingly created this blog to provide an open forum about Stratford politics, what you have really accomplished is to have created a blog just as biased and full of “kool aid drinkers” as you accuse DTC members of.

    Surely you are not so naive as to imply that the stfd RTC does not have it’s own back room politics and is not just as “clique-y” as you think the DTC is? I know fir a fact one of their current council candidates (your pick) is fed up with them and ready to jump ship from all the two faced bull that goes on in that party as well.

    Anyway, I just could not ignore your obvious bias when accusing others of obvious bias. Lol

    before I go, just two more things. 1. I can’t be sure, but logic tells me the election day food drive is stated to end at 6, to allow volunteers to collect all of the donations in a timely manner from all the polling stations, not because aomeone does not know polls close at 8. But far be it for logic to prevail. 2. I would REALLY like to know just how PCS knows that Harkins is such a great husband. Sorta creepy that a random voter would assume to know what goes on behind closed doors between spouses. Does she have a bug over at the Harkins house? Lol
    John Edwards was a great husband and family man too, right? Heck, who was more about family than a Kennedy – JFK? It’s ok to support Harkins, but let’s leave the cannonization of his yet to be proven skills as a husband to his wife. Even politicians deserve some privacy.

    Oops. One more thing. With sinks and dinks. What about si/di – kids out of nest? Everyone knows seniors can get crabby about paying extra taxes for schools they no longer utilize, but does that mean they can’t understand decisions made around BOE spending? What about a sink who us a teacher? Is he/she also clueless just because they don’t gave a ring on their finger or a crib in the next room? Infertile couples, also in the dark, unable to form an opinion about budgets? Anyway, you get my point. Your dink/sink blog just seemed awfully elitist. (wouldn’t want to come off like the DTC, right?)

    happy voting all!

  22. 22 anyonebutharkins

    Good luck mcat! I’m pulling for you. You’re the best man, not just for 3, but what our council needs in general. Do your folks proud today. They are with you.

  23. 23 anyonebutharkins

    Reminder- just like last time, I blog from my mobile device and for some reason wordpress won’t allow me to scroll back to edit, so live with the typos. Lol you are all bright enough to know what I am saying.

    Now, go vote

  24. 24 jezebel282

    Anyone,

    I’ll enjoy this last little challenge from you.

    “You say that Stratford needs more bipartisan leaders and yet your “picks” are all from one party (minus one).”

    Yes, yes they are. As a Lifelong Democrat, it pains me to admit that for the first time EVER I will not be voting for a Democrat. But there is a reason. The reason is quite simple. In order to become a democratic candidate you had to take an oath of loyalty to Miron. Let us remember your headlines that Miron was endorsed UNANIMOUSLY by the DTC. And let’s not forget the Fahan memo. Anybody in the DTC speak out against that? No?

    “Well first of all, you have not spoken with All the candidates.”

    We really need to work on your reading comprehension. First of all, I said I tried to speak with as many as I could. Some were simply unecessary having already proven themselves to be rabid Mironistas. Bonnie Reynolds, Jason Santi and Tony Ross come to mind. Why would anyone waste time with them?

    “what you have really accomplished is to have created a blog just as biased and full of “kool aid drinkers” as you accuse DTC members of.”

    LOL!, My friend…YOU are posting here aren’t you? Have I edited a single word? Anyone that wants to can post here that is not profane or irrelevant.

    “Surely you are not so naive as to imply that the stfd RTC does not have it’s own back room politics and is not just as “clique-y” as you think the DTC is?”

    Once again, if you read what I wrote first your comments would make more sense. I merely said that the choices I made does not guarantee that every candidate won’t do something stupid during their term. The chances are less with people who haven’t been stupid enough to endorse Miron.

    “I know fir a fact one of their current council candidates (your pick) is fed up with them and ready to jump ship”

    You mean like Gavin Forrester has already done with the DTC?

    “Anyway, I just could not ignore your obvious bias when accusing others of obvious bias.”

    Everyone has a bias. That’s the nature of humans. I will say that I have tried extremely hard to provide documentation for as much as I could given my resources. When none was available, opinion (which is what this site is about) was labeled as opinion. It is still legal in Stratford to have opinions differing from Miron, you know.

    “but logic tells me the election day food drive is stated to end at 6”

    Wrong again. Sudds likes to point out those little inconsistencies. Other people would call them “incompetence”. It was a typo. The drive is from 6 AM to 8PM, not 8 AM to 6PM. It’s actually posted on Miron’s campaign site: http://www.townofstratford.com.

    “Anyway, you get my point. Your dink/sink blog just seemed awfully elitist.”

    Whew! That was quite a reach! You are saying that PCS should have posted every single demographic? ( By the way, I am one of those empty nesters, not that facts matter to you).

    “Good luck mcat! I’m pulling for you.”

    Sigh…Poor Matt Catalano. I actually like Matt, but with friends like you he may actually lose today. (When Miron’s mom has Catalano signs in her driveway, what point does THAT make?).

    “lol you are all bright enough to know what I am saying.”

    Yes, we do. Remember, that Blackberry is Town property. You have to give it back on Dec 12th.

  25. 25 phineast

    Great post Jez.
    The only time Jim is transparent is when he is blogging….on our dime.
    Acutally the transition begins immediately not the 12 of December. He could be remanded to surrender all his equipment after midnight, there is nothing in the law that prevents it from what I have been told. If there is something I’d love to see it in writing!
    Just curious about something-isn’t what Jim did with Catalano the exact same thing that he accused the other third district candidate of via hear/say and a “theory”, but he actually did it in writing????? Isn’t that a violation of the DTC all supreme rules? Just one more reason the voters are gonna say bye bye to Jim today-he thinks the rules are for everyone else BUT him.

    Go vote everyone! If you don’t use your voice to vote, don’t bother to use it to complain after the election!!!!!!

  26. 26 anyonebutharkins

    Now now jeze. I am not a town employee, therefore I can afford an iPhone, no need for the antiquated blackberry. I have also not taken any secret oaths nor signed anything in blood. I have friends on both sides of the canvas in this town and gasp! even some independents. Just because someone blogs here and does not express venomous hate toward the mayor or either political party does not make them a mironista nor a kool aid addict. I just see other sides to your stories. There are viable candidates on both sides. There are some that see only one thing and there are open ones as well. You also can’t go by “unanimous” endorsements the repubs had those too. I’m just suggesting you admit you can be just as narrowminded when it comes to the DTC as you accuse them of being. There is always a grey area. You can’t group the whole party under one description. Especially when you have neither met nor spoken with the majority of them. Your opinions then are just that, opinions. Based on hearsay, other peoples biases or god forbid, the shady reporting in the ct enquire… Er, post. I mean seriously, Dom??

  27. 27 jezebel282

    Anyone,

    “You also can’t go by “unanimous” endorsements the repubs had those too.”

    Actually, I remember the Republicans had a primary. You know? A vote open to every registered Republican? I believe Harkins won with 80%. Do you think Miron could have withstood a primary vote among real Democrats?

    “I’m just suggesting you admit you can be just as narrowminded when it comes to the DTC as you accuse them of being.”

    I have never once denied that I have an opinion or that the posts here are anything but opinions. Let us remember the reason this blog exists in the first place; Miron FIRES people who have opinions that do not match his. (He fires them for lots of reasons, but that certainly is a key one).

    As for narrow minded, when you are confronted by fact and fact, it is not considered “Narrow minded”.

    “There is always a grey area.”

    No, sadly it is not that grey. Since I took responsibility for the blog from the Playwrite back in April of 08 there have been over 200 articles and over 9,000 comments. I don’t have data before that, but I am certain the Playwrite had a similar amount. Not a SINGLE one has been proven incorrect.

    Let’s think about that for a minute…..200+ articles and 9,000+ comments. That, my friend, is a tidal wave of dislike for Miron.

    “Your opinions then are just that, opinions. ”

    Of course they are. Who else’s would they be? This is a blog for opinions. This is not the NY Times or CNN. It’s a B-L-O-G. Hopefully, most readers, with obvious exceptions such as yourself, can identify an informed opinion when they read it.

    “the shady reporting in the ct enquire… Er, post. I mean seriously, Dom??”

    When writing about Stratford, the Post is about an 80% accurate. There is usually much more to the stories they print than usually appears. The Star has an abysmal record for accuracy and bias.

    But at least here we agree. Dom Costello? They have GOT to be kidding.

  28. 28 anyonebutharkins

    There is no proven fact that every member of the DTC is a brainwashed fool. None.

    In 07 Emma Brooks was nominated unanimously. She was still primaried by Singh. Primaries do not always mean the endorsement was not unanimous.

  29. 29 anyonebutharkins

    Oh and seriously, after four years, don’t you think it’s time to put the whole firing thing to rest? It’s not like this was the first new administration in the history of politics to clean a little bit of house. It comes with the territory. I’m sure any future administration will do the same. Will you complain about that for four years too?

  30. 30 jezebel282

    Anyone,

    “There is no proven fact that every member of the DTC is a brainwashed fool. None. ”

    OK, Fine…

    Proof:

    https://stratfordcharter.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/2009_10_21_09_10_34.pdf

    A Rat Live Among Us?

    How many DTC members defended John Fahan. How many protested Miron’s wish to “exterminate” him? How many kept their mouths shut and went along with it?

  31. 31 ronmoreau

    Jez,

    I was told by a Bpt. councilman, a week or so ago, that Miron was Bridgeports ‘connection’ in Stratford. He went on to say they didn’t think he would win reelection.

    So it makes sense to me that the ct. post would endorse Costello.

    !- To split the republican vote again, giving the election to Miron.

    2-If that doesn’t work and Costello wins, To get his support for Bridgeport.

    Both senarios are not good for Stratford.

    A landslide victory for John Harkins will send a HUGE message to Bridgeport.

  32. 32 jezebel282

    Anyone,

    “Oh and seriously, after four years, don’t you think it’s time to put the whole firing thing to rest?”

    Absolutely not. What better example is there of Miron’s complete disregard for Stratford residents?

    Because some politicians do it, that makes it OK to terminate qualified talented and dedicated employees?

    Remember, Miron said before the last election (yet another lie) he wouldn’t change anything?

    But terminations are not enough for Miron are they? Sometimes he wants to take pensions away (Doug O’Meara and Jay Cybart) or have honest employees arrested (Joe McNeil and Orlando Soto).

    Honestly, Anyone, at some point you have to be accountable for the things that you’ve done. Today is that day for Miron.

  33. 33 sudds

    Anyone,

    “It’s not like this was the first new administration in the history of politics to clean a little bit of house. It comes with the territory. I’m sure any future administration will do the same.”

    LET’S HOPE SO!!!

    Hopefully Harkins will start with a certain police officer who (1) is unqualified for the job and (2) has been on light-duty for several months now!!!

  34. 34 1george1

    Matt,
    Good luck to you as well.
    If I do not win the 3rd, I hope you do.
    My antagonism toward Mr. Fahan is not personal, but political.
    The 3rd has very, very, very weird gerrymandering.
    But then the Oronoque Villagers and concentration of black vote
    was also broken up as well.

    To those who gripe about the Republicans and Democrats.
    YOU ARE CORRECT!! 🙂
    Why not vote for GEORGE E. MULLIGAN? 😉

    If you have been to nomination meetings of both parties, most of
    the selections are hand picked by either a district or by the Town
    Committee Powers of Attorneys, Bean Counters, Vested Interest.

    They always allow for a couple of people to primary, to cause the
    O. T. for the REGISTRARS and have the HAND PICKED PEOPLE FRAME
    the ISSUES they want discussed, and not mention ISSUES they do not
    want the PUBLIC and PRESS to even think about.

    The Town Council Budgets for Primaries.
    The Political Parties use Tax Payer Money to steer money to the party
    faithful.

    Jeze,
    Rich Weizel rarely quotes anyone accurately, and the POST has its’ own
    agenda, which does not benefit Stratford for the most part.

    Rich corrected information he published and after I pointed out that he
    consistently characterized me as Gadfly (guilty), Neck tire (guilty), and
    the POWERBALL quote (quote). Rich was unable to fit the Pinnochio quote.
    Rich actually did fair reporting in limited space, the last 2 weeks.
    When I mess up or do the unusual – that is fair game.
    Rich has ability. I believe Rich allowed his prejudice to color his reporting
    over the past couple years. Rich looks for the “if it bleeds – it leads” type
    of New York (once a very good paper) Post journalism. The Mayor and the
    Town Council would play to Rich and his deadline, and when he went to
    write his story before deadline, the real stories came out.

    However I pointed to Rich the years I gave him info at Town Council
    Meetings and tried to be a positive, affirmative voice on many issues,
    he has rarely mentioned me.

    Fred (always 2nd row behind Public Forum Podium in the camera) and
    Kovach always stayed to the end of Town Council Meetings and got the
    JUICE DROPPINGS from the MEAT of the VARIOUS PATRONAGE SCAMS that
    the Town Council saves for late in the agenda.

    Conversely, unlike Rich, Kovach and Musante were NOT YOUR APOLOGISTS.

    Kovach editted me for grammar, spelling, and checked with me about
    deleting the town paying for LBW Propane Tank removal, which was an
    error. Kovach reporting was accurate. His editorials refelected his views.
    I would be untruthful, if I did not write that the Star / Post / Bard treat
    ment of my submissions for Letters to the Editor (UNPAID & MY TIME) do
    COLOUR my PREJUDICE.

    Musante showed journalistic integrity when he asked certain questions
    and was given my version about certain events. The result was Musante
    and later Kovach printed many of my Letter, virtually verbatim.

    Terceno and I got off to a rocky start years ago. However, once Jack
    explained the rules and processures, I abided by what he and his Star
    needed me for limits and contact. We are wildly different in politics,
    however we created mutual respect in our appreciation for Stratford.

    The POST rarely published my issues about Stratford in my Letters to
    the Editor, and their Editing cause Pedoto to twice get lies about my
    life in the Press. Pedoto and Brill helped me get issues in front of the
    people, when I was allowed to rebutt.

    By far and away the most decent person and fairest reporter / editor
    was Tris DeRoma, who knew exactly what was going on in town. His
    reporting, editorials, and fairness in Letters to the Editor allowed me
    an opportunity to build credibility, enhanced by the Star, to formulate
    articulations of events while deconstructing the BUNKO.

  35. 35 anyonebutharkins

    Jeze I do not know if or how many dtc members received and/or protested the memo you posted here. I was not privvy to any of that. I only saw what you posted here and obviously, there is no way for me to verify how accurate/truthful that post was. So I can’t put a dog in that race. Lol

  36. 36 cstratct

    Jezebel,

    There’s no denying the bias you bring to the proceedings. We all do. But all the bluster about Miron’s e-mail is just that: bluster. It’s a political campaign, Fahan was nominated as a Democrat, he’s attending Harkins functions seemingly to support Harkins. Remember Zell Miller? Colin Powell? What did their respective parties do to them when they went against the party line? The least you can do is maintain the same standards for all parties and candidates.

    I notice you haven’t looked into Mr. Harkins handling of the Shakespeare situation with the Republican candidates. You’re very silent on that front. Yet there is just as much “evidence” to show that Harkins was strong-arming candidates, telling them to stay out of it or keep their mouths shut. Why no discussion of those tactics or proceedings?

    We get it, you don’t like Miron. You’ve made that very clear. But in your zeal to condemn one individual you’ve lost sight of your own desire to create a more bi-partisan town government.

    Mike Henrick for Zoning? Please explain why Henrick is a good candidate for Zoning after what we’ve seen from him just over the last 2 years. Is it simply that he’s not a Democrat?

    Obviously you’re guilty of exactly the same type of myopic thinking you’re accusing Democrats of on this blog.

  37. 37 cstratct

    I should have said, “We all bring bias to the debate.” Too quick on the submit button.

  38. 38 sudds

    “There’s no denying the bias you bring to the proceedings. We all do.”

    NOT ME!!! I just want the no-show job at the train station!!!

    Speaking of which… I won’t be voting until around 6:00… so my vote is still for sallll…. umm, I mean undecided!!!

  39. 39 mikereynolds

    Chris,

    I would never engage in a debate regarding the theater contract because I’m smart enough to know not to argue with someone more informed on a subject than I.

    I would agree that this contract is awful and that we should return to the proverbial drawing board and get this done correctly.

    However, those of you who support the theater come across as making the theater THE issue in this election. It is but one piece of the whole pie. I often get the impression that Ed Goodrich, Sib Law, yourself, et al are trying to hijack this election based on one issue.

    We have many problems in Stratford, the theater is one to be sure, but not the only one. Whether or not it is the supporters of the theater’s intention to influence this election based on one issue is known only to those people. However to those who don’t share the same passion for the theater it sure looks that way.

  40. 40 cstratct

    Mike,

    I realize this is not the only issue, but it is a hotly contested issue. I’ve commented on the education situation on topix, along with many other issues. I’ve never ducked an issue regardless of some of the less than appropriate comments that were directed my way.

    I brought up the theatre issue in this instance because it exposes the party line mentality others suggest is not a part of Harkins campaign or the RTC’s agenda. It most certainly is and the theatre exposed deep divisions among the RTC. The same mentality is pervasive among both sides.

    I don’t want to see the election turn on just one issue, just as I don’t like it when national elections revolve around one issue (see Ned Lamont’s campaign as an example).

    Regardless of who wins today, I hope the town leaders will move in a different direction with the theatre.

    As for education, I certainly hope (although I’m not holding my breath) that someone can bring some sanity to the BOE. The Mayor may not have handled the situation with Cornish very well, but Cornish’s actions (taking her 3% raise on top of her $176K salary while demanding givebacks from the teachers) and her scare tactics regarding “draconian” cuts to the proposed BOE budget ($1.3M on an $89M budget) left a lot to be desired. Every administrator in the school system got theirs, but the teachers got squeezed.

    So yes, I agree there are a lot of issues in this town, I merely used the theatre situation as an example in this particular discussion.

  41. 41 cstratct

    One other point about the “theatre” issue. I don’t believe it is only about the theatre. It is about the grounds. The waterfront property that comes with the theatre and the proposed development. It’s not just about re-opening the theatre. Since only 20% of the property needs to be reserved for public space, I think it’s extremely important to know what’s being done with the other 80%. That’s not just a theatre issue, that a land development and waterfront issue.

  42. 42 sudds

    Candidate Catalano…

    Your website and the Town Republican website say that you are a “Stratford Small Business Owner” and “Member International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees Local 74, Southern CT.”

    Also, one of them says that one of your top 3 business issues is to “Open the Shakespeare Theater”.

    I smell some serious Nepotism here… can you please elaborate on how these two paths will NOT cross???

  43. 43 jezebel282

    Christopher,

    “I brought up the theatre issue in this instance because it exposes the party line mentality others suggest is not a part of Harkins campaign or the RTC’s agenda.”

    I’m not sure how many times Harkins can say he doesn’t like the existing contract before you believe him, but he doesn’t. You and I both agree that certain Councilmen (like Mike Julian) who shall remain nameless (oops!) seem extremely anxious to give away $3.5 million for nothing. For the life of me, it just makes no sense.

    The Town is seriously divided on this theater and obviously some more debate is required. And not in a one minute format.

  44. 44 jezebel282

    Christopher,

    “Mike Henrick for Zoning? Please explain why Henrick is a good candidate for Zoning after what we’ve seen from him just over the last 2 years. Is it simply that he’s not a Democrat?”

    Be careful of that logic. The same could be said about Miron. After what we’ve seen from him just over the last 4 years?

  45. 45 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    “NOT ME!!! I just want the no-show job at the train station!!!”

    There may be a blog editor’s job becoming available soon. You don’t have to show up anywhere in particular as long as there is a hotspot available.

  46. 46 jezebel282

    Anyone,

    “Jeze I do not know if or how many dtc members received and/or protested the memo you posted here. I was not privvy to any of that. I only saw what you posted here and obviously, there is no way for me to verify how accurate/truthful that post was. So I can’t put a dog in that race. Lol”

    Please….

    You asked for proof. You got it.

    That is the one good thing about Miron. You don’t have to make anything up. He does it all for you. Saves time.

    When Miron loses, it will be to his biggest opponent: James R. Miron. Sadly, he will take everyone he can down with him.

  47. 47 cstratct

    That’s my point Jezebel.

    In this very thread you are supporting Mike Henrick for Zoning. The question is why? You have gone pretty much straight Republican, regardless of the qualifications of the individual. You have admitted as much by painting all Democrats with the same brush. For months you talked of a “turf war” between the two gangs. Now instead of carefully reviewing all the candidates and their individual credentials, you engage in the same type of “gang warfare” you condemned not too long ago. That just seems counterproductive and appears to contradict your stated desire for a bi-partisan solution.

  48. 48 cstratct

    By the way, I didn’t see an explanation of the Mike Henrick endorsement. What is the logic behind that?

  49. 50 ronmoreau

    Sudds,

    Matt Catalano has been at Stratford High for the last 4 hrs. So I don’t think he will be responding for a while.

  50. 51 sudds

    D’oh… sorry, my confusion… I’m directing this to the wrong person… I meant Chris (or whoever cstratct is)… (thanks Ron)

  51. 52 jezebel282

    Christopher,

    “That just seems counterproductive and appears to contradict your stated desire for a bi-partisan solution.”

    Actually, neither the RTC nor DTC have done anything productive for the Town. So a bi-partisan coalition of Bloods and Crips is not really a solution. If I had to propose a solution it would be for regular citizens to become involved and vote in the Town Committees. It might be easier for real Democrats to do that after today.

    “By the way, I didn’t see an explanation of the Mike Henrick endorsement.”

    I have a feeling you don’t like Mr. Henrick much. Mike is not a bad guy. He actually does care about Stratford. However when you put him in the same room as Miron something really bad always happens. At least Miron won’t be at Zoning meetings.

  52. 53 cstratct

    Sudds,

    You’re correct, it’s Chris.

    I’m not sure you understand the meaning of the word nepotism.

    I’m certainly not going to speak for Mr. Catalano, but I believe you’re over-reaching with regard this situation. He would not be running the facility, therefore he would not be responsible for hiring members of IATSE were the theatre to be a union house. There’s no guarantee that any developer would even run the theatre as a union house (although I believe that would be a mistake from a public relations perspective).

    Your implication that being a small business owner would invite nepotism into the process opens the door to question other’s motives as well.

    I believe that Mr. Julian, Mr. Henrick and Mr. O’Neal are all contractors correct? They all voted to approve this contract. No one knows who Mr. Hanney would hire to work on the building during the renovation. Not to mention that Mr. Henrick is looking to be seated on the Zoning Commission, which will have authority over any buildings the developer might want to contruct on the property.

    So if you want to go down the conspiracy road, there are plenty of paths to take.

  53. 54 cstratct

    Jezebel,

    Obviously I have a very different impression of Mike Henrick based on my interactions with him. There are two sides to every story, but suffice it to say Mike Henrick has insulted me on more than one occasion going back to December of last year. I’m sure I’ll get attacked for this statement, but my direct interactions with Mike Henrick have not been productive. I’took responsibility for my actions during the June meeting and apologized, but there were at least two other instances where I was derided by Mike Henrick without any provocation.

    He may care about Stratford, but he exhibits a lot of disdain for its residents when they voice an opinion contrary to his own. Isn’t that one of the things you’ve been highly critical of regarding other candidates?

  54. 55 jezebel282

    Christopher,

    “There’s no guarantee that any developer would even run the theatre as a union house (although I believe that would be a mistake from a public relations perspective).”

    My nephew is a member of NY Stagehand Local 1. I would be very upset if it wasn’t a union house.

    “but suffice it to say Mike Henrick has insulted me on more than one occasion going back to December of last year.”

    ROTFLMAO! Christopher! I have insulted you (and vice versa) for a long time too. However, I still regard you as extremely well qualified to sit on the Arts Commission. And as soon as Miron is gone, I will probably start to believe you’re not really stupid about other Town issues as well. At least you will have better guidance.

  55. 56 cstratct

    Jezebel, there’s one big difference with respect to Mike Henrick. Mike Henrick is an elected official. I don’t even know who you are. You and I bickering on a blog is not the same as addressing the town’s business or residents in council chambers. Treating the residents of this town with respect should be one of the requirements of the position. Again, isn’t this one of the things you’ve been highly critical of regarding other candidates?

    I should point out that it would be a good idea to have a union house for many reasons, not just public relations. If the house is not union it will be difficult to book a lot of acts. I’m not saying the current developer or any developer won’t have a union house, it’s just that we haven’t seen any plans, so we don’t know what the plans are for the operation of the facility.

    I’ll ignore your final statement as it falls back into bad habits. I’m trying to be more respectful of all regardless of the stuff thrown my way.

  56. 57 jezebel282

    Christopher,

    I’m not really sure what your point is (perhaps I lost it somewhere) about Henrick. Is it that he was not polite enough to you? Or that he disagreed with you?

    To be frank, I can’t imagine a more thankless job than Councilman. Everyone criticizes you and those that do agree with you are often silent. You devote countless hours of your own time and must sit and listen to the same 10 or 12 angry citizens week after week. And except for the budget, it’s the mayor that has the real day to day power.

    After 4 years of sitting on the Council watching Miron just maul his way through, I don’t doubt that Mike Henrick gets a bit testy from time to time.

  57. 58 1george1

    Mike Reynolds –

    Excellent post!!

    Very good point about hijacking the election on 1 issue. (Theater)

    Chris is stuck on the very indefensible contract and does not see
    it for the diversion it is. Yet he could also be correct, if somehow
    it stands. “Hey …. this IS Stratford!”

    It is extremely analygous to my posts about both parties hijacking
    (your word to give props) the election based on the same talking
    points, with out giving specifics on solving problems and avoiding
    THE 3 BIGGEST ISSUES.

    Jeze, I have absolutely no doubt about Chris’s motives or qualifications.
    I want property tax and license paying operations, including Shakespeare.
    Chris prefers non profit operator, which can subcontract to profit that
    can pay property tax & licensing (IF I am correct on Chris’s position)
    Chris wants summer Shakespeare.
    I want Fall & Spring Shakespeare related to school kid matinees and use
    the Shakespeare / P T Barnum names for Spring / Summer / Fall State
    Festival Tourism. I have no objection to some Summer Shakespeare.
    We each are desirous of having other supplemental forms of entertainment.

    Chris simply has not seen the Miron / Burturla / Florek / Kelly / Norm
    act, time and time and time and time and time again. Even the public is
    catching on. Will Rogers said – “NO ONE went broke underestimating the
    intelligence of the american people.”
    Unfortunately in gambling casinos and politics ..”The house always wins!”

    I saw Harkins, Catalano, Fahan, Barnaby, Kennedy, Young & her opponent,
    Joy and Kelly. I wished everyone but Kevin Kelly good luck.

    I told him if I was elected Mayor (no chance) there would be new Town
    Attorneys and Assistants. I am equal opportunity in wanting to replace
    any and ALL past Town Attorneys.
    Work would be done in Town Hall instead of triple charged at their
    respective Castles. 😦

    Kelly, Florek, & Burturla lied related to Mossman compared to fiduciary
    obligation in CT. Practice book, Lawyers Code, U. S. Code, and CT general
    Statutes. I still waiting for investigation into a SERIES of DEATHS.
    May they all live a long and prosperous life … …
    and spend eternity in hell

    Henrich for Zoning?

    Why not just forget about Historic Stratford.

    Can you see the sky scrapers on AVCO and Condos all around town?

    I am not sure Georgia Pacific makes enough brown paper bags? 😦

  58. 59 1george1

    I told Marcone yesterday and Kennedy today that I trust Dick Miron
    more than I trust DeCilio.

    And

    I do NOT TRUST MIRON at ALL!

    There are many good D + R.

    I told Barnaby to not let the taint get on him, as he was standing
    next to Kevin Kelly who like Schirillo and certain others has very
    sad eyes, due to what they did and didn’t do in the past.

    Mossman and Dicks could not look me in the eye.

    Loschiavo & Schirillo are about as bright as Crudo, and I do not
    believe any of them understand they are played and what it has
    cost them in intangibles, while they pull in extra …..

  59. 60 cstratct

    Jezebel, We’ll just have to agree to disagree about Henrick. As far as I’m concerned it goes far beyond getting a little “testy” from time to time. It’s one thing to get frustrated from time to time while wanting what is best for the town and making a good faith effort to affect positive change. It’s quite another to dismiss the insight and knowledge others may bring to a situation and refuse to engage in any form of constructive discourse. Unfortunately with Mike Henrick I found the latter to be the case.

    As for “hijacking” the election with this issue, that has never been my intention. Do I believe it is important for the reasons I stated above? Absolutely.

    As others have pointed out, education, transportation (rail station), AVCO, Raymark, and the airport (I wouldn’t call it expansion) are all important issues. I keep myself informed about these issues. As I said before, I’ll be thrilled just to have this election behind us, as what has gone on among all parties the last year speaks volumes about the level of discourse among all participants in the process.


Leave a Reply

