High Notes

10Nov09
Picture 001

The Bravest and Finest

We return briefly for a cameo appearance. Not all news is bad in Stratford. After four long years, the work of Stratford’s Bravest and Finest has finally been recognized. And the selections couldn’t be better.

Police Officer of the Year:
Officer Rosenbaum is an example of what police officers aspire to be (are they all that young or is it me? Never mind…it was a rhetorical question.) He is an intelligent, bright, observant and polite officer. He’s cute too. By the way, his mother was just bursting with nachas and did not miss the opportunity to kvell. Note to women readers: I am told it is not allowed to call the PD and specifically request Officer Rosenbaum.

Firefighter of the Year
Asst Chief Murray was the first professional female firefighter in the State of Connecticut. We need not go into how difficult it was to break into that particular boy’s club. Not only did she succeed, she has done so on a continuing basis for 27 years. Soon to receive her Master’s degree. Note to male readers: Similarly, it is not allowed to call the FD and request assistance specifically from Asst Chief Murray.

Congratulations to both Officer Rosenbaum and Asst Chief Murray!

38 Responses to “High Notes”

  1. 1 jezebel282

    Oh..any guesses as to which Chief Executive of the Town of Stratford did not make an appearance at the Council presentation?

    (Who puts a picture of himself outside of his own office anyway?)

  2. 2 jezebel282

    As long as we are spreading a bit of praise about, there is yet one more that deserves mention.

    The Councilman who was the driving force behind recognizing the service of Stratford’s Finest & Bravest: Alvin O’Neal.

    Thank you, Councilman O’Neal. It was the right thing to do.

  3. 3 1george1

    Before I left, I told Alvin he grew in the Council and did good things.

    These award are typical of Alvin, who knows the value of public praise.
    He handed out over 100 awards to HS athletes.
    The awards were kinda flimsy, however the sentiment was not.

    The Mayor was supposedly in his office several months ago when Alvin
    gave out the awards. No other Councilor attended them,
    Tom Moore told me he was unaware. I believe Tom = good person.

    I can like people, as people, and dislike political decisions.

    Ironic that I praised Mrs. Murray and the Police Officer, stating I much
    prefer professional police and fire, while my cousin was past Fire Chief
    of a volunteer Fire Department in a town with rural issues similar to the
    FIRE where someone died.

    I pointed out the FIRE DEPT could not have stopped the FIRE, nor saved
    the person’s life, but if the TOWN COUNCIL and MAYOR had not played
    politics and bought the PUMPER years ago … the PUBLIC SAFEYTY ISSUE
    the residents spoke about would not be an issue.

    I actually spoke about covering the cost of new fire hydrants, however
    I am going to extrapolate and project, based on what we learned later
    in the blatantly choreographed Town Council Meeting:

    I also point out that if the highest pension of $ 134,000 was $ 58,000 or
    the 70 % of base pay … the $ 75,000 annual savings would be $ 450,000
    after 6 years or the cost of 1 of the 2 fire trucks, which have 12 to 15
    year service lives.

    Even extraordinary high 70 % of Base Pay, could have paid for BOTH
    FIRE TRUCKS by saving $ 900,000 OVER 12 years.
    Both trucks combined, including equipment cost $ 905,000

    I wonder who will get Commission from the sale from the factory? 😉

    I know there are good people among the readers.

    I know there are selfish and/or unprincipled among the readers.

    However I am setting forth facts,,,
    Will anyone challenge the Pension Facts and cost of Fire Trucks
    and the on going theft by politics? < opinion 8)

  4. 4 mikereynolds

    Word is that Winterbottom and Norko have tendered their resignations.

    Word also has it that Miron and Burturla have been scarce around town hall.

  5. 5 jezebel282

    Word is that the list is growing. Norko, Winterbottom, McCauley so far.

    It may be better for their future if others did the same instead of waiting to be fired or dismissed for cause. That is if they ever want to be, say, Chief of Something again.

    Lord knows there is certainly enough cause.

  6. 6 jezebel282

    George,

    The same squandering of money could be said of the legal fees paid to Berchem Devlin & Moses. $ 2 million (minimum) could have bought a LOT of things.

  7. 7 1george1

    As the questioning dragged on about the fire trucks …

    I whispered to Weizel to stay and for Kovach to pay attention
    as there was going to be something NOT on the AGENDA, late
    in the MEETING.

    JULIAN did NOT disappoint, with the RESOLUTION for TRANSITION
    so HARKINS can hit the road running.

    I favor a transition.
    I favor the reasoning to have a resolution (have not seen content)

    The issues I raise:
    STAGED & CHOREOGRAPHED Public Forum + Fire / Police events

    (still congratulate award recipients as deserving, as long as it does not
    add to TAX PAYERS funding PENSION computations) 😉 8) 🙂

    DRAGGED OUT staged Event

    Last minute RESOLUTION.

    From Pirates of the Carribean:

    “You can always count on dishonest people, doing dishonest things.
    It the honest people that are unpredictable.”

    Henrick does not realize it, but he put a target on himself when he
    ran (and won) ZONING.

    JULIAN, GAVIN, and KUBEC lost credibility in my eyes, like HENRICK.

    MOORE, STROOMER, & DEMPSEY are easy going and just go along.
    MOORE’s FAC is capable of doing good things.
    Not as good as a Bill of Particulars will do, but ….. 😉

    ALVIN GREW, but still played the game.
    EMMA was in auto accident and she and AMY were the only 2 people
    that I believe MOSTLY fulfilled their FIDUCIARY OBLIGATION.

    I talked to TOM MURRAY.
    I gave him honest compliments.
    I also told TOM we have honest room to butt heads on political issues,
    especially as they relate to PENSIONS.

    Henrick cutting me off during Public Forum, within my Constitutional
    Rights truly embarassed him and the entire Town Council, all attornesy
    and all Police & Fire present, besides everyone there except
    HANK CIECHUK who spoke up for CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT to SPEAK.

    I guess NONE of them believe in the CONSTITUTION & BILL of RIGHTS?

    Comeon GAVIN …

    I asked you to be my 3rd District Representative to the Town Attorney.
    You told me not tonight, maybe in 1 + month.
    You failed yourself, in my opinion.

  8. 8 jezebel282

    George,

    Did you even see the title on this page?

    Can you not take but a few seconds and at least acknowledge the contributions of Asst Chief Murray and Officer Rosenbaum?

  9. 9 1george1

    Did you even see the title on this page?

    Can you not take but a few seconds and at least acknowledge the contributions of Asst Chief Murray and Officer Rosenbaum?

    jeze – see post # 3

    Ironic that I praised Mrs. Murray and the Police Officer, stating I much
    prefer professional police and fire, while my cousin was past Fire Chief
    of a volunteer Fire Department in a town with rural issues similar to the
    FIRE where someone died.

    This post:
    Jeze, I completely missed the presentation to the police officer.

    I thought you did a nice job praising the 2 worthy award recipients in
    your usual police and fire can do no wrong, unless they are a Mironut.
    Since I did not contradict you, effectually I concurred with your praise.
    Now you have it in writing.

    Besides, if you do not kvetch bout sumptin, your day aint made… 😉

    Mrs. Murray is married, and no offense but I ain’t commenting on
    cuteness of people in uniform, which I wore weekly for 6 years.
    I am into substance rather than style or fashion.

    There were substantive reasons these 2 people were awarded as a
    symbolic reward.

    When does Joe McNeil get back Captainship?
    When will the Chris Miron + Dick Miron cases be dismissed or paid off?

  10. 10 1george1

    George,

    The same squandering of money could be said of the legal fees paid to Berchem Devlin & Moses. $ 2 million (minimum) could have bought a LOT of things.

    AMEN
    ZERO ARGUMENT

    From Mike R.

    Word is that Winterbottom and Norko have tendered their resignations.

    Word also has it that Miron and Burturla have been scarce around town hall.

    I LIKED NORKO
    The other 3 are lawyers.
    Whomever Harkins picks as Town Attorney will determine if Stratford
    has a future or not?
    If Harkins picks ANYONE who is an Attorney and has been on the
    Town Council, a Commission or T. A. Office then he will seal his
    own fate.
    Other worse choices involve Bridgeport Attorneys.

    Yo Jeze,
    Your comments and Mike’s had nothing to do with the awards of the
    bravest of the brave and finest of the fine…. 😉
    But I felt they were interesting & appropropriate comments.

    That Mike R is starting to turn me into a fan …. 🙂
    Observations about activities of 4 key people are legit issues.

  11. 11 1george1

    (Who puts a picture of himself outside of his own office anyway?)

    Rumor is (that I am now making up!) Jim was going to have his initials
    sewn onto ALL uniforms as well as jackets and shirts of department
    heads and town hall personnel.

    Actually – Jim did work hard.
    He did do some good things and for people other people exclude.

    By no means am I a fan.
    However I try to give credit (& blame) where it is due.

    Kubec teased me that some of my 40 signs may have been placed illegally
    (on Monday Nov 2 and/or moved Tues Nov 3 and picked up by 11 pm)?

    Mostly I put my signs where the other candidates placed thiers,
    although I had the West Broad ROTARY to myself of my 2 signs for
    awhile monday Nov 3 from 3 pm on ….

    They called the meeting to order and I did not get my chance to tease
    kubec back.
    However Walter Rimkunis had me almost fall of the table laughing, when
    he absolutely destroyed Kubec.

    GAVIN nailed MIRON the prior month about being MAYOR at a FUNCTION
    and campaigning with his signs and “stuff” are the MAYORAL FUNCTION.
    Walter Rimkunis used that as foundation.
    Walter Rimkunis then painted out Kubic had his Harkins tea shirt on, during
    the specious special meeting of Repulican Town Councilor (include Gavin).
    An advantage of sitting in the 9th District is the proximity to the Public
    Forum Podium and the TOWN’S (not political parties’) TV CAMERA shot for
    Channel # 79.

    Walter Rimkunis painted a picture that the way to spell K U B E C is
    H Y P O C R I T E !!

    Hey Jeze, can we create Town Council Awards for political hypocracy? 🙂

    I know Henrick wouldn’t get the award.
    He doesn’t even try to hypocritical! 🙂
    While I do not like Henrick’s politics, I have to give him props
    that he actually tried to help JOSIE in the LoSchiavo situation..

    But then McCauley, Miron, and Burturla made it into an Abbott
    & Costello routine.

    One of Stratford’s finest came over to me today, shook my hand, and
    thanked me for BRINGING OUT ISSUES.

    I appreciated that and the respect shown as well as dedication
    (Jeze – I really can get back on track on the subject ??? )

    Our employees are going to have to take a hit and make sacrafices
    for their own good and the good of the town.
    However there are offsets, terms and conditions, which can make
    it more acceptable to most of the workers / retirees, but not the
    thieves, who would not want to give up the con!
    However, I always tried to give credit where due and place blame
    where due. I am awaiting Tom Murry’s request for affadavit from his
    and Burturla’s conversation in front of 15 witnesses as part of a LAW
    SUIT for MALPRACTICE to help the PENSIONER get increased funding. 8)

    I make mistakes.
    I am imperfect.
    I try to be honest, fair, and relatively even handed for long and short
    term view of things.

    – Lastly

    By now, if Kubec has not tossed his computer monitor, I want him to
    know that I have enjoyed teasing him and we have disagreements of
    priorities. His heart knows where he is right and wrong.
    His head and his ego …. 😉

    GAVIN you frustrate me.
    GAVIN you know better.
    GAVIN you have walked the walk in business and volunteer and sometimes
    in politics.
    GAVIN, I can absolutely promise your this! There shall come a time …..

  12. 12 phineast

    George and Jez- I am just curious-exactly who WOULD each of you select as town attorney? and why.

    George you say John seals his fate by his selection…without going into a diatribe of conspiracies…if you want someone who is not just out of law school any attorney that is selected is bound to know at least one other attorney on you “list”… or do you prefer to have a completely non experienced person represent this town?

  13. 13 jezebel282

    Phin,

    “I am just curious-exactly who WOULD each of you select as town attorney? and why.”

    Excellent question.

    If you recall, Kevin Kelley had little or no municipal experience when he first became Town Attorney. From there he developed a very successful law firm.

    So I’m not exactly sure what “experience” would be required. I kinda thought that’s what the Bar Exam was for. As I have said, in a perfect world the Town Attorney would represent the Town. The Town being us taxpayers. The Charter and Miron turned the position into the Mayor’s lawyer whom he can sic on anyone he wants. (Ask Jay Cybart or Doug O’Meara).

    If you look at the bulk of the cases actually on the docket, they are far and away mostly tax collection issues. My primary choice would be a corporate or tax attorney on a full time salaried basis with a consulting budget for those specific areas that require special knowledge.

  14. 14 jezebel282

    George,

    “Mrs. Murray is married, and no offense but I ain’t commenting on
    cuteness of people in uniform,”

    LOL!

    Married people aren’t dead, George. They still like to be thought of as handsome or beautiful.

  15. 15 jezebel282

    While we are on the subject of Stratford’s bravest and Miron appointees, it reminds me how Chief Cavanaugh allowed himself (willingly?) to be used in Miron’s failed campaign.

    Here is Cavanaugh’s testimony to the Council on 9 Nov 2009 (last night).
    http://www.blip.tv/file/2831962/

    Then there is Cavanuagh’s letter to the editor in the CT Post on 28 Oct 2008 (10 days and one mayor earlier):

    Chief rebuts Fire Department allegations
    Updated: 10/28/2009 04:14:38 PM EDT

    In response to the letter written by Stratford Assistant Fire Chief Tom Murray, I would like to set the record straight with the truth.

    Mayor James Miron and his administration understand and appreciate the importance of securing and maintaining quality fire equipment for the protection of our community and our firefighters.

    As fire chief for the Stratford Fire Department, I want to assure town residents that they are safe and protected. We have the finest and best-trained firefighters in the state operating with a system that puts them at the scene of an incident within minutes of every call. Our current apparatus is older, I would agree, but it is functional, safe and effective.

    New fire equipment has been funded at the request of Mayor Miron. Protective eye gear, replacement turn out gear and 36 new portable radios have been ordered for the department. A replacement pumper was purchased and equipped for $197,000 in 2008 as well as funding secured for a rescue pumper. Unfortunately, after repeated requests by the mayor, the Town Council did not provide adequate funding to purchase the badly needed pumper.

    The responsibility for department morale and performance lies with the former leadership of the Fire Department, not with Mayor Miron. They had a responsibility to advocate for the fire service, to set priorities and see that they were funded. However, lack of funding in the past for equipment such as turn out gear and protective eye gear was not an administrative failure but one of Town Council neglect.

    Mayor Miron has restored pride to the fire service by choosing to serve the people of Stratford and the needs of our first responders, not the demands of the public safety unions.

    The negative statements in Assistant Chief Tom Murray’s letter about the Stratford Fire Department are untrue and have cast the department in an awfully bad light. I appreciate the opportunity to set the record straight. It is a pleasure to serve the residents of Stratford and lead this department of dedicated fire professionals.

    James J. Cavanaugh
    Fire Chief
    Stratford

    Was he lying in the letter or was he lying in his presentation to the Council?

  16. 16 phineast

    Good answer Jez, I would like to add a bit of experience with municipal law would be helpful. The good news is that whom ever the town attorney is, that person must be approved by council–the mayor gets to nominate, same with some of the other coveted positions in town. At least then there is a vetting process that hopefully is clearer than a google search and at least a majority will be on board. “But after all, this is Stratford” so who knows what will happen! A couple more “key” resignations and town hall will begin to see the light-the cleansing process will have begun, truly.
    I for one, am looking forward to it.

  17. 17 jezebel282

    Phin,

    Municipal law isn’t rocket science. There is no magic to it. Look at Buturla…the only thing he is actually good at is billing. How many cases have we won?

    Personally, with the battles we are going to have with the Nateras, Bridgeport and Hanney, I would settle for a nice young corporate attorney (not from Stratford) with a taste for blood. If you’re going to jump in a shark tank, it’s better to be a shark.

    I find this whole Cavanaugh episode deeply disturbing as well. There is absolutely no need to lie about equipment requirements unless safety is your second concern and politics is your first. I think the technical firefighting term for at least one of his statements is “false alarm”. It might wash in Waterbury, but not near my house.

  18. 18 phineast

    OK, I’ll concede on this-we do need someone that is not entrenched with Stratford politics-but we do need to know who and what he stands for. Wouldn’t want a repeat of what we have had to deal with recently.
    I wholeheartedly agree with what you are saying about Cavanaugh-and I didn’t much appreciate the bullying that Moffat tried when he literally shoved Dan Ross out of the way to get to the microphone. He has shown that he is cut form the same cloth as Miron-and that doesn’t wash with me-but it will hose him…watching him yank him back to the mic because he couldn’t answer the question was just as bad-made him appear to cross the physical boundary lines of “good touch, bad touch by a superior….” NEVER. NEVER, NEVER touch an employee-because if that employee pushes back there is definately going to be a headline…….you can’t edit everything.

  19. 19 1george1

    Phin –

    Esq. Jack Golden on the Ethics Commission and
    Ben Barnes, Stamford COO / CEO have exceptional resumes

    Ben Branyan, Mike Feeney, & Mark Barnhart have among best
    experience to be Stratford C. O. O., behind Barnes.

    None would be my selection to work in Town Hall as C.O.O.
    or # 1 Town Attorney.

    I might select somelike like Esq. Golden to be acting Town Attorney
    while a “REAL National Search” was publicly executed, with TOP 3
    to be PUBLICLY INTERVIEWED.

    I would seek specific recommendations from Organizations of NADER,
    SIERRA CLUB, ALCU, ABA, COMMON CAUSE, and other diverse places.

    My search would include retirees for number 1 or 2 Town Attorneys.
    I would include newly passed members of the Bar from IVY LEAGUE or
    other entities for number 3.

    Pay scale for
    # 1 = $ 100,000 as full time Employee
    # 2 = $ 90,000
    # 3 = $ 80,000

    # 4 = $ 52,000 as special pt Town Attorney
    1 Full time Secretary + 3 Secretaries for Town Hall pool.
    1 to 3 Paralegals

    They would get Health and other Benefits, including vacation,
    which in Stratford can add 40 – 50 %

    ALL TOWN ATTORNEY WORK would be in TOWN HALL or if done
    at home MANDATED to be exported into TOWN HALL COMPUTERS
    within 1 week.

    Our Town Hall has a office, with Law Library and all OVERHEAD is
    covered.

    The SECOND HARDEST thing for me to do IF I WAS MAYOR, would be
    to find HONEST ATTORNEYS in CORRUPTicut.

    That is not the hardest thing for me, if I was MAYOR.

    The HARDEST thing for me to do IF I WAS MAYOR, would be to find
    HONEST ATTORNEYS in CORRUPTicut, to FILE the LAW SUITS I want
    FILED to go after the SHORTED MANDATED MONEY from the STATE &
    FEDERAL UNFUNDED MANDATES, after completely listing them and by
    FILING MOTIONS for “WRITS of MANDAMUS.”

    I would BILL the former TOWN ATTORNEYS, ATTORNEYS in TOWN,
    past House and Senated elected personnel in Hartford and D. C.
    under the R. I. C. O. Act and E. E. O. C. purviews for violations of
    the 9th, 10th, 13th, and 14th Amendments and PEROGATIVE WRITS
    or PEROGATIVE WARRANTS

    I have no interst in sending people to JAIL or causing them to be
    disbarred. I just would want Stratford to be made whole.

    Every time a JUDGE threw out a CASE, THREE more would be ready
    to be FILED and to CHALLENGE 100 % of te FEDERAL COURT RULES,
    as UNCONSTITUTIONAL ABRIDGMENTS of the 1st, 9th, 10th, 13th,
    and 14th Amendments.

    Every JUDGE would have to face CHALLENGES of QUO WARRANTO!

    Every JUDGE would have to PROVE they were appointed by people
    who did NOT benefit from ILLEGAL, UNCONSTITUTIONAL, IMMORAL,
    and UNETHICAL people who cause WARS, CRIMES, DRUGS, WEAPONS,
    MUNNITIONS, INSIDER TRADING, OIL / GAS, CREDIT CARD, REAL ESTATE
    and TRILATERAL destruction of the economic base of the USA and
    Bridgeport / Stratford in CLASS ACTION “AB LEX PUBLICA.”

    I would love to have war criminal trials for BUSH / BUSH / CHENEY /
    GORE / LIEBERMAN / DODD / CLINTONS / BAMA and all the past and
    present (Federal & State) Senators / Congress and governors and
    100 % of the JUDGES and all the SUER GRADERS for TREASON and
    MALFEASANCE of office.

    Let’s arrest Bush / Cheney and send them to Gitmo for 3 years
    before they can see a lawyer.

    Let have every JUDGE and SENATOR / CONGRESS have cavity searches,
    and I would have SUDDS in charge of that!
    > SUDDS – it is not a NO SHOW JOB, BUTT you read as qualified!

    I would love to see Neutron Jack FIRED!

    I would love to see PAULSON & everyone on Wall Street in a TRADING
    PLACES experience, unlike the Eddie Murphy movie.

    PHIN
    I lost focus on the question, but I had fun.
    pssst. do ya think Jeze will notice? 😉

    SUMMARY:
    No past Attorney involved in any way in Stratford politics should hold
    any position (except prone for Sudds) in Stratford government.
    NO attorney will be allowed to Bill by the HOUR!
    Most work would be done ON site, using Town Employees!!!
    (They have to go to Court + Meetings + some home work)

    OBJECT: Superior Town Attorney performance under $ 500,000 in
    all SALARIES / BENEFITS.

  20. 20 phineast

    The summary would have been sufficient……
    In theory it might work, but the reality of the situation is the Town of Stratford has a LOT of legal issues that require time. To work the type of hours that the town attorney job demands and the expertise it requires as a full time position, I don’t believe that we will attract quality people. Then again in this job market we just might. You just never know-Stratford has a lot to lose if we get a bad attorney or an unethical one…..you have already done that math. No easy solution, no easy solution. I for one will be staying away from 4 tier lawyers, and Harvard lawyers, the quality of their work has not impressed me in the least.

  21. 21 jezebel282

    Phin,

    That WAS George’s summary.

  22. 22 1george1

    Phin –
    I had fun answering your question, knowing that
    – Mr. Fahan claimed “On Target” was Esq. Florek.
    – Esq Kubec & Proto acknowledge they have read this blog.
    – exceptionally strong chance Esq. Burturla, Kelly, Cotter &
    others read the blog or know others who read blog.

    “Stratford has a lot to lose if we get a bad attorney or an unethical one”

    Phin,
    I gotta ask …. Was that statment dripping with sarcasm?

    …..you have already done that math. No easy solution, no easy solution.

    The summary would have been sufficient……
    In theory it might work, but the reality of the situation is the Town of
    Stratford has a LOT of legal issues that require time.

    To work the type of hours that the town attorney job demands and the
    expertise it requires as a full time position, I don’t believe that we will
    attract quality people.

    Phin,
    While “The summary would have been sufficient”

    You could not come to the conclusion, with out the prologue:
    “you have already done that math. No easy solution, no easy solution.”

    Jeze
    “Phin, That WAS George’s summary.”

    Thank you for indulging me and letting ne have fun insulting those
    people who seem to be working against the interest of the USA
    people, and for their own selfish interest and plutocrats / oilogarchs /
    esquirearchs.
    I HAD FUN throwing figurative stones at the powers who are,
    while also POSTING Town Attorney parameters Phin asked for.
    Moved to https://stratfordcharter.wordpress.com/2008/05/15/georges-page/#comment-8830

  23. 23 1george1

    Looked at the picture.
    Uniforms were very sharp – excellent presentation.

    Background molding is similar to my home and camera makes it look
    like Mrs. Murray + Office were standing in a FUN HOUSE.
    Actually the Town Council Chambers acts resemble insane assylum
    and “house of games.”

    Somewhat fruedian? No Smoking was cut off to just read KING.

    Here is where Jeze & I differentiate.
    The CONSTITUTION has writing to prohibit ROYAL TITLES and starts
    with “WE the PEOPLE”
    The entire concept is antithetical to a POLICE STATE.

    From Jeze’s writings, it appears Jeze has crowned POLICE, FIRE, and
    others DEPARTMENTAL people as KINGS and ROYALTY deserving of
    EXTRAORDINARY PAY + BENEFITS + PENSIONS
    (I am putting words in mouth or on blog)
    Moved to: https://stratfordcharter.wordpress.com/2008/05/15/georges-page/#comment-8830

  24. 24 jezebel282

    George,

    Unfortunately they don’t give awards to parents struggling to raise children, people making mortgage payments on time, salespeople spending weeks away from home, production staff working overtime to pay the bills, clerks standing on their feet all day, commuters spending 2 hours in rush hour each way just to get to work or the elderly simply waiting for a visit from their family or neighbor.

    They should.

  25. 25 1george1

    Jeze,

    It is nice to read you know where the box is.

    Predicated on your postings, ya coulda fooled me on priorities.

  26. 26 jezebel282

    George,

    “Predicated on your postings, ya coulda fooled me on priorities.”

    My priorities? George, have you ever seen a post here that was about me? Who I liked, who I respected, who I thought was an ok person, who I thought was nice, who could or could not look me in the eye or my own personal tragedies?

    In four years, no one has spoken for Town residents or Town employees except for the Playwrite. The whole purpose of this blog is to provide a place for residents and employees to express opinions freely and without retribution.

    It isn’t about me and it’s not about you.

  27. 27 1george1

    Jeze,

    Have your priorities always been MORE focused on people Miron
    messed with and police / fire,

    than

    the unaffiliated people who work 2 – 3 jobs, with no benefits, and
    underpaid OR the low / fixed income, families, or small business.

    You have succeeded in having a place to express sentiments and
    gave me practice and information, which helped improve my letters
    to the editor and debates, which played a minor, but complimentary
    role in the results.

    I raised many issues over the last few years that spread through the
    community and helped get people get ticked off @ Miron. Your blog
    and insights from your bloggers had positive and negative influences

    The POLICE / FIRE raised issues, and with Save Stratford endorsements,
    killed Miron in the eyes of voter.
    Weizel was so much against Miron and the Council nonsense which stuck
    mre to Miron / Burturla.
    The Star and Bard reported accurately and I was able to get Letters to
    the Editor for several years, painting a scene / scenario, voters would not
    appreciate the lies and preferential treatment.

    It is not about me. It is not about you. It is about political issues and what
    ever any of considers is in the towns best interest.

    You have had tradgeties,
    I have.
    Everyone has.

    However, when government contributes to those tradgeties, there is a
    need to hold responsible personnel accountable, regardless of pary or
    unaffiliated.

    Had the Republican and Democratic parties, locally and beyond, come
    close to having the deeds match the words ….. we would all be better off!

    Shalom

  28. 28 jezebel282

    George,

    “Have your priorities always been MORE focused on people Miron
    messed with and police / fire,”

    Miron “messed” with us all. From slashing BOE budgets to firing qualified talented people to persecuting anyone who disagreed with him to raising everyone’s taxes to squandering tax dollars to not showing up for work to rewarding incompetence.

    Let’s remember, not one single issue confronting Stratford four years ago has been resolved. The SAEP is still empty, Long Beach West is not sold, the theater is still rotting, the FD still needs equipment, the school buildings have been neglected, the airport will be expanding and yet taxes have gone up 25.74%.

    I know you consider pensions to be a major issue, but in a contract you don’t get what you deserve, you get what you negotiate.

    As for police issues…nothing has been more blatant or absolutely wrong than the hiring of the Town Attorney’s brother as Chief of Police, the hiring of Justin Loschiavo, the retirement of Joe Loschiavo, the involvement of Linda Loschiavo, the hiring of Christian Miron, the persecution of Joe McNeil, Shawn Farmer and Lt Soto or the treatment of Doug O’Meara.

    As for fire department issues…honestly, except for the obvious attempt to destroy Jay Cybart’s reputation and career, not much has been said here regarding the FD. It was only recently that personnel in the FD discovered there was more than one use for their balls.

  29. 29 1george1

    I know you consider pensions to be a major issue, but in a contract you
    don’t get what you deserve, you get what you negotiate.

    And IF there is proven to be FRAUD, CONSPIRACY, or BRIBERY, then the
    CONTRACT can be INVALIDATED and REPUDIATED.

    Unfortunately many innocent people believe what they are told, including
    a VERY INTELLIGENT PCS, who researchs whatever is available to research.

    Are people in both parties going to tell the Unions THAT we have set things
    up a certain way, so that you will not and con not INVESTIGATE US or else it
    will adversely affect these exceptional pensions?

    There are people who KNOW the truth and do not want to give up that
    GOLDEN PENSION which they KNOW can set them up for RETIREMENTS
    where they would have virtually NO FINANCIAL WORRIES, unlike those on
    Social Security only or maybe with a small supplemental Pension?
    > I can not blame them for seeing what they want to see and NOT wanting
    to believe they were entrapped into being part of the problem.

    To clean up the corruption, the way it was set up, there is no way they
    would keep their great pensions. So … they …. hope ,,, to get thiers!

    However, the State (Harkins was there) passed laws to take away pensions
    completely, if there is proveable criminal corruption < sword of damocles!

    There are Pension Tsunamis being stirred up across the country.

    CA and other states including CT. have huge, huge shortfalls and policies
    in place that assure worse results for the general population than good
    results. Since GDP / GNP is 70 % dependent on consumer spending with
    10 % unemployed
    added 10 – 15 % underemployed
    foreclosures at historic levels
    portfolios wiped out = savings to pay bills / credit cards
    credit card rates at loan shark / past usury levels
    factories and industries off shored / closed / downsized
    increase competition fr fewer and fewer jobs

    LET ME ASK YOU THIS?

    WHO DO YOU THINK will be WILLING to PAY PENSIONS over/near base pay?

    WHO DO YOU THINK / HOW DO YOU THINK these pensions will be paid?

    DO YOU THINK the Stock Market will continue to go straight up?
    Will it pull back 20 – 40 %?
    If it pulls back 30 % and the PORTFOLIO is $ 85 Million = $ 68 million
    and the Obligation will be $ 20 million annually in 2010 ….
    is there any solution other than …. POWERBALL…..

    And LOTTERIES are for the MATHEMATICALLY CHALLENGED! 😦

  30. 30 jezebel282

    George,

    “WHO DO YOU THINK will be WILLING to PAY PENSIONS over/near base pay?”

    I will say again that pensions, work rules, pay and benefits are things that are negotiated during contract talks.

    It is up to union reps to negotiate the best deals for their members and up to management to negotiate the best deal for taxpayers.

    Inclusion of overtime in pension calculations is something that should be negotiated away completely. Especially when it has been given away like candy to those approaching retirement. That hurts us and it hurts less senior members who don’t get the overtime.

    In addition, on the Town side all new hires receive a 401K type plan. Upon retirement they get exactly Zero benefits from the Town. You hardly ever mention that.

  31. 31 1george1

    Jeze

    You made my case about the disparity in the 2 contracts, which gives the
    NEW MEMBERS, ZERO reasons to protect prior contracts if there is a whiff
    of FRAUD, CONSPIRACY, and BRIBERY.

    You also posed the obvious questions which would cause ANY intelligent and
    reasonable person to wonder … was there QUID PRO QUO?

    If there was QUID PRO QUO, was it illegal?

    If there was QUID PRO QUO, what was QUID, who were QUO?

    Now that you have actually addressed part of the issues, then Jeze and
    the readers can internally address issues I warned about for a couple
    years, including advising the unions to have DEFENSIVE POSITIONS.

    On the YAHOO homepage this afternoon, they list 10 states with very, very,
    very serious problems and a few more proximating those issues, for 30 % of
    the USA GNP / GDP.

    Any one in Government and contemplating retirement or retired has to look very, very wearily at those pending financial problems.

    DO NOT BELIEVE ME on ANYTHING!

    LOOK for YOURSELVES.

  32. 32 jezebel282

    George,

    “You made my case about the disparity in the 2 contracts, which gives the
    NEW MEMBERS, ZERO reasons to protect prior contracts if there is a whiff
    of FRAUD, CONSPIRACY, and BRIBERY.”

    I have no idea what fraud, conspiracy and bribery you are talking about.

    I do know that current union members will have to start considering alternate pension/retirement instruments or face the fact that there will be far fewer current union members.

    But you made one very good point. If I were negotiating my contract, I’d want Assistant Fire Chief Tom Murray doing the negotiating for me. Nonetheless, I believe Murray is more concerned about the present and future rather than the ghosts of the past.

    I also request, George, that we continue pension discussions at:

    https://stratfordcharter.wordpress.com/2008/10/02/georges-pension-issues/

  33. 33 jezebel282

    As noted at the beginning of this article, we are blessed with some outstanding, dedicated and talented people serving the citizens of Stratford.

    We should note that despite the incompetence and conflict created by Miron and his appointees/hires there remain some individuals who refuse to subvert their dedication to their profession.

    Assistant Fire Chief Tom Murray and Police Captain Joe McNeil come to mind immediately. There have been others who have stood up but have had their careers ended abruptly due to “at-will” terminations.

    We would like to take just a moment and thank these individuals as well:

    Pat Ulatowski
    Judy Heigel
    Pat Blumstein
    John Carroll
    Jay Cybart
    Steven Danzer
    Al Dubois
    Rosalyn (Sam) Dupuis
    Elaine O’Keefe
    Mary Tiernan
    Eileen Murphey
    Diane Toolan
    Sue Nicholson
    Brian Thomas
    Beth Stremple
    Kim Correia
    Patrice Sulik
    Doug O’Meara

    On this Thanksgiving holiday we are thankful and appreciative of their service to the Town and simply want to let them know that their work is recognized.

  34. 34 1george1

    Happy Thanksging!

  35. 35 1george1

    It will never reach the families and friends who care the most,
    however my thoughts and sympathies extend to the families of
    the 4 police executed while working on their computers in a
    Washington Coffee shop.

    There are people who put their lives on the line on a daily basis
    and who have honorably and faithfully served our country, who
    deserve far better than what are provided for in compensation,
    in ways and means which are honorable, fair. equitable, and viable.

    In a blog space honoring a fire fighter and police officer, those
    4 end of lives, should at least rate a mention …
    a moment of silence …
    a personal prayer …
    a statement of “thank you” and “god bless.”

  36. 36 jezebel282

    Update:

    Go Devils!

    UNCASVILLE
    Stratford outlasted New London 51-47 in the Class L championship game Saturday night at the Mohegan Sun Arena.

    It was the second title in the past three years for the Red Devils (27-0), who defeated Hartford Public for the Class M title in 2008.

    “It’s amazing,” said guard Russell Payton of the two titles.

    The one Saturday night was more satisfying because the Red Devils trailed 20-7 in the second quarter.

    “It wasn’t the prettiest game; we grinded it out,” coach Paul Dudzinski said.

    Reserve Thomas Bajda had 17 points for Stratford, No. 2 in The Courant state ratings. Bernard Brantley and Payton each scored 11. Gatorade Connecticut Player of the Year had eight points and 16 rebounds. Kristopher Dunn had 19 points for New London (25-2).

    The Whalers led 15-6 after the first quarter, 22-19 at halftime and 36-33 after three quarters.

    Payton’s three-point play gave Stratford its first lead, 43-41 with 5:17 remaining. The Red Devils extended it to 48-43 on a Sherrod free throw, a Bajda corner jumper and two Payton free throws.

    Sherrod missed two free throws with 13.8 seconds to play to keep Stratford’s lead at 50-47. New London called a timeout with 9.2 seconds to play. But Johnson Benjamin’s 25-foot three-point try from the top of the key bounced off the rim 2.2 seconds later.

    Bajda made 1 of 2 free throws with 3.4 seconds to secure the victory.

    “I knew we needed it to be state champion,” he said.

    Said New London coach Craig Parker: “We battled. We played a great game against a great team. It could have gone either way.”

  37. 37 phineast

    Great job Devils!!!

  38. 38 1george1

    The Stratford HS team deserves great praise,


Leave a Reply

