Caring

20Jul10

Usually these screens are filled with stories of corruption, incompetence and insanity. Every once in a while we are very pleasantly surprised by a program from the Town of Stratford that is a true benefit to residents and demonstrates the caring the Town shows for it’s citizens.

This is one of those programs:

Stratford compiling list of those dependent on electricity

Written by John Kovach
Monday, 19 July 2010 15:24

Residents who rely on electricity for oxygen and mobility can report their dependence to Stratford’s Special Needs Registry.

The confidential, voluntary list alerts the Health Department, police and fire and EMS dispatchers of the need so that in the event of mass evacuation responders can try to safely transport those residents to a location with power.

During the June 24 storm, more than 600 Stratford homes and businesses lost power, according to a press release from the Health Department.

“While it is important for those who depend on power for survival to notify the town as well as United Illuminating, the registry is no guarantee of priority treatment and residents are urged to have an emergency survival plan in place with a back-up battery supply,” Health Director Lisa Pippa said.

Registration forms are available at the Stratford Library, South End Community Center, police and fire departments, Baldwin Center and the Health Department. The form is also at http://www.townofstratford.com/health.

The registry is not only for those dependent on electricity, but for residents with special needs who will require extra assistance in an individual emergency or community-wide event. Examples include those with physical, mental or cognitive disabilities; non-English speaking persons; and residents who lack access to transportation.


Now, perhaps someone saw Mike Reynolds’ post about attempting to get into Lordship to care for his elderly relative or perhaps someone is very creative and concerned. The point is that during an emergency like a power outage for many residents the concern is not when their TV will come back on but how a relative on oxygen or other electronic device will survive. The problem compounds when neither the caregiver nor the senior have power.

If you care for a relative that requires access to electricity or has special needs, please just take a minute and fill out the form:

Special Needs Registration Form

John Kovach also has our thanks for printing this story and making residents aware of it’s existence. Thanks, John.

Warning: I am not sure yet who came up with this wonderful idea, but rest assured I will track you down. Resistance will be futile. Once I have discovered who you are, I will thank you publicly on these pages. The whole Town will know what a nice person you are. So there!

38 Responses to “Caring”

  1. 1 jezebel282

    It seems the idea for this program originated with Ken Kellogg who departed under Mayor Moron.

    It was resurrected by Andrea Boissevain at the Health Department.

    Thank you, Andrea! You are a shining star in Stratford. We are very, very lucky to have you here.

    (Take that!)

  2. 2 1george1

    Nice to read about an accomplishment for benefitting everyday people
    and those with special needs.

    Lot of great people in Stratford.
    Occasionally the political decision benefit people in general.
    It keeps them off balance. 😉

  3. 3 jezebel282

    George,

    “Occasionally the political decision benefit people in general.
    It keeps them off balance.”

    No, George. I have to disagree. Ms. Boissevain is doing her job. She happens to be doing it very well. Personally, it makes me feel much better that people like Ms. Boissevain are thinking about Stratford residents and developing ways to help. Neither Ms. Boissevain nor Lisa Pippa need to campaign for office.

    Usually what we get are administrators who are seeking to expand their power and control or how they might intimidate subordinates more effectively.

    Make no mistake, the Town could have promoted this program a bit more effectively instead of burying it deep within the Town website. Call me crazy (and I’m sure a lot of people do) but I believe it is a tad more important than allowing ice cream trucks to ply our streets again. Ice cream trucks have their own bells. We would have noticed eventually.

  4. 4 jezebel282

    Special Announcement:

    Officer Carlos Castro’s daughter Mellisa (9 year old) was recently diagnosed with cancer. She is currently undergoing treatment which you may have known causes loss of hair. The cost of the wig will be over $2,500.00. The union will be selling Blue t-shirts with our logo on it with the proceeds going towards the cost of this item.

    Please contact me if interested.

    Thank You,

    Jamie J. Rivera #156
    Stratford Police Department
    Town of Stratford
    900 Longbrook Avenue
    Stratford, Connecticut 06614
    Telephone 203-385-4100

    (PS. You don’t really need to buy the T-Shirt. You can just send a check.)

  5. 5 sudds

    I canNOT think of a more worthy cause!!!

    Who do I make the check out to???

  6. 6 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    Stratford Police Union Local 407

    (Pssst…I won’t tell anyone what a nice guy you are.)

  7. 7 sudds

    “Pssst…I won’t tell anyone what a nice guy you are”

    THANKS! (I have a reputation to uphold)

  8. 8 1george1

    Saving the little girl’s life and helping her to be 100 % healthy is the priority!

    How will anyone know sudds wrote a check?
    Talk is cheap.
    Blogging anonymously is cheaper.
    If the 110 police officers wrote a check for 1 hour pay @ $ 30 = $ 3,300.

    While a wig is nice, and will help the girl’s image / confidence ….
    Cancer is extremely expensive to treat.
    Cancer can be deadly or debilitating!
    Cancer can be beaten!

    Any feed back on how much the Health Benefit coverage will help the
    little girl and her family? I hope 100 % coverage and full / speedy recovery!

    Health coverage costs TAX PAYERS over 3 Mils.
    I strongly suspect, there is a lot of fluff … to allow for referral fees?
    If this wil cost $ 100,000 or more uncovered to save the little girl, then
    priorities in Health Care coverage “should” become UNIONS issue.

    Saving the little girl’s life and helping her to be 100 % healthy to have a
    good life is the priority!

    Unfotunately in so many cases, money going for one cause, seem to make
    it into someone else’s pocket.

    I am willing to make a small donation, if I know it will not benefit Burturlas,
    Mirons, Norm, RTC / DTC, and other parasitic vampires, who seem to get
    their sticky fingers into everything?

    Police Management / Union have yet to look into DEATHS / ACCIDENTS I
    reported to both!
    > I can differenciate between innocent and deserving … or the uncaring,
    selfish, cowardly, cruel, and or ….

  9. 9 jezebel282

    George,

    It’s about a little girl.

    Just take your $15 over to the PD.

  10. 10 sudds

    “How will anyone know sudds wrote a check?”

    Seriously George? Do you REALLY think that I would @#$% around with a topic like this???

    I’ll tell ya what… what’s your address… I’ll mail my check to you (if you promise to drop it off at the PD)???

  11. 11 1george1

    SUDDS – My address is 429 Housatonic Avenue, Stratford CT. 06615.
    I really do not care what you choose to do,
    and decent people are likely to want to help the little girl.
    But one can not help everyone!

    You claim to raise worthy cause Funds with running Golf tournament
    and do other good things,

    and you claim to have an MBA.

    Maybe everything you write is TRUE. Maybe not?

    JEZE – I will drop off $ 15 cash to the desk sargent tonight.
    I will ask for a receipt, scan it, and e-mail the scan to you, if you want.

    How much are you donating, Jeze?

    It is bad enough certain people (gavin’s & union & attorneys’ friends?)
    got into my computer on the 49 th anniversary of my mother’s death,
    when I met Harkins on a date he choose and they broke into my home.

    It is FAR WORSE the POLICE MANAGEMENTS (mO.S.S.man, Imbro, Burturla)
    and the POLICE UNION refuse to LOOK into LOCAL and other DEATHS of
    Family and Friends and support, including over 10 Stratford residents over
    a series of YEARS.

    So SUDDS + JEZE spare me ANY COMPLAINTS you have about compassion.

    I spend my money to try to help Stratford and people, while trying to
    protect peoples lives and livelihoods, including SCUM who hurt me and
    cowardly attacked my van, endangering my life and other lives, and cost
    me large amounts of money (well spent).
    So I will gladly donate $ 15 for a little girl, despite the fact that the entire
    POLICE MANAGEMENT and UNION use the CONSTITUTION SELECTIVELY and
    for TOILET PAPER, for unaffiliated like me and people I care most about!
    As do their POLITCAL PATRONS and ALLIER

  12. 12 jezebel282

    George,

    “So SUDDS + JEZE spare me ANY COMPLAINTS you have about compassion.”

    I don’t recall complaining about yours or anyone else’s compassion.

    If you want to donate a few dollars for Ms. Castro, fine. If not, that’s fine too. The only person’s donation that would surprise me is John Buturla’s.

    BUT, do not suggest or imply (as you did) that the money may be diverted or used for other purposes or some fantastical conspiracy.

    It’s just a little girl for Chrissakes and some nice people stepping up to do something nice. She didn’t do ANYTHING to you, George.

  13. 13 1george1

    I did not suggest a conspiracy.
    I just want assurances it is not another SCAM.
    “This is Stratford.”
    Known facts do not appear to match up?

    I thought Police Officer Carlos Castro’s daughter
    is named Karina and about 11 years old?
    and his son Brendan is about 8 or 9 years old?

    The above post wrote the daughter’s name is
    Mellisa and she is 9 years old?

    It’s just a little girl for Chrissakes and some nice people
    stepping up to do something nice.
    She didn’t do ANYTHING to you, George.

    The INNOCENT PEOPLE who I BELIEVE WERE MURDERED
    and the POLICE UNION and MANAGEMENT wouldn’t
    OPEN INVESTIGATION did not do ANYTHING to YOU
    or to SUDDS or to ANYONE ELSE.

    I also POSTED SOME / MOST of the NAMES on this BLOG
    at least TWICE.

    I WAS HOPIN TO FIND “for Chrissakes and some nice people
    (TO) step(ping) up to do something nice.”
    (as Constitutuionally / Legally MANDATED & decent)

  14. 14 sudds

    George…

    Please stop trying to use a little girls illness to help you avenge what you think is wrongdoing against your family!!!

    Even if (and it’s a big IF to some people) what you say is true… this is neither the time nor the place to discuss it!!! This blog topis is about helping a little girl… END OF STORY!!!

  15. 15 jezebel282

    Here! Here!

    Once again:

    For 9 year old Mellissa Castro:

    Make checks payable to: Stratford Police Union Local 407

    Jamie J. Rivera #156
    Stratford Police Department
    Town of Stratford
    900 Longbrook Avenue
    Stratford, Connecticut 06614
    Telephone 203-385-4100

    (PS. You don’t really need to buy the T-Shirt. You can just send a check.)

  16. 16 1george1

    Sudds,

    Maybe the topic TITLE is “CARING.”

    The specific subject below the Title is about one little girl.

    You used the word avenging.
    I used the term OPENING INVESTIGATION.
    Repeatedly I blog I care only about protecting LIVES and LIVELIHOODS.
    What part of that do YOU NOT UNDERSTAND.

    Could it be that there are blood guilt reasons for avoiding CARING
    about PARENTS of little girls and little boys?

    The BOTTOM LINE is that YOUR CARING is only SELECTIVELY.
    Do you lack the intellectual integrity to admit that?
    Sudds, you are far more likely to admit it than anyone else?

    Shakespeare:
    What is Hecuba to me or me to Hecuba.

    At least I volunteer to help the little girl, at least a little bit.

    Yet, Jeze, Sudds, and “the eyes” convict themselves with silence …

  17. 17 1george1

    Actually the title about CARING was a story about innocent people
    getting help.

    A sub blog is about the little girl, and appears to be a worthy cause,
    if true?

  18. 18 sudds

    Jez… can you please change the name of the title of this thread before I have to drive over to Housatonic Avenue and biotch-slap George?????????

  19. 19 jezebel282

    For Chrissakes!

    Give it a rest George.

    The little girl is neither guilty nor innocent. She’s a little girl with cancer. Whattsamatta with you?

    No one cares if you donate or not. At least don’t distract others from donating.

    Once again:

    For 9 year old Mellissa Castro:

    Make checks payable to: Stratford Police Union Local 407

    Jamie J. Rivera #156
    Stratford Police Department
    Town of Stratford
    900 Longbrook Avenue
    Stratford, Connecticut 06614
    Telephone 203-385-4100

    (PS. You don’t really need to buy the T-Shirt. You can just send a check.)

  20. 20 1george1

    Sudds,
    Please post your address.
    I will be glad to meet you anywhere / anytime.

    We can jointly present donations for the little girl
    and / or discuss anything on your “PEa” brain.

    But then anonymous bloggers can brag about imaginary MBA
    and imaginary good deeds or acts of courage.

    I am not one to join “secret” societies, nor close political
    meetings to the public, such as country club RTC.

    Jeze, how much are you donating?
    Sudds, how much are you donating?
    At least my $ 15 will be verifiable.
    And I freely donate to an innocent little girl.

    Maybe blog back and forth to the both of you will SHAME some of the
    SHAMELESS or COWARDLY blog readers into CARING enough to donate
    to an INNOCENT LITTLE GIRL?

    Come on all you political party parasites – match my $ 15 donation.
    Or prove you are far superior to me and open your wallets?

    I am willing to ADD $ 15, if every member of the GAVIN FORESTER Town
    Councils and present Town Councils, donates $ 5.

    I am willing to ADD $ 15, if every member of the RTC, individually donates
    $ 50 to the little girl.

    I am willing to ADD $ 15, if every member of the RTC, individually donates
    $ 20 to the little girl.

    I am willing to ADD $ 15, if every ATTORNEY in TOWN individually donates
    $ 500 to the little girl.

    I am willing to ADD $ 15, if every POLICE, FIRE, PW, BoE, Managers in TOWN individually donates $ 100 to the little girl.

    This would cost me $ 90 – IF all those people JEZE praises shows CARING
    to PUT UP.

    So Sudds & Jeze – CARE to MATCH or BEAT my OFFER?

    PUT UP or … 😉

  21. 21 jezebel282

    George,

    “So Sudds & Jeze – CARE to MATCH or BEAT my OFFER?”

    Just can’t let it go, can you?

    I will be dropping off my donation tomorrow. How much? Does it matter? When you donate, it is not about the dollars, it’s about the caring. The LAST thing it is is about me.

    I wasn’t going to get the T-shirt, but now maybe I will. I’d like to walk around Stop & Shop, BJ’s, Home Depot, Shop-Rite and see dozens of people wearing them.

    It should go well with my Joe McNeil/Orlando Soto T-shirts.

    For 9 year old Mellissa Castro:

    Make checks payable to: Stratford Police Union Local 407

    Jamie J. Rivera #156
    Stratford Police Department
    Town of Stratford
    900 Longbrook Avenue
    Stratford, Connecticut 06614
    Telephone 203-385-4100

  22. 22 1george1

    I will be dropping off my donation tomorrow.
    How much? Does it matter?
    When you donate, it is not about the dollars,
    it’s about the caring.
    The LAST thing it is is about me.

    I wasn’t going to get the T-shirt, but now maybe I will.
    I’d like to walk around Stop & Shop, BJ’s, Home Depot,
    Shop-Rite and see dozens of people wearing them.

    It should go well with my Joe McNeil/Orlando Soto T-shirts.

    Good answer.

    Entirely appropriate.

    However, I want to help you raise more money for an innocent
    little girl by intentionally being a bad cop = obnoxious!!!

    ====================================================

    I just spoke to Desk Sargeant Eller.
    I should be handing in my $ 15 cash by 6:00 pm

    ====================================================

    This is to advise anyone who wants to break into my home …… 😉

    And I challenge every blog viewer to match or beat the $ 15.
    It is for an innocent 9 year old girl, who has cancer.

    It is a rare situation where Jeze + Sudds + I agree.

    Pretend your computer screen is a mirror.

    Imagine contributing just a little bit to help someone innocent.

    Imagine it was your little girl or that of your family or friend or neighbor.

    Help bring a smile and hope to a nine year old little girl.

  23. 23 jezebel282

    Thank you, George.

  24. 24 phineast

    I agree with Jez-thank you George. I’ll see yours and raise it.. God Bless any one who participates.

  25. 25 1george1

    When I gave sargent eller my $ 15, he told me mellissa was 21 years old
    and there was a younger boy and girl about the ages I quoted.

    Maybe Jeze is correct?
    I am not quibbling.
    I only post for clarity, attempting to be factually correct.

    What has not been controverted, is a young girl has cancer.
    Both 9 + 21 are young to me.

    People rarely turn down a request for a small favor.
    People rarely turn down a personal request for a small amount of money.

    Jeze, thank you for making people aware they can help in a small way.
    Cummulatively … things add us.

  26. 26 jezebel282

    George,

    “Cummulatively … things add us.”

    Kinda like voting, huh?

  27. 28 sudds

    George,

    If I promise to donate $100 will you PLEASE let this string JUST be about raising money for the little girl’s wig???

    (I’ll send Jez a copy of the check… with certain information blocked out… once it clears the bank and I can get the image of it on-line)

  28. 29 jezebel282

    Sudds,

    “I’ll send Jez a copy of the check”

    Forget it. I’ve been offered a LOT more just to move all of George’s posts.

    For 9 year old Mellissa Castro:

    Make checks payable to: Stratford Police Union Local 407

    Jamie J. Rivera #156
    Stratford Police Department
    Town of Stratford
    900 Longbrook Avenue
    Stratford, Connecticut 06614
    Telephone 203-385-4100

  29. 30 1george1

    Sudds,
    No need to send me the check or to post it.
    Do you know what mirror imaging is?
    Sometimes what is good for the goose ….

    Jeze,

    Is Mellisa Castro someone else’s daughter than your post suggests?
    Honest miscommunications happen.
    Bottom line, is will other people step up?

  30. 31 jezebel282

    George,

    “Is Mellisa Castro someone else’s daughter than your post suggests?”

    No.

  31. 32 1george1

    Jeze,
    Thank you for your reply.
    Multiple sources ……
    ain’t worth arguing about.

    Bottom line: helping someone who needs help.

  32. 33 phineast

    George, your are correct it is not worth arguing and nitpicking. Bottom line is correct-
    Concentrate on that……

  33. 34 jezebel282

    Update:

    Local 407 was able to raise sufficient funds to purchase the wig for the officer’s daughter.

  34. 35 phineast

    The local 407 should be proud of their membership and those outside of the membership that stepped up to help support this most worthy cause. I think that every single one of us has been touched by someone who has had to deal with the big C. If we can help with things like that so this young lady can focus her energy on getting well, then that is really all that matters. She could be your sister, daughter, mother, friend or even you…..there but for the Grace of God go I…….we should all do what we can.

  35. 36 portia1776

    Jez, thank you for the update, which is the first I’ve heard of this effort. My check is in the mail. Even though sufficient funds have already been raised, I’m sure the family has other needs at this difficult time. You should be commended for rendering a valuable public service and the wonderful difference you have helped make possible in this girl’s life. May she get well soon!

  36. 37 jezebel282

    Portia,

    “You should be commended ”

    Me? I didn’t do anything. I just posted it and wrote a check. That’s nothing. If you really want to thank someone, it would be Officer Jamie Rivera.

  37. 38 jezebel282

    As long as we’re at it:

    The Stratford Health Department is stepping up again, this time to help children.

    Back-to-school vaccines available Friday

    The Stratford Health Department is sponsoring a back-to- school immunization clinic for Stratford children on Friday, Aug. 27, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on the third floor of the Birdseye Municipal Complex , 468 Birdseye St.

    Vaccines such as tetanus, chicken pox and MMR (mumps, measles, rubella) will be available so that school-aged children can be up-to-date with their shots for the start of school.

    No appointments are necessary for the Aug. 27 walk-in clinic. Vaccines will be given on a first-come, first-served basis.

    Parents or guardians must accompany children and must have each child’s immunization record.

    There is a $15 charge for immunizations.

    Parents of elementary, middle and high school students should check to see if their child’s immunizations are current or if a tuberculosis skin test is needed.

    If a child needs a tuberculosis skin test, he or she can receive it at the same time vaccines are given. However, children given the TB test must return two to three days later to have the skin test read by a public health nurse.

    The TB skin test is an additional $15.

    Information about whether a child is considered high risk for TB and qualifies for the test is available from public health nurses Bernice Bova or Margaret Balint at 203-385-4058.

    A child cannot attend school without proper immunization records. Since school starts next week….

    (Note to Portia: No discussion of socialized medicine or government run healthcare please.)


Leave a Reply

