Help Wanted: Angel of Mercy

12Dec10

Company Car

EMT-Basic Course

DATE: 01-26-10 – 06-05-10

Days: Tuesdays and Thursdays plus three Saturday sessions
(Saturdays Dates to be Determined)

Time: 6:00p.m. – 10:00pm Tuesday / Thursdays
8:00a.m – 4:00 p.m. Saturdays sessions

Location: Lordship Volunteer Firehouse #3
Prospect Drive & Oak Bluff Avenue (Behind SFD Co. #3)
Stratford, CT. 06615

Cost:
$450 – Non Resident
$375 – Stratford Resident
$250 – Full time student / youth (16 – 18)
$100 – Active member Stratford EMS and/or Explorer Post 491
($100 refund if 144 hours are volunteered w/ SEMS after successful completion of EMT class)

Cost includes course fee, books, CPR card
Parental consent required for youth students.

To apply or for more information:
Email webmaster@svemsassociation.com or call
Bunnie McQuilton at (203) 378-5333

Class size limited to first 30 paid students
http://svemsassociation.com/

13 Responses to “Help Wanted: Angel of Mercy”

  1. 1 mikereynolds

    Of course as we’ve all learned just because you pay your course fee and pass your tests there’s no guarantee that Donna Best will allow you to be a volunteer.

  2. 2 jezebel282

    Mike,

    “there’s no guarantee that Donna Best will allow you to be a volunteer.”

    We can only hope that by the time the course is finished in June, Donna Best will be too.

  3. 3 1george1

    This is something where the Town Council should waive fees
    and reimburse membership, even retro actively.

    The fees would be due, for failure to meet criteria, by certain
    dates.

    To me, THAT is more APPROPRIATE than PROPERTY TAX BREAK.

  4. 4 jezebel282

    The Town is apparently so concerned about Stratford EMS that the last update for new volunteers was in August of 2008.

    http://www.townofstratford.com/content/1302/402/607/1646.aspx#emtb
    Last Updated:Aug-2008
    Paramedic | EMT-I | EMT-R | EMT-B | MRT | EVO

  5. 5 jezebel282

    Update:

    There is no real list of EMS volunteers available. However, I have been able to piece together the following list of Stratford’s most dedicated volunteers.

    Connie Alaimo
    Aimee Apatow
    Jessica Mae Archick
    Kaitlin Austin
    Alphonso Baker
    Vanessa Barraza
    James Belluscio
    Dardan Beqiri
    Jonathan Best
    Robert Black
    Dawson Blackmore Jr.
    Ferenc Bozso
    Scott Burton
    John Butler
    Robert Calzone
    Rachelle Cataldo
    Brian Cepetelli
    Kathleen Choromanski
    Angelo Cimino
    Brian Connell
    Catherine Coppola
    Louis DeBiase
    Diana Dias
    James Dipisa
    Marc DiSilvestro
    Kely Donnelly
    James Duffy
    Gavin Forrester
    Christopher Fresilli
    Daniel Galanto
    Alexandra Gaydos
    Kevin Giasullo
    Steven Gill
    John Goll
    Kyle Halligan
    Alexander Hawkins
    Gillian Hepburn
    David Ingmanson
    Pamela Jannetty
    Laurie Jurkowski
    Kenneth Kellogg
    Chelsea Knowles
    Kenneth Knowles
    Barry Kelly
    Jeffrey LaReau
    Marisa Love
    Melody Lucatino
    Todd Lutheran
    Jillene Mahony
    Daniel Mallette
    Karen Marino
    Richard Marino
    Charles McCullough
    Sherita McPherson
    Helen McQuilton
    Laurie Meyers
    Susan Mizzoni
    Piotr Niedzwiecki
    Michael Nunno
    Brian Peloso
    Stephen Povroznik
    Julie Risinit
    Kevin Saranich
    Judith Schack
    Jennifer Simmons
    Ruth Smith
    Nancy Squarciafico
    Carol Stosse
    Alexis Sulinski
    Paul Swanson
    Robin Tardif
    Jacob Telep
    Greg Thornhill
    Benjamin Tucker
    Erik Voroba
    Mary Wheeling
    Matthew White
    Eric Wilson
    Antonio Xavier
    Peter Zamachaj

    EMT Oath

    Be it pledged as an Emergency Medical Technician, I will honor the physical and judicial laws of God and man. I will follow that regimen which, according to my ability and judgment, I consider for the benefit of patients and abstain from whatever is deleterious and mischievous, nor shall I suggest any such counsel. Into whatever homes I enter, I will go into them for the benefit of only the sick and injured, never revealing what I see or hear in the lives of men unless required by law.
    I shall also share my medical knowledge with those who may benefit from what I have learned. I will serve unselfishly and continuously in order to help make a better world for all mankind.
    While I continue to keep this oath unviolated, may it be granted to me to enjoy life, and the practice of the art, respected by all men, in all times. Should I trespass or violate this oath, may the reverse be my lot.
    So help me God.


    Appearing on this site is not a big deal (trust me on this one), but it is some recognition and thanks for doing your best to help the sickest and most in trouble among us.

    If you know any of these people, take a moment, walk up to them and just say “thanks!”.

  6. 6 jezebel282

    Phin,

    #

    Jez, great posting. These volunteers deserve our undying thanks and praise for their dedication, loyalty and expertise. The 2 with the most longevity on your list deserve our highest praise-and that would be Barry Kelly who graduated in the very first class back in 1977 and Bunny McQuilton. There are many others as you pointed out but these 2 have gone above and beyond to the extreme.
    Thank to all the volunteers. You are the unsung heroes in this town.
    #
    59 phineast on January 15, 2011 said:

    this ended up on the wrong topic….sorry

    It is the least I can do.

  7. 7 1george1

    I agree with post # 5.

    More room for thought:

    The Hippocratic Oath is an oath historically taken by
    doctors swearing to practice medicine ethically.

    Classic translation of the English:[5]

    “ I swear by Apollo the Physician and Asclepius and Hygieia and
    Panaceia and all the gods, and goddesses, making them my
    witnesses, that I will fulfill according to my ability and judgment
    this oath and this covenant:

    To hold him who has taught me this art as equal to my parents
    and to live my life in partnership with him, and if he is in need
    of money to give him a share of mine, and to regard his offspring
    as equal to my brothers in male lineage and to teach them this art
    –if they desire to learn it–without fee and covenant; to give a share
    of precepts and oral instruction and all the other learning to my sons
    and to the sons of him who has instructed me and to pupils who have
    signed the covenant and have taken the oath according to medical law,
    but to no one else.

    I will apply dietic measures for the benefit of the sick according to
    my ability and judgment; I will keep them from harm and injustice.

    I will neither give a deadly drug to anybody if asked for it, nor will I
    make a suggestion to this effect. Similarly I will not give to a woman an
    abortive remedy. In purity and holiness I will guard my life and my art.

    I will not use the knife, not even on sufferers from stone, but will
    withdraw in favor of such men as are engaged in this work.

    Whatever houses I may visit, I will come for the benefit of the sick,
    remaining free of all intentional injustice, of all mischief and in
    particular of sexual relations with both female and male persons,
    be they free or slaves.

    What I may see or hear in the course of treatment or even outside
    of the treatment in regard to the life of men, which on no account
    one must spread abroad, I will keep myself holding such things
    shameful to be spoken about.

    If I fulfill this oath and do not violate it, may it be granted to me to
    enjoy life and art, being honoured with fame among all men for all
    time to come; if I transgress it and swear falsely, may the opposite
    of all this be my lot.

    Presidential Oath of Office:

    I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will
    faithfully execute
    the Office of President of the United States,
    and will to the best of my ability,
    preserve, protect and defend the
    Constitution of the United States.

    The wordings of the current oath of enlistment and oath for commissioned officers are as follows:

    “I, _____, do solemnly swear (or affirm) that
    I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States
    against all enemies,
    foreign and domestic;

    that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same;
    and that I will obey the orders of the President of the United States
    and the orders of the officers appointed over me,

    according to regulations and the Uniform Code of Military Justice.

    So help me God.”

    (Title 10, US Code; Act of 5 May 1960 replacing the wording first
    adopted in 1789, with amendment effective 5 October 1962).

    “I, _____ (SSAN), having been appointed an officer in the
    Army of the United States, as indicated above in the grade of _____
    do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will
    support and defend the Constitution of the United States

    against all enemies, foreign or domestic,

    that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same;
    that I take this obligation freely,
    without any mental reservations or purpose of evasion;
    and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office
    upon which I am about to enter; So help me God.”

    (DA Form 71, 1 August 1959, for officers.)

    Oath of Office Administered to Members of
    The House of Representatives

    You do solemnly swear (or affirm) that you will support the
    Constitution of the United States, and the
    Constitution of the State of Connecticut,
    so long as you continue a citizen thereof; <<< ???
    and that you will faithfully discharge, according to law,
    the duties of the Office of State Representative
    to the best of your abilities; so help you God.

  8. 8 jezebel282

    George,

    Although I am not sure what the other oaths have to do with anything, I think the point I was making was that EMS volunteers do what they do solely for the well-being of Stratford citizens.

    In addition, you don’t just walk in and become an EMT. It takes months of training, education and testing. It is also not free. Tuition & testing costs are borne by the volunteer.

    That translates into a large amount of dedication and effort by each and every EMT (not to mention to additional costs and efforts to become an advanced EMT or Paramedic).

    The very least we, as citizens, can do is to provide them with effective and dedicated leadership free of the politics and cronyism that usually infects Stratford government. Therefore, Mayor Harkins, if you or your staff are reading this, can you at least try to avoid another political appointment as EMS Chief? We’ve had enough of RTC and DTC appointments. Let’s try to appoint someone as if our lives depended upon it.

  9. 9 1george1

    The PAGAN Hippocratic Oath is basically “do no harm.”

    I had not realized it was also against abortion, euthanasia, and knife
    surgery. It supported (paying for) education of the healing arts.

    Surgery has come alog way since the oath.
    I thought your viewers/readers migh find it interesting.

    I knew the oath of office was to protect and defend the constitution
    and against enemies foreign and domestic.

    I did not realize that specific OATH was just the military.

    The elected oath of office was to protect and defend the constitution
    and FAITHFULLY execute their duties. Something rarely done in Stratford.

    What do they have to do with EMS?

    Glad you asked?

    EMS likely takes an OATH or OATHES along the line of Hyppocratic and
    oath of Office? I do not know.

    I respect healers.

    Incidently I sent an email with a link to a Red skelton skit explaining the
    pledge of allegiance, something NO ELECTED Stratford Officials or ranking
    employees appear to UNDERSTAND or OBEY?

    The difference between German NAZIs and Russian or Chinese Communist
    party members and local to national leaders of Democratic and Republican
    party members related specifically to believing they deserve superior pieces
    of the pie, is the others are NOT HYPOCRITICAL!

    The talk heads are now endorsing giving the police and courts the right to
    give PSYCHIATRIC EVALUATIONS to anyone that anonymous people deem to
    be a THREAT to the POLITICAL PEOPLE?

    I suspect they would have targeted: Payne, Jeffereson, Mason, Franklin,
    Christ, Moses, Aristotle, Aristophanes, Socrates, Plato, Martin Luther,
    Ghandi, Martin Luther King Jr., Jezebel, myself, and other independent
    thinkers?

  10. 10 jezebel282

    Why do we need Stratford EMS?

  11. 11 phineast

    great video….amazing volunteers-not just in 2005 but since 1977 to present!

  12. 12 1george1

    HAPPY EASTER.

    For those who choose to believe in Christ,
    he was and is the ultimate ANGEL of MERCY.

    Believing in higher powers and goodness is
    no denigration of ways and means of other
    religions and beliefs.

  13. 13 jezebel282

    Update:

    11 June, 2011. Save the date!

    EMS Open House


Leave a Reply

